469 Reviews

I made this last year and can't wait to plant more tomatoes this year... LOVED IT and I've tried a million recipes.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Lawson March 12, 2002

It was very wonderful delight! I love hot salsa and this hit the spot! Thank you so very much for this recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandon Rappe December 19, 2001

What great salsa! The best I have ever canned!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Mooers December 15, 2001

This is the first time I have canned salsa and this one is AWESOME! I'm going to make another batch because everyone that tries it will want some.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim1 October 11, 2001

This is my absolute favorite recipe for canning salsa! I have been making it for years. I just wanted to note though that this recipe has been revised on other sites after being tested to need 1 cup total of acids added by adding more vinegar or lemon or lime juice to total 1 cup if water bath method is used, if pressure canning then no change is needed. Pressure canning instructions are 10 pounds of pressure for 30 minutes for pints. Not recommended for quart jars.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe September 05, 2011

This recipe doesn't really need more reviews, but I have to add how wonderful it is! I have been making it repeatedly over the last few years, and it really is a fantastic salsa. I make it as written with a few changes: 1/4c instead of 1/3c sugar (and as other reviewers noted, this can also vary depending on the sweetness of your tomato/onion), and instead of fresh jalepenos I use a combination of fresh hot peppers and chipotle peppers (I'm a chipotle addict). Also, instead of the 1tsp of pepper I use 1/4 tsp pepper, .1/2tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2tsp chipotle powder, 1/2tsp chili pepper, and I throw in a little garlic salt to taste. Also, I use a sushi vinegar instead of white vinegar. This vinegar is already a little sweet, so contributes to a lesser need for plain sugar. I use roughtly 1/2 cup of cilantro and put half in when the salsa is cooking and the other half at the end. I continually get requests to make this wonderful salsa, and I really don't feel the need to look anywhere else or try other recipes this one is so good. Thank you!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizz Marr December 30, 2010

I've tried several salsa recipes in the past and this is the best to date. I made it according to the directions, but added a little less sugar as some others suggested. It has good texture (not watery at all) and when the vegetables are hand cut, makes a nice, thick, chunky salsa. Pace has nothing on this stuff! :)

However, in doing some research I found this same recipe on two other sites and both had the notation that if you are pressure canning, use 1/3 cup of vinegar, however, if you are only doing the hot water bath, vinegar needs to be upped to 1 cup for safety reasons. Recipes found on various canning sites also call for much more vinegar in relation to the same amount of tomatoes. I just question the safety of this when just using a hot water bath as opposed to pressure canning. I am going to uncan and refreeze this batch just to be on the safe side.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha August 29, 2010

I've made several batches & varied the peppers & heat depending on what was available from our vegetable garden at the time. It made a unique "hostess" gift, along with a bag of tortilla chips & a couple of nacho recipes. Definitely a keeper!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady February 07, 2003

I had never made salsa before, so I have nothing to compare this with. I really like this recipe!!! I don't think I am going to try any others. I may fine tune it for my family's taste. I did add garlic, cilantro, and some lime. Thanks a bunch for sharing this great recipe!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd December 06, 2002

I made this salsa according to the recipe except I cut back the cumin to 1 teaspoon. My child who doesn't like onions and peppers absolutely loved it. I took it to work and everyone loved it there, too! It's a great tasting medium-hot salsa.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaK September 15, 2002
Wonderful Salsa