Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World's Best Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2003

      Well, ta-da! I thought I recognized this recipe. I agree, this is the best butter cookie. I make them with a hand held beater, and they are always wonderful. It's that one egg yolk which turns them from ordinary to special. One of my kids always like a whole blanched almond planted in the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      I have been looking for a butter cookie that tastes like the ones Gramma used to bake. This is the recipe. Thanks, PetitFour, these are the best butter cookies ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      Wonderful buttery cookies with a flakey texture that were not too sweet (just like PetitFour described them). The flavor of these cookies reminds me of those Danish butter cookies that come in a round tin and are sold mostly during the holidays. My kids loved these cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      Well! These are the butter cookies you WANT to make!!Perfect texture, sweet buttery taste . After tasting them I closed my eyes and thought I was in heaven!!I think its the the addition of the egg yolk and extra vanilla , but whatever it is ....TRY THESE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2003

      very nice, crispy, buttery cookies. love the texture and the sweetness is just right. i overbaked the first batch but they still taste pretty yummy. i added 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder to 1/4 of the dough and made chocolate butter cookies. And i sprinkle some sugar on top. The dough is pretty sticky, so have to work fast; while the dough is still cold. Very easy to make too. thanks! (posted a pic)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      These really are the world's best butter cookies! They have a wonderful buttery flavor and their texture is perfect. I sprinkled a little granulated sugar on the tops before baking. I'll be making these again and again. Thanks, PetitFour, for this excellent recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      Perfect taste, texture, appearance...everything!! I nearly wrote a review while they were in the oven because the sweet smell of them baking was unbelievable! These will definitely replace the holiday butter cookies I've previously made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Now I wonder why would anyone buy cookie dough from the store? So easy, and so delicious! And can be stored in the freezer, cut out in the morning, and in 15 min on the breakfast table! Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Whoever claimed that recipe called for 8 tablespoons of butter is incorrect. It calls for 8 oz which is 16 tablespoons. You need to read the recipe the way is written before giving it one star....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Just tried these with 3/4 cup of virgin coconut oil vs the butter,,,o m g,,,,yummy:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      i didn't refrigerate or roll the batter, but instead put it in a cookie press and baked them afterwards. they turned out great! not too sweet which is great for my kids! i have uploaded photos. this is my very first butter cookies and i'm glad i followed your recipe. thanks so much! :) i was able to to make about 6 dozens and my kids love them! my 5 yr old son even asked for more but my 2 yr old daughter already finished them. :p

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This recipe made the perfect cookies. I made two half batches. In the first, I substituted lemon extract for vanilla and added the zest of half a lemon and 1 tablespoon of poppyseeds. In the second half batch, I added the same amount of poppyseeds, and did 1/2 teaspoon anise extract and 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract.....The taste, texture and color made these the best cookies I have ever made. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I was looking for a cut-out cookie that would not puff up and could handle a large delicate cut-out.... these were it by far!! and they taste amazing too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      Perfect butter cookie. I followed the recipe exactly and received raves when I brought them to a dinner party. My family also loved them. Only problem--can't stop eating them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Excellent butter cookie recipe, just like the ones I remember as a kid. If you want to give the cookies a little "something extra", just reduce vanilla extract to 1 tsp. and add 3 drops of almond extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      use european style butter (84% butterfat) for the real danish cookie taste. i made one batch with organic butter and one with organic cultured european style butter. the european batch tastes like the real deal but both versions are delish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I'll not rate this because the cookies were just not to our taste. I ended up filling them with chocolate so they would not be wasted. I made the dough into a roll and sliced it for the cookies. Sorry! It was not what I anticipated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      WOW...melt in your mouth goodness. Crumbly in Denver....but who cares!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      I made the recipe as written and we loved them. I love the convenience of being able to have them in the freezer and ready to fix at a moments notice. I loved the flaky texture and the buttery flavor. I still have some in the freezer and plan to dip in chocolate or ice the tops when I bake them. Can't wait to try them in the cookie press also. Excellent recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      Very delicious! Will be making these for my steampunk group's tea in December! So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (652 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    53%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 12.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites