Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2014

      Wonderful lasagna. I've made it before from the Allrecipes site and here are the adjustments I make based on their 4000 reviews: double the garlic, use 3/4 cup red wine instead of water, add 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to the ricotta mixture and use only 1tsp of salt in the sauce. Actually I don't think the sauce needs any additional salt due to the salt in the sausage and canned tomatoes, so I will omit it next time. I'm not a huge fan of sausage, but my family likes it so I keep it in. I might try to find a really high quality sweet Italian sausage from a butcher next time to see if I like it better.<br/>Update: I made it without sausage and it wasn't as good. Used 28 oz fancy ground tomato (no salt) and I liked the control over the salt. I also added more noodles (full box) and separated the layers of sauce from the ricotta cheese layer and that worked fabulously. Next time I will use the full box of noodles again and add more sauce to the sauce layers (3 cups a piece).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      I added the extra garlic but have recovering alcoholics in the fam so used the water. I used no hamburger just more sausage. I really like the no-cook noodles so I made it with that. Salt to taste. It was yyyyuuuuummmmmyyyy! Whole family loved it and I made extra in foil take home pans so they could freeze or eat. Thanx for the recipe and hints!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I'm sorry I didn't like this as much as everyone else. If needed more seasonings/spices or something. Just a very basic lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Awesome Lasagna! Followed the directions and read the reviews. Agreed with doubling the garlic and adding red wine in place of water. I crock potted the meat 2.5 hours on low instead of cooking on the stove top. The family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Every time I opened my cookbook of saved recipes, this recipe tempted me. Finally I made it, and it is wonderful. I made it with ground turkey, Italian sweet turkey sausage and whole grain lasagna noodles. To make things easier, I prepared the sauce the day before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This is THE best lasagna recipe! Made exactly as posted - excellent! I think the fennel really sets it off nicely. A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      THIS IS THE BEST LASAGNA I HAVE EVER TASTED!! I made it for my daughter and son in law... and they raved that it was the best they had EVER had!! I upped the ground beef (very lean) to 1.25 pounds, and used mild Ital. sausage rather than sweet. Wasn't in my own kitchen, and had to omit fennel and basil, so I upped Italian seasoning to about 2.5 t. I added 4 T. parsley to meat sauce, then added another 2 T. to ricotta. Followed the rest exactly and.... mmmm... makes me hungry just thinking about it! Going to make it again this week for the rest of the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I have tried many recipes trying to find one that tasted as good as my Mom's. I found it! This was absolutey the best lasagna I have made. I made this for the 4th of July--too hot to grill--and my family fought over the left overs. My grown son is begging me for another pan. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This is the best lasagna I have made. I also found this recipe on all Recipe and it had over a thousand great reviews. I did change the ricotta cheese to cottage cheese just a personal preference. This is the only lasagna recipe I will use from now on! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      great lasagna! have made three times, and no deviations from recipe are needed. excellent ...glad it got transplanted from allrecipes.com! recipe doesn't specify to drain the fat from the sausage and beef after browning. i usually drain about half the fat. restaurant quality stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This is an outstanding lasagna recipe! My daughter-in-law found it and everyone gobbles it down. I urge everyone to use sweet Italian sausage to get the full flavors. BTW, this same recipe, probably by the same chef, has garnered over 1,400 reviews at All Recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Oops! forgot to rate it on prior review. Definately 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Very nice, but I found the ricotta a little dry by itself. Next time I shall incorporate it with a bechamel sauce. I couldn't get hold of Italian sausage, so I used a cured Spanish sausage instead, which gave a very rounded flavour to the mince flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

    • on February 09, 2005

      My children asked for Lasagna for Christmas dinner (guess they were tired of the O'Prime Rib!). I made this recipe and it was the BEST EVER! Yes, it was a little work, and was it worth it. The flavor--cheesey and with authentic Italian flavor you can't get anymore. Most other recipes use bottled sauce and don't compare. My daughter is leaving for the Army and asked for this Lasagna as her last home cooked meal before she leaves!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Made this a few days ago then froze it (unbaked) since we had to go out. I took it from the freezer and put it in the oven at 300F. After it was thawed I turned up the temperature to finish. I used johnsville hot Italian breakfast sausages (casings removed) since I had them on hand and wanted to use them up. I also used cottage cheese since I had that on hand and wanted to use that up as well.I served this to my family and they said it was wonderful. I will make this up ahead of time and freeze for future meals useing the proper ingredients. This deserved 5 stars for sure but I gave it 4 since I had a number of variations. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      World's best Lasagna was delicious!! I highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      This recipe is extremely good but only the Italians can do lasagna best. I cut back on the parmesean to keep from being overpowering and for the sausage, I used Johnsonville Brown Sugar and Honey Breakfast Sausages (cases removed) and it was very, very good. I have attempted to post the picture above of my creation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      This recipe is excellent. At one time it was the only way I made lasagna then lost recipe. I use to have a cokorful step by step illustrations. Then only difference I can see is that I use sausage lings and then took the casings off and used sausage. thank you for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.8
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    48%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1944.3 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites