Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2008

      Simple, easy, and yummy! These are terrific. I baked mine for only 10 minutes. Do watch them closely as you don't want them to overbake. If you want a softer cookie (in the middle), cut the cookies a little thicker. It's hard to just eat one! *LOL* This is my first try at making butter cookies and I trust that this is the World's Best Butter Cookie recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Fantabulous. These cookies are light, flaky and oh so buttery. I love the fact that they aren't super sweet and were really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      These were good, but I didn't think they were up to the high standards others raved about. My husband and I both didn't think they had much of a butter taste to them... rather bland. I cut them into shapes and baked them and they turned out lovely. They would probably make a nice, simple substitute for cut-out cookies for the holidays with icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      The original poster said it all. This cookie is "buttery, a little crumbly (like shortbread), and not too sweet." In fact, it's perfect. This is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      The BEST butter cookies I ever made!! So simple and delish. I split the dough into 2 logs, and popped them in the fridge to harden for 3 hours and then cut them without any problems afterwards. Thanks a lot!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      These are AWESOME!! PERFECT!! I rolled dough into logs wrapped in plastic wrap, refrigerated them overnight and just sliced and baked them the next day. Wonderful! This will definitely be THE Butter Cookie recipe in my box. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      These were a hit with my husband and his friends. I dressed them up a little with a butter cream frosting. They were a favorite with the kids. Thank you for sharing this Wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      These cookies were absolutely delicious!!! No alterations needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Tastes great!! just the kind of butter cookie I like. Will be passing this down generations! but on the other hand i feel the dough is too soft to make cut-outs unless someone shows me how.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      so easy and so good!! I used a cookie cutter to make fun shapes then put pecan halves or chocolate morsels on top. yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      AWESOME! I added 1/2 tea. of orange zest and topped some of them with orange buttercream icing - 3c pwd sugar, 3tb OJ, 1-1/2 tea. orange zest, 1/3c butter. Without the icing, they are heavenly...with the icing they are absolutely decadent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I loved this recipe! I needed a substitute for a very sticky batter (for Argentinian alfajores) that's so much work. This worked wonderfully. I added almond extract. I rolled the dough in long, very thin "logs," chilled it, then cut into small slices, placed on the parchment and pressed them with a floured glass bottom. The result: PERFECTLY ROUND little shortbread cookies. I stacked two together with dulce de leche and rolled the sides in coconut. Voila! Perfect alfajores! I really think you could do anything with this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Best cookie ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Made this cookie for a party and loved it! Didn't have any parchment paper but did just fine without it. Cookies were light and crisp...just what I was looking for. Thanks for a great recipe. I made these for a cookie swap last year and everybody raved. These are so easy and almost fool proof. They are the WORLD'S BEST BUTTER COOKIE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      I just made these and they turned out wonderful! I almost didn't try it because of the refrigeration and the warnings about dealing with the sticky dough so i went out on a limb and dealt with neither. I substituted whole wheat flour for half the flour. I also used a heaping tablespoon of soy flour and a tablespoon of water to substitute for the egg. (this substition does not allow for different parts of the egg so i was a bit worried but i noticed no ill effects. I use this egg substitution in baking so that my recipes are more cost effective a la tightwad gazette) i also had no vanilla extract. After mixing up the dough i didn't bother to knead it or form it into a log. I just scooped out a tablespoon of dough and the kids formed them into balls. (The dough was not too sticky to handle and this part was a breeze.) They plopped the balls down in my buttered baking pan and then we shmooshed them down with the back of a spoon. we also made some decorative marke with a fork by pressing it sideways and then the long way. Mmm mmm delicious! These weren't to sweet and my picky family loved them. You won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      it was really good the butter taste was prominent i didnt have a cookies cutter so rolled out the dough n using a small glass preesed it and had small disc shaped cookies n baked them they turned out nice n crisp bcos i rolled them real flat and made another half by just taking 1 tsp of the dough n pressing it with a fork it gave the rippled design to the cookies n these turned out better bcos these were a little thick. Great thanks ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      These cookies were really tasty, but they did not turn out exactly how i expected. The dough was extremely sticky and even after freezing it, the moment i took it out of the freezer it started going soft again, making it very hard to slice. Also i thought they would be a bit crispier on the outside. However the taste was really great, and was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      the butter cookies are delicious. i will definitely be making them again! however, i did encounter some difficulties rolling the dough before refrigerating them. the consistency of the dough was too sticky to be properly kneaded and rolled into a log. after several hours in the fridge, slicing the dough proved to be yet another chore i took awhile to tackle. any tips would be greatly appreciated! edit: i tried making the cookies again today. halved the recipe, but forgot to halve the egg yolk and vanilla! however, it turned our great still. this time, i tried rolling the soft dough into balls without prior refrigerating. they came out perfect, with a nice curved surface. 15 mins in the oven was sufficient, as the balls were 1 tsp of dough each. lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I have never made butter cookies before so I have nothing to compare them to. But these were very delicious and easy to make. I mixed everything in my stand mixer and froze the dough for about an hour before slicing and baking. I'll definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Wow!! Excellent cookies. Buttery and melt in your mouth. A keeper for sure. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (652 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    53%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 12.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites