Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Vegan Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Vegan Brownies

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2010

      I'm sorry. I really wanted to like these, but they were inedible. I was looking for an egg-free recipe because I didn't have any in the house. I followed the recipe to a T except I used chocolate soymilk instead of regular. I don't think that would have changed it too much. They were too dense and dry; I even undercooked them. I couldn't even eat one, and my polite guests choked down one. Thanks for the idea, though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      WOW. I never write reviews but these were on point! I omitted the walnuts and added some chocolate chips. Also baked them in mini muffin tins to make brownie bites @ 350 for 12 minutes. So so good and fudgy (and you can't even tell they are vegan). My new go-to recipe for brownies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      These were awesome. I made the following changes to the recipe. I removed 2 T. of flour, reduced the oil to 2/3 c., increased the baking powder to 1 1/2 tsp. and added 1/4 c. Hodgson Mill milled flax seed mixed with 1/4 c. water (let stand until it's a thick paste). I double sifted the dry ingredients, mixed all the wet ingredients together and stirred the batter just until everything was moistened.. The brownies baked for 33 minutes. Yum yum yum. They're an exact cross between cake like and fudgey brownies. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for a great recipe to start with. Kittencalskitchen rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      When you're looking for a vegan baking recipe, you really need it to be full of the goodstuff. So, when you see two cups of sugar, 1 cup of oil.. everything should be good. And it was! I lined the pan based on some other reviews, and instead of nuts which I have to avoid, I used vegan chocolate chips. Really, really moreish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      These were amazing! My son is allergic to eggs and nuts so I bake everything and I don't even keep eggs in the house. This is the best brownie I have found so far!! I added chocolate chips and both my sons and I couldn't stop eating them!! :) I can't wait to make them for my non-allergic sons bday party! Everyone will love them!! THANK YOU!!! (I don't know how they came out dry for anyone, they are very moist. Perhaps your oven runs hotter?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is a solid four star recipe. Because I used vanilla soy milk, I added a little less sugar. I also added 1Tblsp of flax mixed with 3 Tblsp of water that had been simmered for a few minutes. We enjoyed these more once they had the chance to cool down. They are nice and moist and mine did not fall apart at all. I also subbed applesauce for the oil. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      WOW!!! I've been on a quest since becoming a lacto-vegetarian 6 years ago (& recently a vegan this year) to find a delicious & fudgey brownie & I finally have ended my search. This is totally decadent & not at all cake-like like the majority of vegan brownie recipes out there. This reminds me of the boxed brownies that I used to eat as kid except without all those yucky cholesterol laden ingredients. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      These were great! This is the first brownie recipe I've made since going vegan that has actually worked! I put in 1/4 c of pecans instead of walnuts. They were absolutely delicious! Very nice and fudgy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      These were a DISASTER!!! I made these for a birthday party I was invited to, but I had to throw them out because I couldn't get them out of the pan (which I swear I greased)! The middle was caved in and undercooked, but the edges were way overcooked. It tasted really good, but somewhere along the line it all went wrong. Maybe next time I'll try a Pyrex dish instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      These brownies were awsome. Taste soooo much better than regular brownies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Fantastic! I have a vegan daughter and she said she hadn't had brownies in over two years and happily ate some! Our whole family loved them, these are keepers. I am going to try adding a "flax seed egg" next time as they fall apart a little, but who cares they are so tasty! Also pecans, chocolate chips, and other "add ins" I look forward to trying! Thanks, Kittencal, for another keeper..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      i made these today (halfed recipe) and added in dried cranberries, dried mango and almonds (not keen on walnuts). i was really impressed with the result, only problem was that it cooked too quick round the edges. but thats no big deal because they were delicious. i will definately be making these again. thanks for another great recipe kittencal x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      These were really good- the best vegan brownies I've made so far. I halfed the recipe, and used an 8x8 pan instead; cooking them for 40 minutes. I like the crunchy top, and they have a good flavor. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Kittencal, I've read great reviews on almost all of your recipes, but I myself have only had the opportunity to try out this one and a pasta sauce recipe. I must say these brownies are DELISH! I took it to the next (health) level and used whole wheat flour. Also I used Silk unsweetened soy (the green carton), and left out the cinnamon and walnuts. I also used half applesauce and half oil, as well as half brown and half white sugar. However, since my family wanted these choclatey-er, I broke a few toblerone triangles into the batter and it turned out GREAT! I'm dying to try the other reviewer's version with the Chocolate soy... mmmm... THanks a million kittencal : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      I was craving chocolate brownies and thse hit the spot! I even had all the ingredients in my cupboards. Recently turning vegan, I've been cautious about looking for new recipes - and this was spot on! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      These were great! I was desperately in need of some chocolate and these definitely did the trick! We recently found out our son has a milk, egg, and peanut allergy so it has been a pretty major adjustment for us to make and one thing I miss is the chocolate! We did feel these were a bit greasy though. I thought the cinnamon was a nice touch. I made 100% as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      These are some of the BEST brownies I have EVER made and the only brownies I will make from now on. Really fudgy, delicious brownies - and vegan, too! I'm not a vegan but didn't have any eggs on hand, so thought I would give these a whirl. I didn't use the cinnamon or nuts, nor sift the cocoa, and I used chocolate soymilk instead. Oh, my. Baked for 30 minutes and it was pure perfection. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      THESE ARE GREAT!!!! Thank you for posting. These are a great treat. I made the mini muffins and got 60 little brownie bites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Sorry about the low stars...the cinnamon overwhelms the taste. I had high hopes because of all the great reviews. Texture was great, I omitted nuts and added in some mini-organic choc. chips. Just couldn't get past the cinnamon flavor. May try recipe again without adding in the cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      these are great my pan was bigger and so it over cooked other than that these were very good you would never know that they were vegan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Vegan Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.7
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    51%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 177.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites