Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Salsa With Black Beans and Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Salsa With Black Beans and Corn

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      This is so awesome! I didn't can nearly enough of it, but next year my garden will be planted with this recipe in mind. I'm hiding my stash so my adult children save some for later! Pints of this would be perfect in a Christmas gift basket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      My husband and I made this salsa last night and he loved it! Said it was a great addition to the "Wonderful Salsa" recipe we canned earlier. I used red onion, added some cilantro and couldn't find a cubanelle pepper so used an Anaheim pepper. EXcellent and so easy! Thanks for posting Goochie137!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      This recipe really looks delicious, but it is not acidic enough to process in a boiling water bath canner, even with the small amount of added vinegar. It is perfectly safe if processed using modern methods, which means using a pressure canner for non-acidic food like corn and beans. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information, or visit the canning and food preservation forum on food.com. The salsa could be safely stored in the freezer, as an alternative.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Sorry to be a wet blanket, but this recipe is potentially a death sentence. This must be pressure canned to be safe and even there, you must carefully analyze the recipe to ensure that the beans will not swell too much in the jars to prevent adequate fluid movement in the jar to ensure even heating and allow it to reach a safe processing temperature. A water bath cannot reach 250 degrees. With beans being part of the recipe this would likely need to be pressure canned 90-100 minutes at 10lbs pressure. Botulism kills, folks and contrary to myth it may not bulge the lid, can be odorless and tasteless and kill you with the amount that you taste to check. Check out the USDA and other reputable sites that know what they are talking about. Its Russian roulette otherwise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      Absoultely wonderful salsa! We had a variety of peppers of all different colors and heats. That is what we used. We ended up with 7 pints and some extra. We had to try the extra and it was delicious and looks wonderful,too! I can't wait to try it after the flavors have a chance to blend!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      this recipe is awesome. Not too much black beans or corn. Just perfect. the taste is awesome. Has just enough kick to it. very, very good.
      thanks for this recipe.
      Jan buesgens

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      We loved this. Peeling and seeding the tomatoes was a pain but the end result was worth it. I had a couple of friends over and we did a double batch as our first adventure in canning! I bet we lost a pint of salsa with all the sampling straight out of the pot! I did add some fresh cilantro and since we were aiming for a medium salsa put in a cup of jalapeno peppers (seeded), a cup of banana peppers (seeded) with a habanero or three (seeded) minced in for good measure. After canning we still ended up with a mild salsa. Made another batch (single this time) with a cup of jalapeno (plus seeds), a cup of habanero (plus seeds) and a TBS of cayenne pepper. This gave us a good medium salsa. Yield for each batch was 8 pints plus for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I made this recipe this morning and it is absolutely delicious. It is a mild to medium salsa so you may want to add more jalapeno peppers if you like it hotter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      I make this all the time and it's one of the Family Favorites. But, I'm sure to add cilantro. It just doesn't seem right to make this recipe without it and I use plenty of lime juice which gives it that "Mexican" taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Delightful salsa BUT be SURE to add at least 2 cups of lemon juice to the recipe before cooking and canning. This brightens the flavor AND makes it safer to can. I also added 2 T of fresh cilantro. Such pretty and DELICIOUS salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      This is tasty salsa, but absolutely not safe for water bath canning. Nowhere near acidic enough, and with both beans and corn in it, there's no way to make it safe for water bath canning. This recipe absolutely requires pressure canning, and without clear, tested instructions I wouldn't even try that. But hey, if you want your friends and family to die of botulism, go right ahead and follow the directions as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      This is an excellent salsa - very tasty. We have made it several times. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!!! Have been making it for several years and always have friends wanting a jar!!! You won't be disappointed!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      We made a double batch of this salsa last night and it is wonderful. Had some left that would not fill a jar so we got out the chips and it was gone in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This recipe is excellent, however I did make a few minor changes......it is very mild, so I added 3 small, whole jalapeno peepers, chopped small......increased the garlic to 8 or 9 cloves and increased the vinegar to a scant 1/2 cup.....yield was 8-9 pints. This recipe was so good that I have had to make 4 batches already and will be making more......thank you from my entire family.........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Salsa With Black Beans and Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (545 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.9
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    46%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2747.6 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 13.8 g
    55%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites