Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Salsa

    Average Rating:

    465 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 465

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2001

      This is the best. I've made two batches and used Cherry Tomatoes from my garden. For the second batch, I added one extra teaspoon of Cumin and a little more hot peppers to make it hotter, more like a Medium hot. I also froze the salsa instead of canning it and used the Gladware containers. I had read a warning from the Cooperative Extension not to can salsa because the vegetables in it make it unsafe to can. I will make this salsa for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2001

      This is an exceptional recipe for a canned salsa. My only change was to lessen the sugar. If your tomatoes are fairly sweet (home-grown, off the vine) you really don't need sugar. My family isn't in to HOT, but we didn't find this recipe hot at all - even when made exactly as given. Very mild, but with a little zip. ADDED NOTE: After I drained all the juices off the vegetables, I canned that separately as vegetable broth for soups later. it had a nice "zippy" flavor that will enhance winter soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2001

      This is an excellent recipe but our tastes are for a slightly hotter salsa. To the basic recipe I added 1 to 3 hot peppers (habeneros or chili peppers) increased the cumin 1/2 to 1 teaspoon and added cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I am a food scientist so I took some salsa to work and tested the pH. The pH is around 3.93 meaning that it is indeed safe to can in a water bath. As long as the pH is below 4.6, it can be canned safely in a water bath. Also, I made another batch last night and cut the salt in half and I think it is much more balanced now! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2001

      I have been looking for a salsa that not only had a good consistancy, but also kept its flavor after being canned. This recipe is it! It truly is Wonderful Salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2001

      I've tried alot of salsa recipes over the years and have always searched for just the right one. Well I have finaly found it!!! This recipe for wonderful salsa is the best!!! I also add 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro right at the end of cooking. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2001

      I have been looking for a salsa recipe to can and tried this one. I was a little skeptical with the tomato sauce and paste but it is great!! Canned beautifully and I won a blue ribbon at the Deerfield Fair with it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2002

      This salsa tasted better than most found on supermarket shelves. I added some hot red chillies to give it an extra kick - deeelicious! Everybody loves it, including people who told me they are not big fans of homemade salsa. This one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2001

      awesome! take seeds out of jalapenos to make it milder, leave them in to make it hotter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

      This recipes had so many great reviews and I wanted to try to make salsa for the first time,I couldn't have picked a better one. Was easy to make and tastes great. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2001

      We loved this recipe. My husband and daughter ate 1 quart the first day. We added 1/4 cup of cilantro to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2001

      It really is wonderful. I found that you can omit the sugar if you use Vidalia onions. It is plenty sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2001

      I likewise have tried several other recipes for salsa and this is definitely the best one. I made my first batch exactly as the recipe stated and then made just a few changes to the next batch, cutting back on the sugar and using only the small can of tomato paste and it turned out wonderful. I have several family and friends who love salsa and am planning on giving it as Christmas gifts this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2001

      We can salsa each year and usually use the same recipe each year. This year we were looking to try something a little different and were very pleased with this recipe. It has great flavor! The cumin adds some zest to it. Thanks for sharing it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      I thought maybe with a whole cup of Jalapeno peppers it might be too hot for us, so I cut it down to just 2 finely chopped jalapenos and it is absolutely awesome! Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2001

      I've never canned salsa before and this turned out great. I cut back on the jalepano peppers and just love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2001

      My whole family loved this recipe! I didn't have fresh jalapeno's on hand so I used canned and cut it down to 1/4 cup on a couple batches for the kids it was still a touch spicy like a good mild salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2001

      Truly wonderful! Easy, great taste, and makes a large quantity although the salsa does disappear quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2001

      Easy to make and tasted great. Took it to a large family gathering for a camping weekend and it was a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I Made this Salsa for the first Yesterday, It is a GREAT recipe,easy to make. taste great. I only used 2 Jalapeno Peppers,also 1/4 cup cilantro. I will be making lots of it as our tomatoes are just comung on & our grand children all love salsa.Will make their's HOTTER they all love HOT Salsa.I have canned salsa before , but , not as good as this. Thanks for GREAT the recipe. UPDATE: I have made this salsa recipe for several years now. Everyone loves it. Makes great gifts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 24

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 96

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 12.5
     

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes