Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2009

      These cookies turned out dry, flat, and flavorless- I've made much better butter cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I wasn't sure how this woudl turn out. It just looked too simple. But when I took them out of hte oven I was in heaven!! So light and crispy and buttery. Pure heaven! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      The absolute BEST butter cookie I have ever made. I just finished a batch and I can't stop eating them. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe honestly lives up to it's name. I had just about given up on butter cookies. I am so glad I found this recipe and decided to give it one more try. I rolled the dough into a log and cut them. Next time I will try to roll them out. P4 is right, they are not too sweet and they are much like shortbread. All I did was sprinkle with red and green sugar since I made them for Christmas. This recipe is a keeper, in the box with all of my other favorite recipes. Thanks P4 and Chef Alice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Delicious and easy to make. That's a 5-star recipe in my mind! I iced these with My Favorite Cookie Icing/Frosting (My Favorite Cookie Icing/Frosting) and they turned out beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      These are delicious - buttery and not too sweet - and oh so easy to make. I followed another reviewer's tip and made some of them into sandwich cookies with Nutella, and thought I'd died and gone to heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Really good cookies! Dough was very sticky, had to put it in the freezer in between batches so I could cut it again. Had a hard time getting it cut due to the stickiness, so I ended up ripping hunks off and squishing them in between plastic wrap, which worked pretty well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      These are yummy and delicious. Very easy if you just cut and bake. I am too lazy to rollout and decorate. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I took one reviewers advice and used a cookie scoop and made a cris cross on top with a sugar dipped fork and sprinkled with red sugar. I skipped the refrigeration step. Also, take them out when there is a hint of color starting at the edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Fantastic. Just what I was looking for. I still have dough left, so I put it in a zip lock bag so it wouldn't dry out. Thanks for the recipe. I like them at 1/8 inch thickness when sliced, by the way. What a lovely cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is a very nice butter cookie recipe. I did find that the dough needed to be kneaded well after refrigeration for rolling but I expected that since your posting is for slice and bake and not rolling out. I did find that 1/8" is way too thin for roll outs and even 1/4" is pretty thin as the cookies break easily - when I rolled them a bit thicker than 1/4" then they held up much better. Thanks for posting so we could all give them a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      These are delicious! I made a batch for a cookie party last weekend. I left half of them plain and dipped the other half in melted semi-sweet chocolate. Yum! I'll be making more this week with my son to leave out for "Santa" (my husband and me)! I'm also going to bake a batch for Christmas Eve, and roll the edges in colored red sugar to make them pretty. As the author said, they're delicious whatever you do with them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This cookie is not only one of the easiest cookies I've made, but the whole family gave it thumbs up as far as taste goes. Made the first tray and they all came in to see what was smelling so good. In an instant, all of the cookies were gone! Thank you for an easy butter cookie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I strayed from my family recipe of butter cookies for this...and i'm glad I did :) shhhh.....don't tell my mom though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

    • on December 19, 2009

      I'm sorry, but this recipe did not live up to my expectations. Followed it to the letter. Too sweet and soft. Will not be using this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This is the best butter cookie recipe ever. Simply perfect. Easy to make and bake and a wonderful balance of sweetness with the butter. Going forward I will double this recipe. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Absolutely Marvelous! These were light and had a mild sweet taste. I found the trick was to not overcook them - 7 minutes was just right for my wreaths. And also, I found that my coated cookies sheets prevented the dough from sticking - it needs to do that when it comes out of the press. So, I used my oldest sheets and it worked fine. Thanks for positing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Even my mom raved about these cookies! I had a problem with the dough being to crumbly and learned a nice technique about shaking the flour into the cup and scrapping off the excess with a butter knife. Just make sure you use sifted flour or else you might have my problem, fortunately my second batch came out PERFECT and DELICOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      O MY... what a great recipe! The cookies came out wonderful... Delicious as it is, but the crowd seem pleased even more when I sandwich them with NUTELLA!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (652 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    53%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 12.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes