38 Reviews

I'm sorry. I really wanted to like these, but they were inedible. I was looking for an egg-free recipe because I didn't have any in the house. I followed the recipe to a T except I used chocolate soymilk instead of regular. I don't think that would have changed it too much. They were too dense and dry; I even undercooked them. I couldn't even eat one, and my polite guests choked down one. Thanks for the idea, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jusme July 18, 2010

LOVE!!! Not sure if last review went through but can't stop licking the bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trishlopez33 July 10, 2016

Amazing!! First time making these and they are delicious!!! Had to stop myself from eating the mixture. You can taste the hint of cinnamon and I used the rest of my walnuts and sprinkled them on top of the brownies before baking. Wow!! Another example of how you don't need animals or animal products to make delicious foods. Thankyou for sharing this recipe ??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristen.j.b November 17, 2015

I used a measuring cup, but they turned out cakey. Really, it's just a chocolate cake recipe. It doesn't look like the picture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous September 26, 2015

Ooey Gooey perfection! These are the first vegan dessert I made since the switch, and I swear you can't tell the difference! In fact, these trumped over brownie recipes I've used. Made slight variations as to what I had available (almond milk, macadamia oil) but followed the recipe to a T and they came out gorgeous!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oneillnellie September 02, 2015

Made red velvet by replacing half the cocoa powder with flour and adding food coloring. Served it a birthday party and everyone absolutely loved it! Said it was the best brownies they've ever had and didn't know it was vegan until I told them. You won't be disappointed with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faith N. August 10, 2015

Delish. I doubled the recipe to take 4 pie-tins of brownies to a potluck. I was worried because the dough didn't seem to be very thick. I had deleted a 1/3 c of sugar since I was using vanilla soy milk. Added in 2 T of flour and that seemed to make it a bit thicker. Topped with a light sprinkling of chocolate chips on all batches and and crushed walnuts on two. I undercooked one of the no-nuts pans and didn't realize it until 10 minutes had passed. The middle was the perfect consistency of a lava cake. My son refused to let me put it back in the oven and devoured the entire middle of the brownie pie. The others were cooked appropriately and came out magnificent. Definitely a keeper. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop August 08, 2015

This recipe is great! I have made planty of brownies from different recipes and I will stay for sure with this one. I just made a couple of changes: put 2 teaspons of baking powder instead of 1, and my douth was really heavy (I don't know why), so I added some more soya milk. Thank you for the recipe :) I recommend it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ifonne75 July 21, 2015

Wonderful recipe! The only change I made was to mix some cocoa powder and cinnamon and dust the top of the brownies. It really brought out the cinnamon flavor of the Mexican vanilla I used instead of the regular vanilla. Also, I used unsweetened almond milk to make it soy-free. Sold them at a company bake sale and they sold out in a matter of minutes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miya B. June 25, 2015

WOW. I never write reviews but these were on point! I omitted the walnuts and added some chocolate chips. Also baked them in mini muffin tins to make brownie bites @ 350 for 12 minutes. So so good and fudgy (and you can't even tell they are vegan). My new go-to recipe for brownies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
molly_clair February 02, 2014
Wonderful Vegan Brownies