79 Reviews

I made these for a Cub Scout campout. We have to be careful due to food allergies. All the boys could eat these. I made nearly 200 cookies and they were gone the first night! Everyone loved them. I think the Scout leader ate a couple of dozen himself! Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 July 04, 2010

Heavenly! I used sliced almonds and Total cereal, and snuck in half a cup of raisins...this goes in my file, for sure. They're warm out of the oven as I type this, and my husband will have a fit for these when he gets home. Better make sure I've got milk!:):)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante May 13, 2010

I'm rating these as FIVE stars in spite of the somewhat *vague* directions given, because the cookies were very good and very *different*. They are even a little bit on the delicate side (too delicate-tasting for me to be okay with adding chocolate chips...and I *love* chocolate). My cookies turned out as pictured by Sadielady. A person needs to go in expecting these cookies to be chewy in the center and slightly crunchy around the edges. I love the texture. It reminds me of the chewiness of an oatmeal cookie and the "crunch" that coconut lends (although I despise coconut, so it's only texture I speak of there.) I had absolutely NO problems with the dough being crumbly. I used room temp butter and at the creaming step, I let my Kitchenaid mixer go at low speed just mixing away while I prepared the dry ingredients. I used 3 3/4 Cups flour (as opposed to the full 4 C). I also used old-fashioned oats (no q.c. oats on hand). I added the dry ingredients all at once with no trouble. I used a medium scoop and pressed the cookies slightly out as you would do with a sugar-cookie with fork (pressing down, turning the fork 90 degrees and pressing down again.) The cookies should be placed about 1.5 - 2 inches apart on an UNgreased cookie sheet. The cookies spread a little and I had a yield of 54 (2.5 inch diameter) cookies. Also, don't forget to add the vanilla in, as that is not in the instructions!!! I added mine in between steps three and four. (This could possibly solve the "crumbly dough" issue???) I'll keep this recipe for it's out-of-the-ordinary flavor and for it's simplicity! ~Jeff's Girl Way Out West

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff's Girl Way Out West January 11, 2006

I finally found the recipe...THANK YOU...I won 1st place in the county fair in Michigan when I was 9 years old making cornflake cookies. They are so so good. I haven't made them in over 30 years and I am so happy to have found the correct recipe so I can make these for my kids...Thank you for the recipe.....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan1010 June 06, 2010

These cookies remind me of shortbread, delicious! I used sliced almonds and Special K cereal. I ended up with 5 dozen cookies.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eliza S May 01, 2010

I actually have the recipe my mother cut out of the newspaper. It was during the Reagan years. The only difference in the recipe and yours is that the nuts are 1/2 cup and 1/2 cup of coconut is added. Also the flour is 3 1/2 cups. These are terrific cookies!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeanQueen31643 May 09, 2006

Really, really good & unique! (I used pecans.) Very rich & delicious! The first time I made the recipe was to take to the cottage - everyone loved them & they didn't last long - I didn't flatten the balls so they ended up as firm but chewy balls. I tried them again a couple of weeks later for a family bbq - my kitchen was quite warm so even thought I didn't flatten the cookies, they ended up flat & crunchy but still flew off the tray like crazy!! I also added chocolate chips the second time but preferred them without. Next time, if the dough seems too soft, I'll refrigerate so the balls will hold their shape while baking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb July 25, 2010

Wow! Little buttery bites of heaven.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages June 14, 2010

Very good--the main youthful recollection I come up with is eating the to-die-for dough. I could make a batch and bypass the baking altogether--ummm. I used coconut oil for the veg. oil and had no crumbliness. I'm curious if I could substitute applesauce, as in a cake? I prefer weighing my dry ingredients, and used the 3.5 C of flour suggestion--might have come up a bit shy on the flour as the batter was nowhere near dry as many say. Also, couldn't force myself to put a Tbsp of baking SODA in, so I used Baking powder. I'm not enough of a cook to know specific the effects of each. I agree that they should be cooled on newspaper--they're rather greasy. Umm, again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffy Taco April 11, 2010

I was searching for this recipe, which my Grandmother used to make at Christmas time. Thank you for sharing it!

After reading the reviews, I was concerned about crumbly dough and the finished product being too greasy and flat, so I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 c butter flavored crisco. Also added 1 extra egg yolk in with the 1 egg, and used 3/4 tsp salt instead of the 1/2 tsp because I was using unsalted butter.
I wasn't quite sure about how to measure 1 c crushed cornflakes; do we measure first, then crush them, or measure them after crushing? I noticed that it takes about 2 c cornflakes to make 1 cup crushed. Same way with pecans. Maybe this is why some people have remarked about the crumbly dough? But there's a lot of good stuff in there--nuts, cereal, oats--that will make the dough a bit crumbly. I went ahead and measured the cereal and nuts after crushing/chopping, and yes, my dough was crumbly when using a cookie scoop to drop them, but they turned out really great.
I didn't use a fork to squash them. After scooping them onto the sheet, I used my fingers to flatten slightly and reshape the edges. Had to cook them about 12 minutes, for a chewy/crisp cookie. These baked very light-brown and I was worried the first sheet wasn't done enough, so I baked my 2nd sheet a little longer, and they turned out very crisp, actually a little too done. So don't wait for them to get golden brown, if you like a crisp cookie with a little chewiness to it.
This makes a sturdy, attractive cookie that has a crisp snap and a little chewiness. Not too sweet. Perfect for make-ahead and freezing.
I can't help but wonder how the new Cinnamon Corn Flakes would taste in this? Has anyone used that variety yet?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitrina_a December 14, 2010
World's Best Cookies Aka That 70s Elusive Cornflake Cookies