Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World Famous Paradise Bakery Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World Famous Paradise Bakery Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2011

      These are the BEST sugar cookies EVER! I've made them several times and I always get requests for the recipe. The recipe is correct, you do need to use 4 and 1/3 cups of CAKE flour. It seems like a ton of flour, but to make these comparable to the Paradise Cafe version, you need it! Just make sure not to stir too much after you've added the flour.

      I don't chill the dough, because usually when I'm making these its last minute and they turn out the same. Once I've got the dough complete, I measure each cookie out with a small disher, then roll them between my hands, roll them in sugar and then press them down with the palm of my hand. I bake them on parchment paper for only 8 minutes so that the bottoms stay barely golden. Once they're out of the oven, I leave them on the pan for a minute longer, then use a HUGE, but thin spatula to lift them to the wire rack. They're VERY delicate, so be careful and let them cool completely!

      People have actually argued with me about whether or not they're from a bakery. You HAVE to try this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      A very light, rich and delicate cookie. Perfect for my Christmas tray. Frosted with pink vanilla frosting and added candies sprinkles over the tops...Thank U for this recipe..I also used cake flour substitute 1 3/4c flour and 1/4 c cornstarch worked like a charm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      These are just like the Paradise Bakery sugar cookie. The recipe is perfect. It's a dry day here in Arizona. I didn't quite use the full amount of flour. But on a more humid day I would. Measure the (sifted) cake flour by filling the cup with a spoon and leveling off with a knife. The amount of flour in the recipe is definitely correct, though you might not need it all.<br/><br/>Though I love this cookie and am happy to find this recipe, this cookie may not be for everyone. There is a lot of shortening and very little vanilla. It might taste floury or even "tasteless" to some. All I can say is add extra vanilla or find a sugar cookie recipe that uses more flavoring, butter or sour cream, etc. But if you love the Paradise Bakery sugar cookie, you'll be very happy with this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I actually made these cookies for Christmas this year and they turned out great! I rolled them out and used a Christmas ornament cookie cutter. I frosted them and put sprinkles on top. They were a big hit with everyone who tried them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      The first batch of these I said was not good but once they completely cooled they tasted perfect. My second try was even better. The third time the first tray I put in the oven started crumbling. I couldn't figure out why but I think I needed to bake them longer. I am waiting for the rest of them to come out but this recipe is right on. Watch out though and you may have them all eaten in the first hour! Lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This recipe calls for shortening only and you can definitely taste it! I much prefer a buttery taste and won't be making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Definitely would not make these again. The shortening made these so bland. I even subbed 1/2 cup of it with butter and it did not help. I did them drop style and pressed with a sugared glass, but they were just not the same as a traditional sugar cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      :( This recipe did not work for me and I am confused as to why, after all the lovely reviews. I did cut the recipe in half, but other than that followed it to a T. My batter came out like dry pea sized crumbles. Not wanting to give up, I scrunched the batter together in balls with my hands, rolled the balls in sugar and flattened them a bit with my palm. The directions said to bake the cookies until slightly golden, and cracked on top. Mine never turned golden, even after a couple extra minutes, and when I cooled them and tried to bite into one, they were like rock hard biscuits and I ended up throwing them away, and throwing away the remainder of the batter. After talking with a friend who uses a similar recipe, she told me that her cookies never turn golden, so she takes them out exactly at the time her recipe indicates, and so maybe that is why they turned out so hard. All in all, I still had fun trying the recipe, I just wish they had come out better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      This is what Heaven tastes like! They are just like the Paradise Cafe cookies! The texture with the CAKE flour and powdered sugar is an almost exact match. This was a test recipe in preparation to make some Lemon Zester cookies, also from Paradise, which are seasonal (the recipe I've found is similar to this one, with lemon zest and lemon jello added). I followed the recipe, except I halved it (yes, 1/2 of an egg...), but it turned out great, so I think the CAKE flour amount is correct. I formed the dough with an ice cream scoop (1/2 recipe made 12), rolled in sugar, briefly refrigerated, and then baked for 10 min. I think people who haven't had the sugar cookies or Lemon Zesters at Paradise probably won't like the texture as much, because it's different than any other cookies I've tried, and it's different than what you might expect. I'm two hours away from the nearest Paradise Cafe, so thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      This is the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. These will be my family's Santa cookies from now on. They taste just like the paradise bakery cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Made these for a neighbor's Halloween cookout. Used my usual cookie scoop and baked on Silpat. Took 13 -15 minutes for each cookie sheet ! I allowed space for them to spread, and got over 48 sizable cookies ! they are good enough, but was surprised I have better recipes -- which DON'T take 1 pound of butter !! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      These were good but we did not care for the shortening flavour. I did cook them with an inverted rosebud in each cookie which looked strange after they baked because the cookie was very flat. The melted chocolate tasted good on the cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      FABULOUS sugar cookie!!!! Really exceptional cookie in my house to elicit moans of pleasure after the first bite! THANK YOU!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This recipe is exactly right and has not been altered. Be sure you are adding the 2 cups of shortening. Comes out perfectly every time and very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      somebody has altered this recipe, it's suppose to be 3 1/3 cups of flour not 4 1/3. the first time i made them as the recipe says and they turned out dry and crumbly (but still good) so today i made them again with minus 1 cup of flour and FANTASTIC!!! and this time i used some cake flour and some whole wheat flour because i ran out of cake and they were still really, really, good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Huh? I'm confused! I made these cookies exactly as said and the mix had so much flour , it turned into crumbs. Also, they could hardly be considered sweet. It seems like all the right ingredients in all the wrong ratios. this might have worked minus 2 cups of cake flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Wow, the cake flour does make a difference. These are melt in your mouth, tender and flavorful cookies. The next batch, I will skip the rolling in the sugar step because they are on the too sweet side. This is just personal preference though. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I don't know what happened, but these cookies turned out very dry. I even double and triple checked to make sure I used the correct amounts on all of the ingredients, and I definitely did everything exactly according to the recipe. The dough was so crumbly that it was hard to even form a ball with, and when I flattened it down on the cookie sheet the dough just fell apart. The finished product was okay, although just like the dough they were very dry and crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I got mixed reviews on this. I made the mistake of making them with butter flavored Crisco. Next time I'll stick to the recipe. Very nice and tender cookies. Easy to decorate. I did as another review did and with some of my cookies I dipped them in cinnamon sugar to mimic a snicker doodle cookie. I also used vanilla and almond extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Dead on right! This is THE Paradise Bakery sugar cookie that we all LOVE! I feel like I've won the lottery finding this! YUM! I will not be calculating the points on this recipe...probably off the chart, but it's worth it every now and then!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World Famous Paradise Bakery Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1385 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2365.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1259
    53%
    Total Fat 139.9 g
    215%
    Saturated Fat 34.9 g
    174%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 628.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 261.4 g
    87%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 106.4 g
    425%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes