465 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good salsa. I seeded half of the jalepeno's and it was just abot right. At first I thought it was too sweet, but as it aged in the jars it balanced out. I think I will reduce the sugar next time by a little.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo430 August 01, 2010

Very good recipe. We added 1/4 cup of cilantro to the salsa and extra garlic & cumin but we are garlic lovers! We also cut down the peppers to about half of what it called for and it was still pretty warm. We made three batches and found the first two batches extremely salty so the third batch we cut down on about half of the salt and it helped a lot. My dad doesn't like to eat too much sugar so he substituted pure honey in place of the sugar and it tasted just as good. Thanks Jazze for sharing !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetly July 19, 2010

This is OUTSTANDING! I used a cayenne pepper instead of a jalapeno because I didn't have jalapeno. The salsa was still mild (which is how I like it). I also put the tomatoes, onions, and peppers in a food processor and briefly chopped them as I like salsa that is somewhere between smooth and chunky. The next batch I will make hot to suit hubby's taste. This recipe goes in my annual canning cookbook. I'll most certainly be making this again. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes July 15, 2010

This is really good. I like to add cilatro for an extra kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spoolbaby2 July 08, 2010

Thank you so much!! This was my first time canning and it actually went well after I got the kinks smoothed out. I didn't use all 8 cups tomatoes because my rough estimates left me a bit short (which is ok anyway cause we like it like that). I used Kosher salt (couldn't find the other stuff) and I used half jalapenos and half serranos to kick it up! Husband ate a whole bowl up with tortilla chips and his lips are falling off - PERFECT :) Thanks a lot!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious May 09, 2010

I had very high hopes for this recipe... I halfed it and got enough to fill a fridge container so I didnt can it (I wanted to try it before canning it)... I used equal parts of red, yellow, and green pepper and also used a combination of red and yellow onion... I just salted to taste because that much salt seemed excessive.. and sprinkled just a dash of sugar even though I used tomatoes out of a can... for a halfed recipe I cut up 1.5 jalepenos and left the seed in... it turned out to be perfect HOT salsa... nothing medium about it... but it doesnt burn your mouth to the point where your tastebuds go numb :). I only boiled for about 4-5 min and added 1/4 c.-ish cilantro last. Very zesty and not TOO thick like what I thought it would be... I'd definitely suggest halfing the recipe the first time to make your own tweaks as well as slowly putting in the jalepenos to figure out what level of hotness you want... p.s. it was way hotter than when after I boiled it for a bit. and when you use all the different types of veggies it really gives it a great color! :) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlajeancampbell March 08, 2010

Just made this salsa. I hadn't even closed the page before I wrote this review. We are eating this right out of the pot. Sooooo good. I added 2 cans of crushed pineapple and it is amazing. Great job and thanks for sharing. Sept. 20, 2009 Just needed to update my review. I have been making this recipe for a couple of months now. It seems to get better every time. My manager took our staff out on his boat this weekend... I broke out the salsa, made the night before with fresh peppers out of the garden. There were so many people trying to eat the salsa at once, the boat tipped forward and started to take on water. It is now known as Boat Sinking Salsa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brianna & Caitlyn's Dad September 21, 2009

I made my 2nd. batch yesterday. The title as absolutely correct. I did not use cumin because of a personal preference, but added additional jalapeno peppers. I will definitely make more to last thru the winter. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimB427 July 27, 2003

Fantastic Salsa recipe! When tested on my husband, who isn't crazy about salsa, he gave it a Thumbs Up and wanted more ...Hey Mikey, He Likes It!! The recipe made 6 pints for me so it looks like I'll be making more. This one's a keeper and will go into my Christmas gift baskets. Thanks for sharing this "Wonderful" Salsa recipe. It really is!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webcat May 28, 2003

This is the best of all the salsa recities out there, and I have tried almost all of them. I get requests for this recipe all the time, and at parties, everyone asks that I bring my salsa. The great thing about this recipe is that you can make it as hot or as mild as you like, just adjust the amount of cumin. An awsome recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juketbean April 08, 2003
Wonderful Salsa