Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2007

      I made these last night and they are true to their name. They have a wonderful buttery taste and a nice texture. After leaving them in the refrigerator for about 4 hours I let the dough sit on the counter to soften up a bit. I then rolled it out and used a heart shaped cookie cutter, I decorated them with Junebugs sugar cookie icing. I can't wait to make them again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Awesome cookie. My husband raved about them. I made them for Easter--rolled the dough and did bunnies and chickens and decorated with colored sugar. Only change I made was add vanilla powder in addition to the extract. Great dough to work with--I will be making these again and adding to my holiday cookie recipes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      This was a great butter cookie! I used salted butter & omitted the 1/4tsp of salt; used super-fine granulated sugar & my own homemade vanilla-rum extract. Mixed in my stand mixer and refrigerated for about 3 hours. Only complaint is they go WAY too fast! Thanks for the great recipe, P4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      These were fine. I did skip the part of rolling it into a log. I just rolled the refridgerated dough into balls and dipped them into colored sugar. I'm keeping my other recipe, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      These are great!! Buttery, not too sweet and very easy. I skipped the refrigeration part and just rolled the dough into balls and flattened them with a fork. I sprinkled sugar on top as well. I got 20 cookies from this. Another for my favorites folder!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Amazing cookies! I only had 100 g butter left, so topped it up with 125 g of cake margarine (Stork) and they still turned out wonderful. I used a narrow glass (about 7 cm diametre) to cut the cookies out, and baked some of them as they were, some with granulated sugar sprinkled on top, and some with granulated sugar and cinnammon on top. All ... delicious!!! A total keeper, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      Simply..fantastic!!!!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      THIS IS THE BUTTER COOKIE. I have the very small, but powerful, Alice Medrich cookbook this recipe is from. I was looking for a butter cookie that tasted exceptional, held it's shape for cutting out, and was relatively easy to manage. This cookie is all of those. I have a Scottie Dog cookie cutter and the points on the cookie maintain through baking. These cookies don't need any extras to make them wonderful. I keep rolled out sheets (between plastic wrap) of this dough in the freezer and cut it out when I want. I have also put the cut outs back in the freezer and pulled them out to bake whenever. Very versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

    • on August 02, 2006

      Wow! These are truly great. My kids made them with their baby-sitter yesterday and I was surprised how good they turned out. They have the perfect texture and flavor. We will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      These are totally over " the top". Delicious does not do them justice... thanks for posting.... I took another reviewers advice and sliced them 1/4 inch thick and baked 15 min. Perfect results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      Very tasty. I sprinkled colored sugar crystals on them prior to baking and dipped some of the cookies in chocolate, too. The only complaint that I had was my own ineptitude when it comes to slicing nice even cookies. The cookies don't spread enough to cover up your slicing mistakes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      These are the BEST! I made one batch, next time I will make 2 as I did not get 48 cookies out of them and these went way too fast in my house! I knew I wouldn't get the 48 as this mixed up, but wanted to make sure these were worth it before I used a pound of butter. Well... they are! I can't wait to try them 1/2 dipped in chocolate. TY for a great keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      These cookies are delicious. A tad sticky, but the taste more than makes up for this minor inconvenience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      absolutely mind blowing! too good! loved it-already made 3 times and they are the first ones to go from a party platter. had to stop family members from eating it straight off of the baking sheet (and i am the youngest!) as i was making it for a party. therefore, had to make it again for them specially :) very easy dough to work with. totally prefer it over plain sugar cookies--i love butter :). i added some cut blanched almonds and pistachios on some, orange grind on some, lemon grind on some--and chocolate on some--all were good :) thank you so much for posting...i was looking for this recipe for so long....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Great Recipe! My boyfriend loves them and I like the fact this recipe makes loads. They were very popular over Christmas with friends and family. I found freezing the dough for a bit made it less sticky and much easier to cut. Though on reflection I made them with the whole egg. I must have copied it out wrong, but they still came out fine. UPDATE: I made these again with just the part egg and we didn't notice much difference in the flavour. It was less sticky with only part of the egg, but it works fine either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      these cookies are DEVINE. followed the recipe as written. thanks for a great butter cookie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      This is my first baking, 2 days back, since I dun have butter at home, i used margarine to replace it and it turns out disaster... today i followed ur recipe though the ingredients all halved. Incredible! i like the cookies alot. i used reduced salt butter as i cant find unsalted butter in my supermarket. so i left out the salt in the recipe. its taste good too. Thanks alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      DH gives this a 2 thumbs up...and he's the one the one I try all these new cookie recipes for. It's his favorite so far. I sliced them 1/4" thick (as DH likes his cookies soft) I baked them for 15 minutes and they were perfect. These are the real deal as far as butter cookies go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      Excellent cookie! My neighbor and I made these for Valentine's Day and we loved them so much, we will be doing again for St. Patty's and Easter!! Five Stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (652 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    53%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 12.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites