488 Reviews

This will be the second time canning this salsa. My family loves it. This will be the only salsa recipe I use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsh1971 September 12, 2013

Never wrote a review before....., but felt I had to for this one. Made 3 different recipes last year. This is by far the best. Awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David J. September 06, 2013

Delicious! I am so glad I came across this recipe! I made a batch 2 weeks ago and it is all gone, making a double batch tomorrow! I love that it doesn't have cilantro in it, my husband and I are both a part of the population that thinks cilantro tastes like soap - I put some parsley in at the end before canning :) and since we love it spicy I added more hot peppers! Thanks for sharing!<br/><br/><br/>UPDATE 8-19-2013 - that batch didn't last long! Made a double batch this weekend - everyone loves it! Thanks again! UPDATE 9-3-2013 - made the last double batch with more Serrano peppers hoping to slow them down from eating it so fast - it didn't work making another double batch today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy September 03, 2013

This is our first year having a garden and wasn't prepared for the amount of tomatoes we got. So I decided to try canning. This was the first recipe I used for canning salsa and it will be the only one I use! We loved this salsa. Canned 3 jars the first time and making more today becuase the first three are gone already! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymorlan4 September 02, 2013

It was the first time I canned salsa. It was good and I read through lots of reviews and made my own:) I replaced vinegar with apple cider vinegar, i added Chili powder, Garlic powder, red pepper flakes and 1 big red sweet pepper, cut sugar into half, cut tomato paste half. I did not have enough fresh tomatoes and so i replaced 3 cans of organic tomatoes. I did most of the chopping by processor but leave a can of tomatoes as chunky.. you have to try how hot you like by putting more or less jalapeno.. I made 3 quarters and sure will make more into smaller jars:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina L. August 27, 2013

I'm a Salsa LOVER! So, I'm going to post this "INTENT TO MAKE"! before I DO it! :o) Then I'll be back to write my review. I'm excited to try this as my sister and I have a Salsa recipe we always use so this will be fun!! Be back Soon ! :o) Well it's SALSA day, and I'm right in the middle of cooking up a batch. I have to say right off that wow it smells and tastes GREAT!! And I haven't even added ( about to ) the tomato sauce yet. Am excited....Be back with the results...(and I am adding cilantro right at the end too.) :o) OK! It's DONE ! They are canning away. I was able to put up 7 full pints!! And it tastes soooo GOOD! Not as spicy as I'd like, but I'm also chicken when it comes to Jalapenos....next time I'll add more and some seeds to boot!------ But the flavor is definately there!! I LOVE IT! And I will definately make this again..Maybe even tomorrow!! ;o) Thanks J! Best salsa I've had and will pass this on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gigi-Lee August 23, 2013

Excellent! Doubled the recipe, left the skins on, left out the sugar, halved the cumin, added 2 teaspoons of chili powder, 2 tablespoons of cayenne, 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro. So easy and looks great in the jars. Thanks for sharing this terrific keeper, recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 13, 2013

I love this recipe so I need video this recipe plez-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rose butt August 03, 2013

This is the best salsa I've ever eaten, and I have tried every salsa known to man. Im serious. I didn't can the rest, I have a foodsaver so I froze the rest in bags. I ate a quart that night. Haha! Its THAT good. I didn't use canning salt since I didn't can, and instead used some pinches of table salt. I didn't have jalapeno peppers on hand so I used a dash of cayenne pepper. For the tomatoes, I used 4 large cans of the already peeled whole tomatoes. I know fresh would have been even better, but we are stationed in Japan and fresh produce is quite expensive here. Anyways, even with the canned (my hubby had turned up his nose at this idea, saying how it needed to be FRESH) it was AWESOME! It is practically guilt free, too. The sugar is minimal compared to the LARGE amount it makes. If you don't have a foodsaver, you could always put in freezer safe containers or of course if you know how to can, do that. Anyways, best salsa recipe ever. Hands down!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asaunders03 July 22, 2013

My husband and I found this recipe several years ago and have used it ever since. We have been asked for this recipe from friends and family members you use it too. This is the best recipe and all of the reviews were extremely helpful. Do Not add the sugar if you have home grown tomatoes; they are naturally sweet enough. I do not peel the tomatoes and I use regular tomotoes (not roma's). I also use all of the tomato juice, no wasting. I have added a variety of hot peppers not just the jalepenos to give each batch a unique flavor and heat. The cumin is one of the secret ingredients that makes this recipe a hit. Thanks for a wonderful salsa recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanda921 July 12, 2013
Wonderful Salsa