20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful lasagna. I've made it before from the Allrecipes site and here are the adjustments I make based on their 4000 reviews: double the garlic, use 3/4 cup red wine instead of water, add 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to the ricotta mixture and use only 1tsp of salt in the sauce. Actually I don't think the sauce needs any additional salt due to the salt in the sausage and canned tomatoes, so I will omit it next time. I'm not a huge fan of sausage, but my family likes it so I keep it in. I might try to find a really high quality sweet Italian sausage from a butcher next time to see if I like it better.<br/>Update: I made it without sausage and it wasn't as good. Used 28 oz fancy ground tomato (no salt) and I liked the control over the salt. I also added more noodles (full box) and separated the layers of sauce from the ricotta cheese layer and that worked fabulously. Next time I will use the full box of noodles again and add more sauce to the sauce layers (3 cups a piece).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz March 13, 2014

Rated 10 stars by 5 guests and myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukcatliz#1 October 21, 2014

I added the extra garlic but have recovering alcoholics in the fam so used the water. I used no hamburger just more sausage. I really like the no-cook noodles so I made it with that. Salt to taste. It was yyyyuuuuummmmmyyyy! Whole family loved it and I made extra in foil take home pans so they could freeze or eat. Thanx for the recipe and hints!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef gr8cook17 October 04, 2013

I'm sorry I didn't like this as much as everyone else. If needed more seasonings/spices or something. Just a very basic lasagna.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef June 11, 2013

Awesome Lasagna! Followed the directions and read the reviews. Agreed with doubling the garlic and adding red wine in place of water. I crock potted the meat 2.5 hours on low instead of cooking on the stove top. The family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rookcookie January 08, 2013

Every time I opened my cookbook of saved recipes, this recipe tempted me. Finally I made it, and it is wonderful. I made it with ground turkey, Italian sweet turkey sausage and whole grain lasagna noodles. To make things easier, I prepared the sauce the day before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Poppy March 23, 2011

This is THE best lasagna recipe! Made exactly as posted - excellent! I think the fennel really sets it off nicely. A must try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovetocooklovetoeat October 14, 2010

THIS IS THE BEST LASAGNA I HAVE EVER TASTED!! I made it for my daughter and son in law... and they raved that it was the best they had EVER had!! I upped the ground beef (very lean) to 1.25 pounds, and used mild Ital. sausage rather than sweet. Wasn't in my own kitchen, and had to omit fennel and basil, so I upped Italian seasoning to about 2.5 t. I added 4 T. parsley to meat sauce, then added another 2 T. to ricotta. Followed the rest exactly and.... mmmm... makes me hungry just thinking about it! Going to make it again this week for the rest of the family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TX Mom of 6 December 20, 2009

I have tried many recipes trying to find one that tasted as good as my Mom's. I found it! This was absolutey the best lasagna I have made. I made this for the 4th of July--too hot to grill--and my family fought over the left overs. My grown son is begging me for another pan. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frustratedchef July 07, 2009

This is the best lasagna I have made. I also found this recipe on all Recipe and it had over a thousand great reviews. I did change the ricotta cheese to cottage cheese just a personal preference. This is the only lasagna recipe I will use from now on! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CFScott March 03, 2009
World's Best Lasagna