62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just read the first review from VA who only gave 4 stars because it was "a little bland". The first ingredient listed says "seasoned breadcrumbs". You used panko crumbs. While they give a much crispier crust, THEY are bland. Not the recipe. They need more than the pepper which you added. If you followed the recipe as written, you might have given 5 stars.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee July 26, 2011

WOW! These were incredible! I used 2 egg whites instead of a whole egg to lower the fat & calories. I used Italian bread crumbs like Bergy & added garlic powder & fresh ground pepper like Wax Lion. We like things spicy in Texas, so I also added crushed red pepper to give it a kick and I had some fresh rosemary from the garden that I crumbled into the breading. Instead of "grated" parmesan I used a combination of shredded parmesan, asiago & romano (you can get a container in the cheese or deli section at the grocery store). Since it was shredded it didn't stick as well, but I pressed it on & the cheese got nice and crispy. Thanks for a great recipe KC!!!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha Ann May 29, 2009

Yum! I sprinkled the sliced zucchini with coarse salt to help draw out some of the moisture (let it sit for 2 hours on counter and patted dry with paper towel.) Then I coated the zucchini and placed them on a cooling rack and then put in the fridge for 20 minutes (to help the coating 'set.') Baked as per directions and sprinkled with a little salt and grated Asiago cheese. Served with Hidden Valley Ranch dip with some dill seasoning added. Will be making again and have forwarded this recipe to friends!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mahgib August 27, 2011

I used flavored panko crumbs to which I added fresh ground black pepper. I double-dipped the strips - egg, breadcrumb mixture, egg breadcrumb mixture - and placed them on a parchment lined baking sheet. These took 25 minutes in a 400 degree overn and came out crunchy on the outside, tender on the inside. Good but a little bland. I will probably add some garlic powder next time.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA July 16, 2011

Outstanding! I love this recipe. I used a mixture of seasoned regular breadcrumbs and seasoned panko breadcrumbs. These were crispy and delicious. My zucchini were a little large, so I did cut some of the seeds out to make sure my zucchini strips didn't get soggy. This is a no-fail recipe. Thanks for posting!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Heather July 31, 2011

Wonderful is an understatement! These were awesome, amazing, delicious x100! I used regular breadcrumbs, and added italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a little garlic salt, per other reviews. I also used only an egg white. We dipped these in marinara sauce. Thank you so much for the wonderful side dish!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear May 07, 2007

I served these as an appetizer with ranch dressing to dip them in. I cut each piece crosswise so that it would be easier to eat as a finger food. I also sprinked additional parmesan cheese over the top when they came out of the oven. These are so good it's hard to stop eating them.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue January 18, 2009

This is great recipe. I loved it. We tried it as circles and lengthwise and it was definately better lengthwise. It retained some of the veggie flavor and didn't have to much breading. I would be careful with salt. Can be too salty.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Id-do-the-cookin January 13, 2008

This is similar to the recipe I use. I feel it needs a little seasoning so I always add 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. It gives it a kick and a little color.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha in Ut August 16, 2011

In SE Michigan, we have a wonderful Italian restaurant which serves these as an appetizer but the sauce is a lemon/garlic aioli. YUMMMMMM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenifer0424 May 27, 2014
Wonderful Parmesan Zucchini Strips