Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Cookies Aka That 70s Elusive Cornflake Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Cookies Aka That 70s Elusive Cornflake Cookies

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2010

      I made these for a Cub Scout campout. We have to be careful due to food allergies. All the boys could eat these. I made nearly 200 cookies and they were gone the first night! Everyone loved them. I think the Scout leader ate a couple of dozen himself! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Heavenly! I used sliced almonds and Total cereal, and snuck in half a cup of raisins...this goes in my file, for sure. They're warm out of the oven as I type this, and my husband will have a fit for these when he gets home. Better make sure I've got milk!:):)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I finally found the recipe...THANK YOU...I won 1st place in the county fair in Michigan when I was 9 years old making cornflake cookies. They are so so good. I haven't made them in over 30 years and I am so happy to have found the correct recipe so I can make these for my kids...Thank you for the recipe.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      These cookies remind me of shortbread, delicious! I used sliced almonds and Special K cereal. I ended up with 5 dozen cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      Really, really good & unique! (I used pecans.) Very rich & delicious! The first time I made the recipe was to take to the cottage - everyone loved them & they didn't last long - I didn't flatten the balls so they ended up as firm but chewy balls. I tried them again a couple of weeks later for a family bbq - my kitchen was quite warm so even thought I didn't flatten the cookies, they ended up flat & crunchy but still flew off the tray like crazy!! I also added chocolate chips the second time but preferred them without. Next time, if the dough seems too soft, I'll refrigerate so the balls will hold their shape while baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Wow! Little buttery bites of heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Very good--the main youthful recollection I come up with is eating the to-die-for dough. I could make a batch and bypass the baking altogether--ummm. I used coconut oil for the veg. oil and had no crumbliness. I'm curious if I could substitute applesauce, as in a cake? I prefer weighing my dry ingredients, and used the 3.5 C of flour suggestion--might have come up a bit shy on the flour as the batter was nowhere near dry as many say. Also, couldn't force myself to put a Tbsp of baking SODA in, so I used Baking powder. I'm not enough of a cook to know specific the effects of each. I agree that they should be cooled on newspaper--they're rather greasy. Umm, again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      I actually have the recipe my mother cut out of the newspaper. It was during the Reagan years. The only difference in the recipe and yours is that the nuts are 1/2 cup and 1/2 cup of coconut is added. Also the flour is 3 1/2 cups. These are terrific cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I'm rating these as FIVE stars in spite of the somewhat *vague* directions given, because the cookies were very good and very *different*. They are even a little bit on the delicate side (too delicate-tasting for me to be okay with adding chocolate chips...and I *love* chocolate). My cookies turned out as pictured by Sadielady. A person needs to go in expecting these cookies to be chewy in the center and slightly crunchy around the edges. I love the texture. It reminds me of the chewiness of an oatmeal cookie and the "crunch" that coconut lends (although I despise coconut, so it's only texture I speak of there.) I had absolutely NO problems with the dough being crumbly. I used room temp butter and at the creaming step, I let my Kitchenaid mixer go at low speed just mixing away while I prepared the dry ingredients. I used 3 3/4 Cups flour (as opposed to the full 4 C). I also used old-fashioned oats (no q.c. oats on hand). I added the dry ingredients all at once with no trouble. I used a medium scoop and pressed the cookies slightly out as you would do with a sugar-cookie with fork (pressing down, turning the fork 90 degrees and pressing down again.) The cookies should be placed about 1.5 - 2 inches apart on an UNgreased cookie sheet. The cookies spread a little and I had a yield of 54 (2.5 inch diameter) cookies. Also, don't forget to add the vanilla in, as that is not in the instructions!!! I added mine in between steps three and four. (This could possibly solve the "crumbly dough" issue???) I'll keep this recipe for it's out-of-the-ordinary flavor and for it's simplicity! ~Jeff's Girl Way Out West

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      I was searching for this recipe, which my Grandmother used to make at Christmas time. Thank you for sharing it!

      After reading the reviews, I was concerned about crumbly dough and the finished product being too greasy and flat, so I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 c butter flavored crisco. Also added 1 extra egg yolk in with the 1 egg, and used 3/4 tsp salt instead of the 1/2 tsp because I was using unsalted butter.
      I wasn't quite sure about how to measure 1 c crushed cornflakes; do we measure first, then crush them, or measure them after crushing? I noticed that it takes about 2 c cornflakes to make 1 cup crushed. Same way with pecans. Maybe this is why some people have remarked about the crumbly dough? But there's a lot of good stuff in there--nuts, cereal, oats--that will make the dough a bit crumbly. I went ahead and measured the cereal and nuts after crushing/chopping, and yes, my dough was crumbly when using a cookie scoop to drop them, but they turned out really great.
      I didn't use a fork to squash them. After scooping them onto the sheet, I used my fingers to flatten slightly and reshape the edges. Had to cook them about 12 minutes, for a chewy/crisp cookie. These baked very light-brown and I was worried the first sheet wasn't done enough, so I baked my 2nd sheet a little longer, and they turned out very crisp, actually a little too done. So don't wait for them to get golden brown, if you like a crisp cookie with a little chewiness to it.
      This makes a sturdy, attractive cookie that has a crisp snap and a little chewiness. Not too sweet. Perfect for make-ahead and freezing.
      I can't help but wonder how the new Cinnamon Corn Flakes would taste in this? Has anyone used that variety yet?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      This cookies are faboulous! I just moved to a new house and i haven't bought a stove yet; I was craving something sweet and crunchy, so I decided to try these. Wow! I'm glad I did! they are corny, not too sweet and crunchy. And the best of all: you can make them in the MICROWAVE! I did make some changes: I had no nuts whatsoever, so I added a total 1 cup of crushed cornflakes. I withdrew 2 tablespoons of oil (just so they wouldn't turn out too flat) and baked them in a greased plate for 2 minutes in full power. Then 1 minute in 30% (i like cookies to be dry) and they turned out AWESOME! crunchy, not too hard, and soo tasty! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I was going to post this recipe, but I see you all ready have. In my cookbook, they are called "Nun's Cookies". I made these using the 3 1/2 cups of flour and pecans for my nuts. These are SOOOOOO GOOD! I'm making them for Christmas gifts for co-workers and I'm sure they will love them. Thank you for posting Loves2Teach!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      OMG, this is a dangerously good recipe! I was forced (due to a seriously understocked kitchen) to make some changes: I didn't have a full cup of oil, so I used a 1/2 c of oil with 2/3 c Fat Free sour cream. We have a nut allery so I used 1 c sweetened shredded coconut, and 1 c chopped cranberries instead. The cranberries really added some chewy texture. I must have made these smaller because I got 6 dozen cookies out of this recipe. (and I think we ate about dozen before we put them away) Thank you Loves2Teach - an excellent recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I had these cookies 30 or more years ago at a friend's house and kept trying to get my Mom to make them. The friend's Mom couldn't remember what she had served me, so we had no recipe to go by. I'd describe them with their chewy texture and crunch but my Mom never found the right recipe. Thanks for finding this and sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I substituted with Special K cereal instead of corn flakes, because it's what I had on hand. Everyone gobbled these up very quickly. They reminded me and a few other ppl very much of the pecan sandie cookie that is sold in stores. I'm hanging on to this recipe and will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I made these cookies today for our Coast Guard Aux meeting tonight, my DH tried it and couldn't tell there were corn flakes in these. I only put 1/2 C oil in and 2/3 white sugar, my chickens are laying double yokes so it may have been like 2 eggs, stayed with the recipe except for this change....wow these are good, some had pecans & choc. chips and only one batch was plain....I'll be making these again. I took a pic but have to download it, will send it soon! thanks, Loves2Teach!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I brought these cookies into work and everyone LOVED them! I loosely followed "Jeff's girl" recipe corrections and added a variation of my own. I halved the recipe, I didn't need 7 dozen like other people reported making, I ended up with an exact 3 dozen. I used a whole egg (can't imagine trying to half that thing) and used dark brown sugar that gave the cookies an almost toffee like flavor. Also I substituted baking powder for baking soda. They had to cook for about 15 minutes a batch vs. the 12 minutes that the recipe recommends. I will definitely be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Great cookie, but VERY greasy. My g/f and I have named them "Death Cookies" because of the 345 calories PER COOKIE. 2 tips: 1) Remember to put in the vanilla (I put it in at Step 4) and 2) Use Baking POWDER instead of Baking SODA. I learned in a previous recipe that there's a difference. Maybe baking soda works, but I used baking powder and they tasted great (i.e. no bitterness). Plus, I made 40 cookies out of one batch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      A very traditional looking and tasty cookie. I followed Jeff's Girl's recommendation of 3 3/4 cup flour, and had no trouble with dryness, rolling or a great end-product cookie. I always let cookies rest on newspaper while cooling (it blots up excess cookie grease). Considering how much oil and butter is in this recipe, you may want to try that too. You'll be amazed at the grease spot left from this cookie--but no one will ever see newspaper but you! Was I the only one who thought one tablespoon of baking soda was excessive? I wonder if that is really necessary. Regardless, a great cookie--thanks for your diligence in tracking this one down, Loves2Teach.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I didnt make these exactly how directed. I changed up the nuts, as I was out, and used butterscoth chips instead. 3 1/4 cup of flour, " I cant believe its not butter for butter" and egg sub for the egg, 1/2 c of oil instead. Even with all the toying around.. Wow.. Definately a keeper. Ty Loves2! I did get 2 dozen made 1/2 dollar sized cookies. If anyone makes them that big they bake an extra 5-6 minutes.. Ty again for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Cookies Aka That 70s Elusive Cornflake Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    52%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 28.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 325.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    70%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes