161 Reviews

I made this bread today, and it is amazing! I read all the reviews, and I did make some additions based on the helpful suggestions of others: I added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to the water that the yeast was proofing in, and I also added 1/4 c. white sugar, 1 Tablespoon cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp. salt to the dough. I also added 2 cups of raisins to the overall recipe (so there are 3 c. TOTAL), and put half of them (1 1/2 c.) in the dough, and half of them in the filling. I was a little worried that the chunks of softened butter would screw up the dough, but they were fine, and it didn't matter that they were all chunky before I put the flour in. I guess the kneading took care of them. It took me about 9 cups of flour to have a dough that was manageable. I also changed the filling a bit. I used 2/3 c. brown sugar (packed), 2/3 c. white sugar, 1/4 c. cinnamon, and I mixed it all together and sprinkled 1/3 of it in each loaf with the remaining raisins. The baking temperature was right on, and my loaves were done in 30 minutes. I'm sorry I messed with your recipe so much, but thanks so much for posting it! I am SO glad I took the time to try it and for all the others who have tried it and made the suggestions that made mine such a success. Thank you Lydia. :)

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 August 31, 2009

Oh My Stars! Ya'll weren't kidding about the "World's Best Cinnamon Raisin Bread" recipe! I took the advice of some of the others who wrote in and added a couple of my own. It is easier to divide the dough into thirds before you roll it. I did, however, "plump" up my raisins with some hot tap water and a little vanilla extract. And step 18, I just took a stick of butter with a piece of paper towel and lightly rubbed it on the hot bread when I took it out of the oven. This is by far, the BEST cinnamon-raisin recipe ever! Thank you very much!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSAN S. April 04, 2010

I don't write reviews nor did I decide to read any from this recipe...except for the one just before this one...I have tried to make bread for years and gave up trying to find one that was good enough for a repeat. I've been living in Denmark for about five years. They make wonderful bread here but they don't do cinnamon raisin bread here. Needless to say I miss it. Like I said I didn't read any reviews here and made this exactly as it read and lo and behold it was the best bread I've ever made. Holy crap was this good. I was so impressed that I had to set up a profile here to tell you how much I liked it...in fact I have more baking as we speak.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thefisherking March 15, 2013

WOW! This bread definitely lives up to its title! I made it last night and my husband was still raving about it as he was leaving for work this morning. Don't let the long list of directions scare you off-it's really pretty simple if you just take it step-by-step and follow the directions.

I had read that the stickier your dough, the fluffier and moister it will be once baked. I didn't use all 8 cups (about 7 instead) and the dough was still a bit sticky but elastic and in one piece. Loved the tip about letting the bread rise in the oven with the light on- worked perfectly in my old, cold kitchen! How have I not known about this before?? Also, when you roll your rectangle up, I found mine to be approximately 24 inches long (in addition to 3 inches thick) if that helps. I also didn't use the whole cup of sugar, only about 1/2 cup, and we found it to be be plenty sweet.

This is a fantastic recipe and I can't wait to try it, as one reviewer suggested, in bread pudding! Yum!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tay Tay October 26, 2010

Just finished making my first batch of loaves using this recipe. I used half whole wheat flour, 2 tsp. salt and 2 cups of raisins. Otherwise followed as written. Next time I will use half the amounts of sugar and cinnamon for the filling. I had a hard time rolling the loaves tight enough and mine tend to want to come apart at the swirls. I think less sugar will help, and it is supposed to be cinnamon bread...not a huge cinnamon roll. LOL

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxi May 23, 2010

This is by far the best I have seen yet. I have been making 3 loaves at a time and my boys (husband and son) eat everything! I did modify the instructions a little. I add a little bit of sugar into the water for yeast to feed on. Then, I use less flour then the recipe calls, usually untill the dough is still soft and slightly sticky, not hard. I then grease my hands with oil and form the dough into a ball. I let it rise for 1.5 hours in the oven with the light on then knead it and put back in the bowl and stick in the fridge overnight (making sure I knead it one more time before I go to bed, usually in a few hours, otherwise it will run away). The next morning I take it out, let it stand at room temperature a little (30 min or so) and then form into the loaves. Also, I did not put raisins in the dough until today, I used to put it on top of the sugar/cinnamon mix. I also use butter instead of milk to coat the rolled dough. I usually leave one loaf and slice and freeze the rest. Even defrosted the bread is great. I also formed some of it into buns for easier handling onthe go, it made really great raisin buns, I just added a little more sugar in the dough, since there was no inner layer of cinnamon/sugar.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xe4ik August 29, 2015

Wow! This bread is so delicious! I did as suggested by another reviewer, and used 2 tablespoons melted butter instead of the milk. I also used 2/3 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup of cinnamon for the filling. I will be sure to make this when my family comes home for Easter. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes February 23, 2014

I look at all recipes as a road map to a certain destination, once you know your way there are many different routes you can travel.<br/>I made this bread for the first time about 2 weeks ago and have since made 30 loaves.<br/>And no I'm not big fat pig in case you were wondering. Not that I have anything against BFP's.<br/>Some of my dearest friends are BFP's however now I digress.<br/>My job title is as a Chef however I consider my a good cook or someone who cooks well.<br/>Not only is cooking my job but I enjoy cooking.<br/>Making this recipe has added tremendously to that enjoyment.<br/><br/>Clear and easy instructions with simple techniques resulting in an irresistibly delicious bread make this for me a 5 star recipe.<br/><br/>Thanks Lydia for postion

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefKen1960 July 07, 2013

This is really good! I scaled it back to make one loaf and DH and DS have just about devoured the whole thing! I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 white wheat flour, and that seems to have worked fine. I am not fond of raisins so I skipped them, and I decided to make a longer squat loaf on a cookie sheet so I only baked about 35 minutes. I thought there might be too much cinnamon/sugar for the filling so I used about 2/3 of it and I wish I had used it all; don't be fooled by how it looks before rolling. DS had a great idea; he asked me to make it into french toast for his lunch yesterday LOL. It really worked! Thanks for posting! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian March 08, 2011

WOW I don't like raisin bread, but I love this recipe! We used splenda for baking, as we are diabetics, and it turned out deliciously. A keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorndefaol June 13, 2010
World's Best Cinnamon Raisin Bread (Not Bread Machine)