466 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best. I've made two batches and used Cherry Tomatoes from my garden. For the second batch, I added one extra teaspoon of Cumin and a little more hot peppers to make it hotter, more like a Medium hot. I also froze the salsa instead of canning it and used the Gladware containers. I had read a warning from the Cooperative Extension not to can salsa because the vegetables in it make it unsafe to can. I will make this salsa for years to come.

126 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie Dixon October 03, 2001

This is an exceptional recipe for a canned salsa. My only change was to lessen the sugar. If your tomatoes are fairly sweet (home-grown, off the vine) you really don't need sugar. My family isn't in to HOT, but we didn't find this recipe hot at all - even when made exactly as given. Very mild, but with a little zip. ADDED NOTE: After I drained all the juices off the vegetables, I canned that separately as vegetable broth for soups later. it had a nice "zippy" flavor that will enhance winter soups.

108 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allie September 27, 2001

This is an excellent recipe but our tastes are for a slightly hotter salsa. To the basic recipe I added 1 to 3 hot peppers (habeneros or chili peppers) increased the cumin 1/2 to 1 teaspoon and added cilantro.

57 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne Schweller October 02, 2001

I am a food scientist so I took some salsa to work and tested the pH. The pH is around 3.93 meaning that it is indeed safe to can in a water bath. As long as the pH is below 4.6, it can be canned safely in a water bath. Also, I made another batch last night and cut the salt in half and I think it is much more balanced now! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hungry Scientist August 05, 2010

I have been looking for a salsa that not only had a good consistancy, but also kept its flavor after being canned. This recipe is it! It truly is Wonderful Salsa!

43 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NW September 18, 2001

I've tried alot of salsa recipes over the years and have always searched for just the right one. Well I have finaly found it!!! This recipe for wonderful salsa is the best!!! I also add 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro right at the end of cooking. Thanks for the great recipe!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristie August 23, 2001

I have been looking for a salsa recipe to can and tried this one. I was a little skeptical with the tomato sauce and paste but it is great!! Canned beautifully and I won a blue ribbon at the Deerfield Fair with it. Thanks!!

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne Wilbur November 01, 2001

This salsa tasted better than most found on supermarket shelves. I added some hot red chillies to give it an extra kick - deeelicious! Everybody loves it, including people who told me they are not big fans of homemade salsa. This one's a keeper.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Taylor January 04, 2002

awesome! take seeds out of jalapenos to make it milder, leave them in to make it hotter.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t November 14, 2001

This recipes had so many great reviews and I wanted to try to make salsa for the first time,I couldn't have picked a better one. Was easy to make and tastes great. Thank you for the recipe.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen Brody October 15, 2001
Wonderful Salsa