Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / World-Famous Low Carb Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World-Famous Low Carb Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2008

      This is now my staple...for years I have been on the lookout for a lower tasty version of regular bread. This is truly a keeper! I agree the texture is different but it is well worth the compromise. The only thing I have changed is I substituted whole spelt flour for the oat flour only because I didn't have any oat on hand. I have tried the sesame and sunflower versions and I equally enjoy both. It is nice to finally have a hearty slice of bread instead of the rubbery or airy store versions. Kudos to you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Sorry, this one didn't do it for me. I did substitute stevia for splenda(I don't use artificial sweeteners), and did not have wheat bran on hand so I added more flax seed instead. Maybe the substitutions were part of the problem. Like all the other low-carb bread recipes I have tried, it didn't rise and tasted awful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      i'm a happy camper now! I've been experimenting with all sorts of low carb breads and this is the one i'm using for now on. i'm munching on an end piece right now, hot out of the bread machine and i feel like i'm blowing my diet! it's like a hearty whole grain bread, DH would even eat this and he wrinkles his nose at my low carb creations. i used flax seed meal, that's what i had and wasn't sure if it'd work but it did. it didn't rise as much as i thought it would based on a previous review, but that could have been because of the substitution. regardless i'll make this again and again. i can envision croutons, french toast, maybe even clazones and pizza crust. yum! thanks kcdelong for the keeper recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I was pleasantly suprised by this bread. I have had low-carb bread that was either all air or very rubbery. This was a nice texture. I am looking forward to trying the rye version. I used my bread machine to do the kneading, but did the rising and baking the traditional way, because I don't like square loaves, and my machine is old and I don't think it does a good job of rising anymore. Time for a new one, I guess! Thanks for posting this recipe. As a diabetic, I really appreciate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      I had been buying the almond flour paleo bread that's only 1 gm. of carbs ($10). This bread is so, much better I'm saving my money. For some reason I thought the added almond flour instead of the oat flower. It tastes fine to me and brought down the carbs a little bit more. I make this all the time now. I will try some bread machine yeast one of these days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is completely disgusting. The texture is okay, but the flavor is strange and very bitter. My family has tried to be supportive of my low carb diet, but they could not hide their disgust when they tasted it. I heard my sister say, "I'm sorry!" as she threw her piece in the trash. I dumped the rest a few minutes later.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I subbed out the Flax Seed with Soy and Bran - turned out GREAT. THANKS!!!! FYI - This has a VERY high 1st rise. I got what looks like a 1.5lb loaf when it was finished.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      Oh my goodness! My husband and I have been doing low carb and recently bought a bread machine. The only thing I did differently was to add 2 tablespoons of powdered milk to the recipe. I have made the rye recipe and recently added raisins and cinnamon. This was so yummy! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2014

      To be honest I was a little skeptical about this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised. This bread is light, fluffy and tasty. The texture is a little different that regular bread, but that didn't bother me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      Worked out great the second time: vital wheat gluten flour is "vital"!<br/>I did not get a high-rise at all though, but it did end up ok.<br/>Changed soy flour for oat flour, which added 40 gr more carbs, so per slice not that much.<br/>Add the nuts - its worth it.<br/>Also added Caraway seeds - leave the bread for a day - it will taste better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      Taste like dead yeast :( You have to use a missive amount of yeast due to the splenda killing it as it does the pro0biotiics in your system. Thus inhibiting,the rise requiring the addition of BAKING POWDER? . By eliminating the splenda, you can go back to only TWO TBS yeast rather than the FOUR NOW, and eliminate the added of baking powder!?!? This process will only increase the carbs by 100 mg per slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      Working on the low carb diet with my pizza, pasta, bread freak significant other. Atkins is easy for me, but not for him, especially when he revolts against vegetables! Having completely given up smoking almost 6 months ago and then gaining weight consequently has him feeling deprived. He rebels against the Oopsies, flax meal crackers, etc.<br/>The Atkins cuisine bread has no flavor.<br/>I started looking for low carb yeast bread recipes and found this and others that use bread makers. I've often thought of buying one, but didn't want to make my own yummy breads for fear of eating too much of it!<br/>I decided to jump in with both feet and bought a top of the line machine. It was delivered at 3:30 yesterday afternoon. I watched the DVD and was going to try to make the basic bread recipe for my first attempt in the machine as I had never used one. Well, it was then I realized that I didn't have enough of most of the traditional ingredients. I did have all but the oat flour to make this one.<br/>I did sub 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for the oat flour. I just did the math and only looks like 2 additional net carbs for the whole loaf. I was out of white sugar, so used a 1/2 t brown sugar instead. Flax seed meal instead of flax seed.<br/>Anyway, it turned out great! Slightly sweet, great crust. Crumb is a little spongy, but pretty darn good! It passed muster with my carb freak at dinner. He made toast with it this morning and enjoyed it that way too, but had to toast it a little longer. Thank you for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2014

      Best low carb bread yet. Giong to stick with this one.<br/>Thank you :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Used my bread maker for the first time in a year and a half. This was so easy and good. My husband can eat anything he wants, so this is just for me! It will help me keep my 30 lb. weight loss, which I have for a year and a half now. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This was the second loaf of bread I made in my new Food Network bread machine. I did add the rye and cocoa, and the bread turned out light, easy to slice, wonderful texture, with a slightly chewy crust. My low-carb friends say it's the best they've eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This bread is fantastic, i can now still eat delicious bread without worrying about all the carbs! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      I feel so much better after eating this bread. I've been making it weekly -- I can't do with out it. Even my kids notice that is really different and they love it. I have been making both varieties and have made very few changes. I do put the dry ingredients together ahead of time for convenience (except for the yeast/baking powder.) Thanks for this recipe!!! LisaJo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      This bread is delicious. It has been a great addition to my low carb diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World-Famous Low Carb Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (774 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.0
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    45%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 222.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes