487 Reviews

I made my 2nd. batch yesterday. The title as absolutely correct. I did not use cumin because of a personal preference, but added additional jalapeno peppers. I will definitely make more to last thru the winter. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimB427 July 27, 2003

Fantastic Salsa recipe! When tested on my husband, who isn't crazy about salsa, he gave it a Thumbs Up and wanted more ...Hey Mikey, He Likes It!! The recipe made 6 pints for me so it looks like I'll be making more. This one's a keeper and will go into my Christmas gift baskets. Thanks for sharing this "Wonderful" Salsa recipe. It really is!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webcat May 28, 2003

This is the best of all the salsa recities out there, and I have tried almost all of them. I get requests for this recipe all the time, and at parties, everyone asks that I bring my salsa. The great thing about this recipe is that you can make it as hot or as mild as you like, just adjust the amount of cumin. An awsome recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juketbean April 08, 2003

Awesome salsa. I have been making salsa for years and this is fantastic. The tomato paste helps it stay nice and thick. Next time I make it I will cut back on the jalapenos. I have 4 different kinds of hot peppers in the garden and I only had the haberno variety left. It made it fire alarm hot but still tasty. My oldest son likes it fiery so he is in 7th heaven. I am making another batch soon with less of the hot pepper. Many thanks Dorene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario October 14, 2002

I tried this recipe last year, after the 1st batch I made 3 more. My famiy "loves" this salsa. This year my husband helped me and we have made 3 double batches (20 quarts)!!! My sister recently asked me for the recipe. All her family members have given it great reviews! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl B September 24, 2002

I'm not much of a salsa fan, but that's probably because I never tasted anything as good as this recipe. Like others, I also backed off on the sugar on my second batch. Now, I can't get enough of this salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hooyah January 25, 2016

Quite simply, the best salsa I have ever had the pleasure to taste. First time I have made this recipe and know that this recipe will become a classic for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hud48 September 18, 2015

This is a very yummy Salsa!!! I had lots of store bought tomatoes at home and I got some garden tomatoes from a friend..so I thought what better way then to use it like this. I only had about 5 cups of tomatoes so I used: 2 cups of onions 1 1/2 cups of green onions 1 tablespoon of jalapenios (just for the taste and I did not want it spicy) 3 cloves of garlic 1 teaspoon cumin 1 teaspoon pepper less then 1/8 cup canning salt NO sugar less then 1/3 cup vinegar 1 can of tomato sauce Almost a whole can of tomato paste It turned out really really good!!! Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simsingermany September 18, 2015

I signed up just to write a review. I am a good gardener, and every few years I try to bottle salsa. Every few years, I swear I won't do it again. All of the recipes taste too vinegary to me. Well, this one hit the mark. I added half of the cumin because we're not fans and 2 cups more tomato because I had them. This is a recipe that tastes like salsa and not vinegar. Thankyou.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimluvsdarin September 17, 2015

This is by far the best recipe I have made for salsa!!!! My family loves it, It has a little zest at first but after a few days it is a medium salsa!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babswily82 September 16, 2015
Wonderful Salsa