53 Reviews

Hi Merlot!! As you know I fixed your prime rib and it didn't work. Well the reason it didn't work I didn't "do" it right--lol Had the butcher cut me a 5 lb roast,used the whole 3 lb box of kosher salt.I did have a bit of trouble keeping the salt on the sides of the roast.Anyway it came out perfect.The salt looked like a mold when I cracked it off the roast--cool :0) I will never make my prime rib any other way. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe:0)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 920429 April 15, 2003

Perfect Prime Rib! This method produced a tender and juicy piece of meat. I will never do prime rib any other way. I agree with Laurita, its like packing snow on a piece of meat. What a riot!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda R April 06, 2003

I want to report that this works wonderfully with other cuts of beef besides prime rib. I had a piece of eye round, just short of four pounds, and gave this a try. It was far and away the BEST beef I have ever roasted! This is a fun and effective cooking method and really gives such great flavor and tenderness and juiciness to the meat. Great recipe, Merlot!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie February 18, 2003

Made this twice now and its a wonderful way to do a roast. The second time I added rosemary, garlic and freshly ground pepper. Also had a smaller size roast and there for used less salt. This is fun to prepare and to serve. Thanks for posting this Merlot!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us February 09, 2003

Just had to try this method of cooking prime rib. Never made a salt slurry before and I may have added to much water because it kept sliding off the roast. Got it together and the roast was great. Served it with yorkshire pudding and caesar salad. Dinner guests raved. Next time I may season the roast with some garlic and black pepper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine January 12, 2003

I had never made anything similar to this prior to coming across this recipe. This was by far the easiest dish I've ever made for company. I chose an 8lb roast, prepared the salt covering, stuck a thermometer in it and cooked it until it reached 160 degrees, which was a little over 2 hours. Everyone loved it, the meat was tender and juicy, and the roast was swollen with all of the juice trapped inside due to the salt crust. This recipe is definitely worth trying.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aalia January 06, 2003

This is a great recipe. The salt was a bit frustrating at first to get packed on w/out an avalanche occurring, but I managed. It is no hassel after that. Just set in oven and Fahgetaboutit! I will add garlic slivers next time for added flavor. The roast was so tender, I will definately make this again. I let my roast sit out for 3 hours to come up to room temp. before putting in oven... I know the health dept. would go crazy over this, but we survived!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe December 28, 2002

Like everyone says, sounded kind of wierd, but why not try it? While in Spain, they used to do a very similar thing to whole fish. They would be covered with a very hardcoat of salt (like this), they bring it to the table and break it off. You would think that you would choke from the salt taste. That's what's so neat, it doesn't have one. I have never prepared prime rib at home, and this is a pretty easy way to do it. I have the problem of husband preferring medium, I like rare. So, I pulled it out at about 135, apparently, it continues to cook while it sits. It came out a perfect medium rare, so tender and tasty. Nice compromise. I may add some spices (maybe a Jamaican Jerk blend)around the fat edges before covering it with salt the next time, just for kicks. Putting the salt on is kind of like packing snow on, kind of wierd, but it works and speeds up the cooking time without sacrificing tenderness. I made the horseradish sauce from Miss Annie's recipe and an au jus. This was better than any restaurant prime rib!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita December 21, 2002

This was excellent. The Prime Rib was tender and juicy and had a wonderful taste. It was very easy to prepare. It got rave reviews at my dinner party.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Balmer November 11, 2002

This is by far the best Prime Rib recipe I have found, I'll ber honest the salt threw me for a little, but it has no ill effects on the taste. This one is a keeper for life..

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson November 04, 2002
Wonderful Roasted Prime Rib