Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Salsa

    Average Rating:

    465 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 465

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2001

    • on October 28, 2001

    • on September 17, 2001

    • on September 11, 2001

    • on August 29, 2001

    • on August 15, 2001

    • on August 08, 2001

    • on August 29, 2010

      I've tried several salsa recipes in the past and this is the best to date. I made it according to the directions, but added a little less sugar as some others suggested. It has good texture (not watery at all) and when the vegetables are hand cut, makes a nice, thick, chunky salsa. Pace has nothing on this stuff! :)

      However, in doing some research I found this same recipe on two other sites and both had the notation that if you are pressure canning, use 1/3 cup of vinegar, however, if you are only doing the hot water bath, vinegar needs to be upped to 1 cup for safety reasons. Recipes found on various canning sites also call for much more vinegar in relation to the same amount of tomatoes. I just question the safety of this when just using a hot water bath as opposed to pressure canning. I am going to uncan and refreeze this batch just to be on the safe side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      I altered this recipe quite a bit, but the outcome was absolutely spectacular. I added juice of one lemon, one more cup chopped tomatoes, little more vinegar and salt, almost twice as much cumin, cilantro, and only 5/8 cup jalapenos. I think maybe next time I'll leave out half the tomato sauce or just do away with it and leave the paste because before I added that, it had an overwhelmingly "fresh" taste. It definitely tastes fresh now after adding sauce, but not as chunky and a little less fresh taste. It's "saucy-er" - there is that underlying tomato sauce taste.
      Kudos though for the great and simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      Name says it all. Followed recipe review suggestions (cilantro, exta garlic, cut down on sugar & used Kosher Salt). Did add a LOT of diced cucumbers since I had so many from the garden. Used same recipe to make a "hot" version w/every hot pepper (including seeds) that we planted. Getting wonderful comments/reviews from everyone that got a jar. Canned all following Ball Blue Book instructions for boiling-water canner. Same as I did last 3 yrs. - never had a problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I added cilantro, a peach and a mango to a half batch of this salsa and it was marvelous! I also replaced the jalapenos for some very hot banana peppers i had. Everyone who has tried it, has loved it! Going to make some more soon for go-to gifts but i think i might also add more onion and black beans to up the fiber and protein content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      This was delicious salsa. I used the food processor to save time and so the veggies were all evenly cut. The addition of the tomato sauce and paste made this the best. We loved it. I put mine up in pint jars and I got 8 pints. Thank you for sharing, I'm off to make another batch now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Such a great canning salsa! We made several batches of this recipe. We had a lot of vine ripened tomatoes to be used up. We made the recipe exactly as stated and made one batch with extra jalapenos for a spicy batch. Since our tomatoes were already real ripe, the sugar really didn't need to be added. We noticed that it gave it too much of a sweet taste and hid some of the spiciness. But after the salsa has sat in the cupboard for a couple months the sweetness finally mellowed out and the spice has shined thru! So if you added the sugar and was afraid it made it too sweet, just give it a little while to marinate to together and mellow, it will turn out fine! If you plan on eating it all right away, than you can decide if you want to add the sugar or not if you tomatoes are already sweet. The ratios in this salsa are perfect for a nice mild salsa. Thanks for this great recipe. Im sure when we want to can salsa again we will be coming to this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      One of the best salsa I ever made. I didn't even peel the fresh tomatoes. I have a Kitchen Ninja so I just put the tomatoes in there and hit the power about 10 times. Chopped the onions and peppers in it too. I love cumin in salsa, so this didn't disappoint. The black pepper is the ingredient I wasn't sure about, but it works very well even with the heat of the peppers. I didn't use the green peppers, that was about the only change I made other than only using 1 small can of tomato sauce. Froze 8 little cup containers and have a qt jar in the fridge. This is a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Really amazing salsa. I reduced the sugar from 1/3 to 1/4 of a cup because I don't like my salsa sweet. I added a couple extra jalapeno and one habanero for alot of kick. I added about 1/2 cup of freshly chopped parsley and added 9 cloves of garlic instead of 6 (what can I say I love garlic). I also boiled it a bit longer since my jars will not be vacuum sealed but simply have a plastic lid and put in the fridge (the salsa won't last long enough).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      After all the glowing reviews, I had high expectations of this salsa. Unfortunately, I thought it was bland and not that different from a grocery store jar. Very disappointing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Yum! Best salsa I have made in a while--just reduced sugar as suggested by others.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I made this Salsa yesterday....looked over all of the reviews and made a couple of changes to my taste...It turned out fantastic....Thank goodness I made a double batch 3 of my neighbors have already called asking for the recipie....Thank you all for your input...this is a keeper recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      I felt compelled to review this one. We LOVE salsa. I make fresh all the time and I have a salsa recipe for canning from my grandmother that we all love. I am always looking for another, just in case something else will "blow us away". Well this was NOT it. Heat factor is good (that is totally subjective and an be varied of course by adding more or fewer seeds etc) but it does NOT taste like fresh salsa, not even before processing it. And I do not want to go thru the trouble canning salsa that ends up tasting canned. I think the tomato paste and/or tomato juice is the death of the recipe. I will re-review the recipe in about a week. We'll see if just sitting in the jar for a bit will help. And later month or so maybe even going back and making it w/o the paste and juice and seeing if it helps. Maybe I should stick to what we love Grandma's recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Love, Love, Love this salsa. First all I'm not to sure what canning salt is. However I made this salsa to eat right away and not can for later. Everyone loved this recipe, I actually printed it out for family who was here, as they wanted to make it as well. To add a little extra I put in some cilantro as well. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 96

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 12.5
     

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes