9 Reviews

These are wonderful. I was out of vanilla and used all almond flavoring, and they were still great. Make sure you don't cook them too long!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martybb March 12, 2002

I made these cookies last night as Christmas gifts for my friends. I could't even get past not eating the dough...and when they came out of the oven I was already munching on them! My 18 month old son liked them too! The vanilla and almond extract really added to the flavor I think, though I probably would like them just a little bit sweeter. The first batch came out nice and soft but the second batch, which I used less dough, came out crispy. I definitely would advise to cook them only six minutes and make sure you use enough dough. These were really good, thank you! My friends enjoyed them!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttercup0009 December 15, 2002

This is my hubby's very favorite Christmas cookie. I found the recipe over 30 years ago and made a batch and he ate the whole batch in one sitting! So I quadrupeled (sp?!) the recipe and made it four more times that year! That's a lotta cookies! It became a big family project baking and frosting and decorating 'Daddies cookies' for the kids and I every year. Now that the kids are all gone, he is lucky if I make him one single batch of them a year! Anybody who is looking for a melt in your mouth, absolutely delicious roll out sugar cookie is sure to adore these. One word of caution is to not to roll them too thin, or over bake them and to handle them carefully as they break easily. I have also tinted the cookie dough prior to baking with food coloring in the hopes DH wouldn't insist on frosting on them. Nope...gotta be frosted! This is a wonderful cookie that deserves more than five stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanmatt November 09, 2002

These cookies are good, but just not what I expected .. the butter/flour ratio is not high so the cookies are thin and chewy .. I followed the recipe to a T, and added some chocolate to about half the dough .. although they do taste great I would not make them again because I like my cookies with more flour .. thank you for sharing..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa May 24, 2004

these cookies were pretty good. I didn't think that they had enough flavor to them. I had to add another egg because they wouldn't hold togther. but they were easy to make and didn't take a lot of time or make a big mess thanx.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam M July 25, 2003

This is a very yummy versatile recipe. I added 1/2c cocco to the recipe. It went very well with the almond extract. I also substituted nutmeg for the creme of tarter, this turned out well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef kjpm67 April 04, 2006

My daughter wanted to learn how to make sugar cookies, so I used this recipe. It was a great choice! They were very easy to make, especially for a beginner. And boy, were they delicious! They just melted in your mouth. We will definately be making more of these!!! Thank you ~Lisa~ for posting this recipe. :) :) :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BassetmamaX2 December 10, 2003

These cookies are just great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlise June 24, 2002

These cookies are delicious. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mck.fam June 23, 2002
Wonderful Sugar Cookies