Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Slow Cooker Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Slow Cooker Lentils

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2010

      This is a nice lentil recipe but found that the carrots cooked too much. Next time I will add the carrots near the end so that they will be alittle crunchy and not soft.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Originally made Nov.19 : I doubled the recipe for my 6L crockpot and brought this to a potluck dinner. 3L got eaten up and I had 3L left to freeze. Itz a good comfort food! Dec.5 : Thawed for dinner. Came out more like a soup, which was still good. I added grilled (cubed)chicken and parmesan cheese! yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Great taste but slow is the operative word here ! I am just a novice using my slow cooker but mine needed up to 2 hours longer than stated in the recipe - maybe my high setting isn't high enough. Good result but just not in time for dinner. Certainly good for my learning curve !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      First let me say that lentils have never been something I was too interested in eating. But my mom has been trying to be more vegetarian and I decided to try this. Surprisingly, I really like this a lot. And of course I like that I can throw everything in a crock pot and not worry about it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I enjoy lentils and this recipe was very good. Used 3 medium onions, baby carrots, and a green pepper. Did have a bit of trouble with the cooking time but I have a 6 quart crock pot so I think that was the problem. The liquid cooked out a lot sooner than the lentils softened so I added more chicken broth and turned the crock pot down to low. Kept an eye on the lentils and stirred occasionally. Topped with mild cheddar cheese and served with Paula's Curry Roasted Cauliflower. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Excellent recipe: The lentils didin't cook in the time mentioned, I had to finish them in the microwave but it was worth it. My kids love it. I will do it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Nice and easy to do. I did not serve it with the cheese (forgot it!!) but it still was good over rice. My crockpot just doesn't seem to have the umph it used to and I had to finish up cooking these in the microwave. Oh well it turned out quite fine anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      These tasted wonderful but they took about 4 1/2 to 5 hours in my Crock Pot. I will make them again just need to allow more cook time and I may try waiting 2 to 3 hours to add the tomatoes as the other reviewer suggested. The flavor combo was great and I used a low fat cheese blend. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This has become a staple at our house, with kids and grownups alike. These lentils are fabulous--easy, flavorful, healthy, cheap--I can't praise them enough! The only change I make is to add 2 cups of tomato juice. Otherwise, I find that they tend to scorch. I've never had a problem with the lentils being tough. Serve them with short grain brown rice--yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Wonderful is an understatement. These lentils are fabulous! They smell as great as they taste. I took the very helpful advice of a previous reviewer and I did not add the tomatoes until the end of cooking time (when I added the cheese). My lentils came out perfectly soft after the 2 1/2 hours. For those who cann ot have dairy (cheese), these lentils are just as great with or without the cheese. I tasted them both ways. :) I'll make this again. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Great recipe. We've made this a few times, and it comes out quite well. I always add one potato to give it some extra texture, and that seems to work well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      When cooking legumes in the crockpot: if you add acid they will not soften! If you try this recipe, don't add the tomatoes until the end, otherwise you will arrive home at the end of the day to an inedible dinner. Which I can tell you from personal experience is NO FUN.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      Pretty tasty. I have problems cooking lentils in the slow cooker; they rarely get soft enough for my taste. After about 2 hours of cooking mine were still rock hard so I added some water. It cooked better, but then was really soupy when I added the cheese. Nice flavor, though. I think I would like more tomatoes next time. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Slow Cooker Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.0
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    16%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 423.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes