490 Reviews

I added cilantro, a peach and a mango to a half batch of this salsa and it was marvelous! I also replaced the jalapenos for some very hot banana peppers i had. Everyone who has tried it, has loved it! Going to make some more soon for go-to gifts but i think i might also add more onion and black beans to up the fiber and protein content.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hohn0001 August 24, 2010

I felt compelled to review this one. We LOVE salsa. I make fresh all the time and I have a salsa recipe for canning from my grandmother that we all love. I am always looking for another, just in case something else will "blow us away". Well this was NOT it. Heat factor is good (that is totally subjective and an be varied of course by adding more or fewer seeds etc) but it does NOT taste like fresh salsa, not even before processing it. And I do not want to go thru the trouble canning salsa that ends up tasting canned. I think the tomato paste and/or tomato juice is the death of the recipe. I will re-review the recipe in about a week. We'll see if just sitting in the jar for a bit will help. And later month or so maybe even going back and making it w/o the paste and juice and seeing if it helps. Maybe I should stick to what we love Grandma's recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ivybox August 16, 2010

Sooo good. Tripled the recipe and canned it before trying it. I figured nearly 500 people were probably right. It's a smidge spicier than we prefer, so next time we'll just add less jalapenos, but then again, we're more of mild salsa people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feelin_gr_8 August 19, 2015

Hi there, quick question...what does a hot water bath mean....does it mean I seal the salsa in the mason jars and sit them in hot water for 10 mins? Appreciate the help, thank you and Happy 4th. Sal

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sal734 July 04, 2015

This was delicious salsa. I used the food processor to save time and so the veggies were all evenly cut. The addition of the tomato sauce and paste made this the best. We loved it. I put mine up in pint jars and I got 8 pints. Thank you for sharing, I'm off to make another batch now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 18, 2013

I think that I have to avoid the recipe when people put "wonderful" in the title. This is salsa is bland, so I will give you some tips to improve it. Put in the juice from 1 lime, 2 TBS of cayenne pepper, 3 TBS of Kosher salt and 1 bunch of cilantro. Wow!! Now it tastes like salsa and not a veggie medley. Cheers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatty mcgee June 14, 2012

Such a great canning salsa! We made several batches of this recipe. We had a lot of vine ripened tomatoes to be used up. We made the recipe exactly as stated and made one batch with extra jalapenos for a spicy batch. Since our tomatoes were already real ripe, the sugar really didn't need to be added. We noticed that it gave it too much of a sweet taste and hid some of the spiciness. But after the salsa has sat in the cupboard for a couple months the sweetness finally mellowed out and the spice has shined thru! So if you added the sugar and was afraid it made it too sweet, just give it a little while to marinate to together and mellow, it will turn out fine! If you plan on eating it all right away, than you can decide if you want to add the sugar or not if you tomatoes are already sweet. The ratios in this salsa are perfect for a nice mild salsa. Thanks for this great recipe. Im sure when we want to can salsa again we will be coming to this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* February 19, 2012

One of the best salsa I ever made. I didn't even peel the fresh tomatoes. I have a Kitchen Ninja so I just put the tomatoes in there and hit the power about 10 times. Chopped the onions and peppers in it too. I love cumin in salsa, so this didn't disappoint. The black pepper is the ingredient I wasn't sure about, but it works very well even with the heat of the peppers. I didn't use the green peppers, that was about the only change I made other than only using 1 small can of tomato sauce. Froze 8 little cup containers and have a qt jar in the fridge. This is a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimJ September 24, 2011

Really amazing salsa. I reduced the sugar from 1/3 to 1/4 of a cup because I don't like my salsa sweet. I added a couple extra jalapeno and one habanero for alot of kick. I added about 1/2 cup of freshly chopped parsley and added 9 cloves of garlic instead of 6 (what can I say I love garlic). I also boiled it a bit longer since my jars will not be vacuum sealed but simply have a plastic lid and put in the fridge (the salsa won't last long enough).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capsaicin Guy August 29, 2011

After all the glowing reviews, I had high expectations of this salsa. Unfortunately, I thought it was bland and not that different from a grocery store jar. Very disappointing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenniferky August 05, 2011
Wonderful Salsa