40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these for a neighbor's Halloween cookout. Used my usual cookie scoop and baked on Silpat. Took 13 -15 minutes for each cookie sheet ! I allowed space for them to spread, and got over 48 sizable cookies ! they are good enough, but was surprised I have better recipes -- which DON'T take 1 pound of butter !! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney October 28, 2011

These were good but we did not care for the shortening flavour. I did cook them with an inverted rosebud in each cookie which looked strange after they baked because the cookie was very flat. The melted chocolate tasted good on the cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen October 25, 2011

FABULOUS sugar cookie!!!! Really exceptional cookie in my house to elicit moans of pleasure after the first bite! THANK YOU!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MezzoMom10 October 14, 2011

This recipe is exactly right and has not been altered. Be sure you are adding the 2 cups of shortening. Comes out perfectly every time and very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenhazzard December 16, 2010

somebody has altered this recipe, it's suppose to be 3 1/3 cups of flour not 4 1/3. the first time i made them as the recipe says and they turned out dry and crumbly (but still good) so today i made them again with minus 1 cup of flour and FANTASTIC!!! and this time i used some cake flour and some whole wheat flour because i ran out of cake and they were still really, really, good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittanyisgod January 01, 2010

Huh? I'm confused! I made these cookies exactly as said and the mix had so much flour , it turned into crumbs. Also, they could hardly be considered sweet. It seems like all the right ingredients in all the wrong ratios. this might have worked minus 2 cups of cake flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serenekreme December 24, 2009

Wow, the cake flour does make a difference. These are melt in your mouth, tender and flavorful cookies. The next batch, I will skip the rolling in the sugar step because they are on the too sweet side. This is just personal preference though. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB December 19, 2009

I don't know what happened, but these cookies turned out very dry. I even double and triple checked to make sure I used the correct amounts on all of the ingredients, and I definitely did everything exactly according to the recipe. The dough was so crumbly that it was hard to even form a ball with, and when I flattened it down on the cookie sheet the dough just fell apart. The finished product was okay, although just like the dough they were very dry and crumbly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jleonard711 December 06, 2009

I got mixed reviews on this. I made the mistake of making them with butter flavored Crisco. Next time I'll stick to the recipe. Very nice and tender cookies. Easy to decorate. I did as another review did and with some of my cookies I dipped them in cinnamon sugar to mimic a snicker doodle cookie. I also used vanilla and almond extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge November 19, 2009

Dead on right! This is THE Paradise Bakery sugar cookie that we all LOVE! I feel like I've won the lottery finding this! YUM! I will not be calculating the points on this recipe...probably off the chart, but it's worth it every now and then!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnoonantx November 07, 2009
World Famous Paradise Bakery Sugar Cookies