Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Parmesan Zucchini Strips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Parmesan Zucchini Strips

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2011

      I just read the first review from VA who only gave 4 stars because it was "a little bland". The first ingredient listed says "seasoned breadcrumbs". You used panko crumbs. While they give a much crispier crust, THEY are bland. Not the recipe. They need more than the pepper which you added. If you followed the recipe as written, you might have given 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      WOW! These were incredible! I used 2 egg whites instead of a whole egg to lower the fat & calories. I used Italian bread crumbs like Bergy & added garlic powder & fresh ground pepper like Wax Lion. We like things spicy in Texas, so I also added crushed red pepper to give it a kick and I had some fresh rosemary from the garden that I crumbled into the breading. Instead of "grated" parmesan I used a combination of shredded parmesan, asiago & romano (you can get a container in the cheese or deli section at the grocery store). Since it was shredded it didn't stick as well, but I pressed it on & the cheese got nice and crispy. Thanks for a great recipe KC!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Yum! I sprinkled the sliced zucchini with coarse salt to help draw out some of the moisture (let it sit for 2 hours on counter and patted dry with paper towel.) Then I coated the zucchini and placed them on a cooling rack and then put in the fridge for 20 minutes (to help the coating 'set.') Baked as per directions and sprinkled with a little salt and grated Asiago cheese. Served with Hidden Valley Ranch dip with some dill seasoning added. Will be making again and have forwarded this recipe to friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I used flavored panko crumbs to which I added fresh ground black pepper. I double-dipped the strips - egg, breadcrumb mixture, egg breadcrumb mixture - and placed them on a parchment lined baking sheet. These took 25 minutes in a 400 degree overn and came out crunchy on the outside, tender on the inside. Good but a little bland. I will probably add some garlic powder next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Outstanding! I love this recipe. I used a mixture of seasoned regular breadcrumbs and seasoned panko breadcrumbs. These were crispy and delicious. My zucchini were a little large, so I did cut some of the seeds out to make sure my zucchini strips didn't get soggy. This is a no-fail recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Wonderful is an understatement! These were awesome, amazing, delicious x100! I used regular breadcrumbs, and added italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a little garlic salt, per other reviews. I also used only an egg white. We dipped these in marinara sauce. Thank you so much for the wonderful side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I served these as an appetizer with ranch dressing to dip them in. I cut each piece crosswise so that it would be easier to eat as a finger food. I also sprinked additional parmesan cheese over the top when they came out of the oven. These are so good it's hard to stop eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      This is similar to the recipe I use. I feel it needs a little seasoning so I always add 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. It gives it a kick and a little color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      This is great recipe. I loved it. We tried it as circles and lengthwise and it was definately better lengthwise. It retained some of the veggie flavor and didn't have to much breading. I would be careful with salt. Can be too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      In SE Michigan, we have a wonderful Italian restaurant which serves these as an appetizer but the sauce is a lemon/garlic aioli. YUMMMMMM!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Love this recipe, I add some hot sauce the the egg to give it alittle kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Excellent strips. I used seasoned bread crumbs with the parmesan cheese. I served them as an appetizer with marinara sauce on the side for dipping. My 3-year old dipped and coated the strips for me. My bigger kids enjoyed the strips as well -healthier alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I thought these were great! I added a bit of ranch dressing to the egg for some zing. I used cornflake crumbs because they are drier and much crunchy and seasoned them with salt and ground pepper. They came out nice and brown and crunchy and fantastic! A big hit at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Very nice, thank you for posting! I used egg whites, not a whole egg, to dip the zucchini strips in. After coating with the seasoned bread crumbs, I sprinkled them with garlic salt. I didn't get them quite as crispy as I might like (don't know why I never seem to manage that!) but they were still very good. This will replace my usual pan frying method of cooking zucchini--in butter and garlic and then serving with freshly grated Parmesan cheese--as I feel this recipe is a healthier version!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Like other reviewers I found this a little bland as well. I was out of bread crumbs so I crushed up some Ritz crackers and seasoned them with Italian Seasoning. Next time I think I will add some seasoning to the zucchini before breading them. My DH who is vegetarian, loved them after a sprinkling of salt and ate them as his main dish. Great use for all the zucchini from the garden!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Loved this!!! Will make again. Super easy. I used 1 large zucchini and cut it into large french fry sizes. Marie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      These were really yummy. I'm so happy to have this recipe. I would have liked for the breadcrumbs to adhere a little better -- I like the extra crunch. On the last couple pieces, I did "double dip" them in the egg and breadcrumb mixture -- and they were a little heavier coated that the others. I also added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the breadcrumb mixture as some of the others did. I would recommend that to anyone who wants to try this recipe. It's a nice, nice way to serve zucchini.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2014

      Excellent! I seasoned my homemade breadcrumbs with lemon pepper & Italian seasoning (what I always do for Eggplant Parm) and did add 2-3 drops of hot sauce to the egg. I'd preferred them diped in marinara vs. ranch, but I tried both. Just made them for the 2nd time in 2 weeks to take to a party because they were so tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      WOW! A great way to make zucchini or summer squash! I tried this recipe using summer squash and it was delicious. I will make it again using the zucchini. Thanks for a great recipe, Dine & Dish. I will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      These were delicious. I have a hard time getting my son who is 2 to eat any vegetable. I couldn't stop him from eating these. He even ate a few of mine. I used panko crumbs and added garlic salt, cajun seasoning, plus onion salt and the parmesan cheese. Mine came out nice and crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Parmesan Zucchini Strips

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.1
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    34%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 52.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 298.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites