167 Reviews

Totally agree with the reviews! I tried making this recipe and everybody loved it! It's easy, affordable, and super delicious. Definitely the best cookie recipe in the world!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
themagnificentella December 27, 2015

I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out wonderful! Light, buttery and delicious! I just rolled it into a log and cut thin cookies and they were perfect! Can't wait to share these with my family at Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BowlOYum December 18, 2015

I have this dough in the freezer right now. Used KerrryGold butter, which gave it a pretty yellow color. Funny thing is that I was scrolling throughthe pictures and saw one of mine...I have no recollection of using this particular recipe to make butter cookies. Weird.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litebright88_10764663 November 28, 2015

I have made so many different sugar cookies and these by far are the best. I say this because they have a crispy/flaky element to them rather than cakey. The cakey ones usually form a ball in your mouth and take time to swallow. You usually need a glass of water around because they are so heavy. These are scrumptious and the dough is so easy to work with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afrozeb November 15, 2015

I was looking for a butter cookie recipe and stumbled across this one. I was totally impressed. Perfect buttery taste, flaky, and not too sweet-just right. I modified slightly by adding a tsp. Of almond extract. Perfectly yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmh1rn October 26, 2015

This is not what I was looking for, so it was a somewhat of a disappointment. They are very much like shortbread; crumbly with a little crisp on the bottom and taste exactly like shortbread cookies. I like a butter cookie that is crisp and has a snap, and does not have as much of a flour taste that is so distinctive in a shortbread cookie. I will keep looking :-( On the bright side, it was so easy and and fast, cookies produced in a few minutes with some chilling time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hillary H. October 07, 2015

I haven't baked my dough yet. It's still chilling in the fridge but the dough tastes so awesome I couldn't wait to give it 5 stars. I've been searching for this simple butter cookie recipe most of my adult life. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy C. July 19, 2015

Loved this recipe. Not only was it fun for my 7 yr old and my 13 yr old to help with but it was easy and we had such a marvelously creative time making different shapes and figures with the dough. It is now a family fave that has joined the top list of our family baking traditions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUPITA3182 February 04, 2015

I made the recipe as written and we loved them. I love the convenience of being able to have them in the freezer and ready to fix at a moments notice. I loved the flaky texture and the buttery flavor. I still have some in the freezer and plan to dip in chocolate or ice the tops when I bake them. Can't wait to try them in the cookie press also. Excellent recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods August 02, 2014
World's Best Butter Cookies