Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Salsa

    Average Rating:

    465 Total Reviews

    Showing 221-240 of 465

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2009

      Great, Great, Great. I used the tomatoes from my garden, home grown tomatoes nice firm tomato making a great thick salsa. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Seriously....WOW! I omitted the sugar and added chili powder instead of cumin. Omitted the green pepper as well (not very fond of them). This is just fantastic! I'm waiting for my jars to sterilize as I write this and I'm not sure the salsa is going to make it to the jars....again...WOW! Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Made 75 jars of this last year. Everytime I give a jar to someone they say that it is THE BEST salsa that they have ever had. We omit the cumin. Update 75 was not enough, we ran out in July!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Turned out great. I only used two jalapeños but i also left in the seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I have canned this salsa every year for the past three years. My family loves it. I have stopped buying salsa from the store because of it. I make about 5 dozen pints of this each year and it gets my family through until the next vegetable harvest the following year. An amazing salsa! Thanks for submitting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      This salsa is AMAZING! My Husband and I are 1st time vegetable gardeners and canners and we love this salsa. It was easy-easy-easy to make and delicious. It will be a staple for many years to come! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This stuff is addicting! I made it exactly like the recipe, adjusting some amounts because I didn't have 8 cups of tomatoes, only 6, and I chopped everything in the food processor, since we like our salsa less chunky. It is the very best! I was able to can 5 pints. I will be making more this weekend, since I've got some more tomatoes ripened. My husband loves it. He was giving me trouble last weekend because I was going to the trouble when I could just buy it. After he tasted it he said - we're never buying salsa again! Thank you so much for posting!! Will be making this for years to come and to give it as gifts (if he will let me)!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      What a wonderful recipe. It has a great kick to it, but not too hot. I used some fresh hot banana peppers from my garden and cut the jalapenos down a bit. My tomatoes are just starting, so I will be making this recipe quite a bit, the only change I will make is cutting down on the sugar a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I made this last year at the end of the season we thought it was excellent flavor but not too spicy even after i used large red chile peppers instead of green peppers and added about 1/4 c of thai and medusa peppers we like things hot and cut the sugar back to 1/8 cup. Well at Christmas time my mother in-law had some Nachos and salsa out and everybody wanted to know what brand the salsa was she told them it was mine we just could not get over the flavor and the heat had gotten alittle stronger without killing the flavor of the salsa thank=you for this recipe I am just getting ready to can a coulpe of batches and noticed I didn't rate this it is worth much more than5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I have been making this salsa since 2004. Each year I've had to double or triple the number of batches we make. It is the best salsa I've had and my family of 6 will down a quart of it in one evening. We can 48 quarts of this each August It is so good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Awesome! We just completed our second batch of this salsa and it is great! My husband likes HOT salsa, so we doubled the jalapeno peppers, but it still had wonderful flavor. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Wow! What a wonderful recipe! This was my first attempt at canning and I have made this salsa four times - I can't keep it on the shelf long enough at home. Off to the farmer's market for more ingredients...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This is soooo good! It made 8 pints. i may make more for Christmas gifts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This is a great salsa recipe! We only used 1 T. sugar and added a handful of cilantro. We chopped the tomatoes by hand and put the garlic, onion and peppers in the food processor. We like this salsa better than our favorite authentic Mexican restaurant!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      No wonder this recipe has so many glowing reviews, it is sooo good. I had been craving chips and salsa for a few days now (no, I'm not pregnant) and came here looking for the perfect recipe. Oh my, this is so much better than the salsa you buy at the grocery store. I don't like my salsa chunky, so I put the tomatoes, peppers and onions in my food processor and chopped them up fine. It was perfect. Oh, since I don't know how to can, I only made 1/3 of the amount. It still made about a quart of salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Not that this recipe needs another positive review! I did want to say thanks, though. I do not like tomatoes, but I love salsa. When my husband insisted on planting 10 tomato plants in our garden, I had no idea what I was going to do with them all. Thank goodness I found this recipe! It is amazing, and I have plenty of tomatoes to make 3 or more batches . . . I hope to have salsa all winter long. If not, I'll probably buy tomatoes at the store to make more instead of buying a jar of salsa. The only change I made was to add about half the sugar after reading some of the other reviews. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      I love it!! I made it and everyone who has tried it, loves it! I might back off the sugar just a little bit and use less jalepenos next time as it is a medium hot recipe and a little warm for my kids. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Great recipe. Was a hit with the family. Just what I was looking for to use up my garden tomatoes. I use the juice from the strained tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. I pour off the top part, freeze for soups etc. and use the bottom thicker juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      If you BWB can this salsa, these are the current directions for salsa making from the NCHFP: Wear plastic or rubber gloves and do not touch your face while handling or cutting hot peppers. If you do not wear gloves, wash hands thoroughly with soap and water before touching your face or eyes. Peel and prepare chili peppers. Wash tomatoes and dip in boiling water for 30 to 60 seconds or until skins split. Dip in cold water, slip off skins, and remove cores. Coarsely chop tomatoes and combine chopped peppers, onions, and remaining ingredients in a large saucepan. Heat to boil, and simmer 10 minutes. Fill hot, sterilized jars; wipe rims and place lids. Screw on bands finger tight. Process pint jars in boiling water bath for 15 minutes up to 1000 feet elevation; 20 minutes at 1001 - 6000 feet elevation; 25 minutes at higher elevations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      My favorite salsa has always been Pace. Let me tell you, Pace doesnt hold a candle to this one. We used tomatoes that we grew in our garden and followed the recipe to the letter. This is the best salsa out there. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe and a great reason to keep growing tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 96

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 12.5
     

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes