Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Homemade Kaiser Rolls! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Homemade Kaiser Rolls!

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2008

      Yeah baby! This recipe was easy and I messed it up a bit too but everything came out TERRIIFIC! ITS FOOL PROOF... omg.. sooo tasty and delicious!! Amaze yourself. Make this recipe and you will amaze YOURSELF with your mad baking skills! My only gripe is the shape of the rolls I made came out REDICULOUS. Just awful looking things those. So here is a technique I am going to try next Sunday when I make them again! http://www.kingarthurflour.com/blog/2008/02/28/all-tied-up-shaping-kaiser-rolls/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      These were really, really good. I prepared this recipe "as is", letting the dough rise twice. Then I punched down I divided the dough into 4 parts, freezing 3 of them and baking 4 rolls with the last part. The dough freezes well. When I want to bake a batch, I thaw the dough overnight in the frig and complete the baking process the next morning. Quick, easy, and wonderful rolls in just over an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I made these as per directions. Everything was fine until I got to the folding part. All I ended up with was the same as chef 492487, squares! I couldn't make that roll look like a circle. After I'd put most of them on the baking sheets, I went to King Arthur.com and looked up Kaiser Rolls. The last 4 rolls some how looked fairly good. I baked them for 12 minutes, and they were a little golden in color, but some were burnt on the bottoms. As far as taste, the flavor was excellent. I put the ice cubes in a pie pan, and the tops came out chewy.The bottoms were, except for the burnt ones, nice and crisp. I will try these again, and use a different folding technique. The K.A. site shows the folding as, rolling the dough for each roll into a "rope" about 14 inches long. Then, tie a loose granny knot, then bringing the two long pieces up and over the circle that was made first by making the knot. This is basically a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Totally Terrific! I followed the recipe exactly and I wasn't disappointed. I had to eat one immediately with butter because they looked SO irresistible! I did freeze half the dough though since I didn't need 16 of these all at once and can't wait to see how that works out. I put sesame seeds and poppy seeds on mine and I will be using these tonight for my pulled pork that's simmering in the crock pot right now. Mmmm, I can't wait! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It comes highly recommended by DH and myself. Both of us are, were missing the wonderful rolls we could get around Philadelphia. If you are from the area, you will know what I mean. Wonderful rolls, crusty on the outside and soft on the inside, used for hoagies, meatballs, steak sandwiches and just plain old cold cuts. I made them yesterday for a brats dinner tonight . I changed only the shape and turned out 12, hoagie, sub style rolls and dusted with cornmeal instead of the seeds. I am going to make again tomorrow in your recommend style, to have for burgers. BTW, DH and I could not wait and sampled them with just some butter right out of the oven, delicious and just what we were craving. Thank you again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Yum-o! WOW! I made several mistakes. I was almost done kneading the dough and realized that I had only used 1 cup of water. So I put the dough back in the bowl with the rest of the water and natually had to add more flour. After hearing about all the problems making the shape, I just made nice round balls out of them and they looked great like that. I am a regular bread maker and the texture on these rolls is fantastic. The nice caramel crunchiness on the bottom added to the light consistency of the inside is so incredible. This recipe seems to be absolutely fool proof even when you mess it up like I did. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Amazing! All 18 were gone within 2 days, and I have requests for more! My oven runs hot, so I had to do 400 degrees and bake for 10 minutes...in case anyone else's oven runs hot like mine. And not to nitpick, but the person who used a glass pan for the ice in their oven...no duh it shattered; it's the same reason why you never put a hot coffeepot into a snkful of cold water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I made these today and they were fabulous. I even made a mistake or 2 it they were still good. I added the yeast as a powder and also added twice as much sugar by mistake as I made half a batch. Also I did not glaze them but let them rise in pan of poppy seeds. I also added ice cubes twice. This is one of my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      this was terrible. you never said to use a metal pan in the bottom. so i used a glass one and when i went to put the ice cubes in. IT SHATTERED!!!!!! be more SPECIFIC!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Just made my first batch... of anything ever... I baked these just as the instructions said. I gotta say, I can't believe i just baked myself some homemade kaisers. Once you understand the initial basics, then you can change the size and style of these guys. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I noticed people had a hard time knowing how to fold these. So, I looked up for pictures on what the kaiser roll looks like and found a wonderful picture. Mine turned out pretty much like the picture. I was very pleased. I ended up folding mine with 5 folds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      Oh, these are so good. I just took them out of the oven 5 minutes ago, and couldn't wait until dinner. They all ended up squarish, exect one, and i don't know what I did different with that one. I think they should be folded in on the points, not the sides, that could be what I did wrong. But they taste PERFECT! Thanks so much ChipotleChick. No more crappy grocery store Kaisers for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      Sahara was right, getting the folding right is difficult. I also had the 'new' experience of rolling dough on an oiled surface. I did make some Kaiser's using a floured surface and they came out okay too. They taste really, really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      Mine all looked like hats but everyone gobbled them up....they really are wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      The description says 16 rolls but the recipe says 18 - I used the 16. I also melted the shortning before adding. The folding takes some practice. They tasted good but looked pretty funny !! I will make these again and hopefully fold them better. I will also use more ice cubes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Homemade Kaiser Rolls!

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.9
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    10%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 307.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites