148 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Better than Toll house. Just a quick observation....what is with these people who want to spell out all the changes they made to make them better. Geez...just submit your own recipe and give the baker their accolades. : (

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sallywithsizzle April 21, 2013

World's Best? Probably! You've got my vote anyway! Gee, Karen, these are really great chocolate chippers. Followed your directions, except I omitted the walnuts/pecans, and they turned out sooooo good. Very easy to mix up and bake. Think I've found a brand new favorite! Thanks so much for sharing. Laudee C.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee November 02, 2002

Excellent recipe! I too omitted the nuts, but will try the recipe w/ nuts some day! @ 1 1/4" balls it took a lot longer than 10-12 minutes (more like 18-20 for me/my oven which is pretty new) so I just watched them every 2 min. until they were golden brown. I reduced the size to 1" balls after the first round of baking and it still seemed to take a little longer than the recipe's requested time. Otherwise, these are just fantastic, beautiful, and easy cookies!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmosk06 September 09, 2010

Happy New Year =^..^= and thanks a bunch for a great cookie recipe! MUCH better than tollhouse cookies IMHO. I was on a quest to find a better CCC and my quest ends here! These are amazing and I love the fact that they are NOT flat. I omitted the nuts because our guests have nut issues :^( I on the other hand LOVE nuts. Next time I will add the nutz! I also used both choco chips & butterscotch chips FANTASTIC combo. I used my cookie scooper and baked for about 14 minutes to add a bit more crunch. Love the raw dough too :wink: Perfect!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour January 01, 2010

If you like thick, dry, cake-like cookies that do not spread out, then these are for you!<br/><br/>I hesitated to give this a one star rating, but the overall ratings are not accurate. Even some of the people that said they would not make this again gave it a 4 star rating. I trusted the ratings (without reading them) and tried it, but I have no idea why other people said they liked them so much. <br/><br/>As soon as my husband bit into it, I could tell he didn't like it. ...And I had to agree with him.... Way too much flour for us! ...going back to the trusted Nestle's Toll House recipe....

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skluvlee January 29, 2014

By far the best choc. Chip cookies I've ever had! Every one in my family would agree on that! Made for the first time Sunday, and fixing to make batch #2 now!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rdevers81 November 08, 2012

These really are darn good cookies. I use half butter, half margarine... I use a bag of chocolate chips, and bag of pecans (equal amounts of each). I've had to mess with the cook time and temp for my oven, but other than that, this recipe is spot on.

My mother is a baker, and has been using one recipe for most of my life, I baked these for her and my father and they have changed recipes. Really, that's a pretty strong endorsement.

Great cookies.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydogsnameisbob September 16, 2012

These sucked! Soooo disappointed. They didn't flatten out and were little cakey golf balls. I certainly don't understand the reviewers that say this was the best chocoate chip recipe! and better than Toll House? I don't think so! Will absolutely not make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cafecow May 26, 2014

Not good. They were thick and cake-like. Took about 15-17minutes to bake. Not 10-12. Weren't sweet enough either. Won't make these again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rose24sing May 24, 2014

The flavor was ok....but we thought they were just too dry. Maybe too much flour? I prefer a chewy chocolate chip cookie....this recipe makes them more cake-like and thicker.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline L. March 30, 2014
World's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies