Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Cinnamon Raisin Bread (Not Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Cinnamon Raisin Bread (Not Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    141 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 141

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2009

      I made this bread today, and it is amazing! I read all the reviews, and I did make some additions based on the helpful suggestions of others: I added 1 Tablespoon of sugar to the water that the yeast was proofing in, and I also added 1/4 c. white sugar, 1 Tablespoon cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp. salt to the dough. I also added 2 cups of raisins to the overall recipe (so there are 3 c. TOTAL), and put half of them (1 1/2 c.) in the dough, and half of them in the filling. I was a little worried that the chunks of softened butter would screw up the dough, but they were fine, and it didn't matter that they were all chunky before I put the flour in. I guess the kneading took care of them. It took me about 9 cups of flour to have a dough that was manageable. I also changed the filling a bit. I used 2/3 c. brown sugar (packed), 2/3 c. white sugar, 1/4 c. cinnamon, and I mixed it all together and sprinkled 1/3 of it in each loaf with the remaining raisins. The baking temperature was right on, and my loaves were done in 30 minutes. I'm sorry I messed with your recipe so much, but thanks so much for posting it! I am SO glad I took the time to try it and for all the others who have tried it and made the suggestions that made mine such a success. Thank you Lydia. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      WOW! This bread definitely lives up to its title! I made it last night and my husband was still raving about it as he was leaving for work this morning. Don't let the long list of directions scare you off-it's really pretty simple if you just take it step-by-step and follow the directions.

      I had read that the stickier your dough, the fluffier and moister it will be once baked. I didn't use all 8 cups (about 7 instead) and the dough was still a bit sticky but elastic and in one piece. Loved the tip about letting the bread rise in the oven with the light on- worked perfectly in my old, cold kitchen! How have I not known about this before?? Also, when you roll your rectangle up, I found mine to be approximately 24 inches long (in addition to 3 inches thick) if that helps. I also didn't use the whole cup of sugar, only about 1/2 cup, and we found it to be be plenty sweet.

      This is a fantastic recipe and I can't wait to try it, as one reviewer suggested, in bread pudding! Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Oh My Stars! Ya'll weren't kidding about the "World's Best Cinnamon Raisin Bread" recipe! I took the advice of some of the others who wrote in and added a couple of my own. It is easier to divide the dough into thirds before you roll it. I did, however, "plump" up my raisins with some hot tap water and a little vanilla extract. And step 18, I just took a stick of butter with a piece of paper towel and lightly rubbed it on the hot bread when I took it out of the oven. This is by far, the BEST cinnamon-raisin recipe ever! Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Just finished making my first batch of loaves using this recipe. I used half whole wheat flour, 2 tsp. salt and 2 cups of raisins. Otherwise followed as written. Next time I will use half the amounts of sugar and cinnamon for the filling. I had a hard time rolling the loaves tight enough and mine tend to want to come apart at the swirls. I think less sugar will help, and it is supposed to be cinnamon bread...not a huge cinnamon roll. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This was a very good recipe. I would have given it 4 stars if I had not read all 54 reviews and decided to add more salt and sugar. I also was very mindfull of how quick it might cook. I did need to cook the whole 45 min but after just 20 I had to tent it with tin foil or it would have looked burnt. I did not use raisins in mine (personal pref) The ribbon of cin and sugar was gooey and nummy! I did wing the amounts of filling and instead of wetting it with the milk I rubbed a couple of tablespoons of butter on the triangle before adding the cina nd sugar. That might have been the reason for the yummy gooey center. Great recipe with the changes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      I don't write reviews nor did I decide to read any from this recipe...except for the one just before this one...I have tried to make bread for years and gave up trying to find one that was good enough for a repeat. I've been living in Denmark for about five years. They make wonderful bread here but they don't do cinnamon raisin bread here. Needless to say I miss it. Like I said I didn't read any reviews here and made this exactly as it read and lo and behold it was the best bread I've ever made. Holy crap was this good. I was so impressed that I had to set up a profile here to tell you how much I liked it...in fact I have more baking as we speak.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This is really good! I scaled it back to make one loaf and DH and DS have just about devoured the whole thing! I used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 white wheat flour, and that seems to have worked fine. I am not fond of raisins so I skipped them, and I decided to make a longer squat loaf on a cookie sheet so I only baked about 35 minutes. I thought there might be too much cinnamon/sugar for the filling so I used about 2/3 of it and I wish I had used it all; don't be fooled by how it looks before rolling. DS had a great idea; he asked me to make it into french toast for his lunch yesterday LOL. It really worked! Thanks for posting! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      WOW I don't like raisin bread, but I love this recipe! We used splenda for baking, as we are diabetics, and it turned out deliciously. A keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This is an amazing recipe! I have made this a few times, and I also had to add a couple of cups of flour. There weren't quite enough raisins for my taste, too sparse, so after the first batch I doubled them and it was just right. The bread is the perfect amount of sweetness and great texture. I suggest giving 2 of the loaves away to friends, otherwise will end up eating ALL of them very quickly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Excellent made it last night. Don't start this at 7pm. Whew its a long process but worth it. I messed up one roll by not rolling it tight enough, the cinnamon sugar mixture distribution swirl is imperative,because it gives the bread its sweetness. I almost wish it was a touch sweeter.... Next time more sugar swirl! Also if you have a standup Kitchen Aid mixer, it will save you time, adding 8 cups of flour by hand was a bit messy. Good luck, we already ate one loave,the others are going as gifts. PS I have now made this THREE times and my neighbors rave its the best they have ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I had an end piece right out of the oven and it was so good! The kids and I enjoyed it for many a breakfast! I love that it makes 3 loaves, so you can freeze one or two for later!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I made this with all whole wheat flour and it turned out pretty dense, but smelled, looked, and tasted wonderful. Thanks for posting. Rolling it up and getting the swirl was way worth not just throwing it in the bread machine. However, I found that I had way way way enough sugar cinnamon mixture to coat the rectangle like three times over though. Oh well...I'm not going to complain about more sugar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Great recipe! My only change will be to add another cup of raisins into the DOUGH and not the swirl. This ensures that almost every bite will have a delicious raisin in it. Also, 45 min cooking time is WAY too long - try 30-35 maximum! Check out my pics.... this is my first attempt at raisin bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Wow! This bread is so delicious! I did as suggested by another reviewer, and used 2 tablespoons melted butter instead of the milk. I also used 2/3 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup of cinnamon for the filling. I will be sure to make this when my family comes home for Easter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      Recommend this to everyone. Easy to make and we get 3 loaves from each. Wife and son can't wait for me to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      I made this for a family get-together and it got rave reviews from everyone, especially the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I put all ingredients into my KA stand mixer. I soaked the raisins in water, and I won't do that again as the soaking removes the flavor from the raisins. The dough is quite soft and sticky, and I had to add a little more flour to the mix and while kneading and shaping into a ball. The dough ROSE quickly. Great flavor. I'll make again.<br/><br/>This is the 4th time I'm making this! I give 2 loaves away and the grandkids are happy !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Absolutely wonderful recipe. I followed it exactly the way it is written, and Wow, this is the best raisin bread I ever tasted. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Yum! I am a first time bread maker, and this recipe was super easy (don't let the numerous steps intimidate) to follow! The results are great! I followed the recipe word for word, but next time will add cinnamon to the dough as well for a cinnamonier taste. Overall, am very happy with my first ever cinnamon bread and will be baking this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      This bread was very, very easy to make. I scaled down the recipe to two loaves, and it worked just fine. I also let the dough rise in the oven with the light on, and I think I'll keep using that trick! I took a precaution and tented the loaves during the first 25 minutes of baking, and they browned evenly and cooked thoroughly. I highly recommend this recipe, and it's going in my recipe box to make again soon!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Cinnamon Raisin Bread (Not Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.5
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    20%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 25.5 mg
    8%
    Sodium 83.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites