465 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome salsa. I have been making salsa for years and this is fantastic. The tomato paste helps it stay nice and thick. Next time I make it I will cut back on the jalapenos. I have 4 different kinds of hot peppers in the garden and I only had the haberno variety left. It made it fire alarm hot but still tasty. My oldest son likes it fiery so he is in 7th heaven. I am making another batch soon with less of the hot pepper. Many thanks Dorene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario October 14, 2002

I tried this recipe last year, after the 1st batch I made 3 more. My famiy "loves" this salsa. This year my husband helped me and we have made 3 double batches (20 quarts)!!! My sister recently asked me for the recipe. All her family members have given it great reviews! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl B September 24, 2002

WOW this salsa is great, it is now on my recommendation list. I am not a good cook, but WOW I did it. husband loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole S. October 30, 2014

I had a lot of tomatoes and jalapeños to put up and wanted to can some salsa since we go through so much of it. This recipe looked very promising but we just didn't care for it. We didn't like the bell peppers and the cumin was way too much. It totally overpowered all of the other flavors. The salsa basically just tasted like cumin. The next batch I did I omitted the bell pepper and used a cup of cilantro leaves instead, fairly packed. I cut the cumin in half and used lime juice instead of the vinegar. The end result was still a teensy bit cumin-y but a huge improvement over the first batch and the closest to our favorite restaurant salsa that I've ever made. We went through two jars of it in three days. My next batch, which I'll do today, will have only 3/4 teaspoon of cumin and then I think I'll have nailed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KentuckyJBird September 07, 2014

This turned out very good although I think next time I'll increase the jalapenos even more. I used a generous cup of chopped jalapenos (plus about half the removed seeds) and while the salsa tasted plenty spicy (medium/hot) after cooking, it mellowed out quite a bit after canning to more of a mild (my 2 year old was eating it). Next time I'll probably throw in an extra 2-3 jalapenos plus more seeds and I think it'll be perfect. Oh I also added the juice of 3 limes and omitted the sugar as my tomatoes were plenty sweet. Very easy to make! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo September 04, 2014

Excellent recipe! Used 4 sweet chilli heat peppers instead of jalepino and added 2cups frozen corn and a big can of black beans..yummmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crissygirl40 September 02, 2014

this is the best salsa recipe i have ever found easy to make and it's very good thank you for sharing this recipe i just got through canning 4 quarts definitely a 5 star

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
john67ss August 24, 2014

Wow! I will never buy commercial salsa again! I used fresh cherry and roma tomatoes, jalapenos, and bell peppers from my garden. The flavor is amazing. This is great with black beans and corn added (although I'm not sure it's safe to can with them). I only add about half the cumin, and I never peel the tomatoes. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover August 20, 2014

My family says this is the best salsa ever. I don't usually like salsa and I loved this one. I tweaked the ingredients to better suit their tastes but overall followed the recipe - just changed the amounts and used Roma tomatoes. After tasting the first batch, my husband asked me to make more while our tomatoes are plentiful. I've already made a 2nd batch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamlook August 19, 2014
Wonderful Salsa