Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2007

      I made this awesome and easy-to-make soup for the first time today (in 2006), and doubled it to feed a crowd for lunch. It worked beautifully, although I probably didn't need to double the rum (hic). I also added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of curry paste, just because I felt like it. For the next batch, I'll follow your recipe to the letter. I owe every chef that courtesy. By the way, I used chicken stock and Patak's Balti (medium heat) Curry Paste, which is widely available in Australia and happened to be in my cupboard today. Update: I have made this soup several times since my first posting and have never again added the extra curry paste. Recently, some people have found the recipe too hot for their taste...you know when they say so or when they really politely decline seconds. But everyone agrees the sour cream is essential. Tigerduck, thanks for this amazing creation, and to the friends who encouraged you enter this 'humble' soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      Delicious! Absolutely yummy, and very easy to make. I'm editing my comments to add that I've probably made this soup half a dozen times for people in a few weeks! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This soup was fabulous! I added carrots just to sneak in a little extra veggie, and I may have put in a little more rum than called for... oooops! :0)>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      I couldn't find the paste you mentioned and the one I used was HOT. But I must admit to eating two bowls of the soup back to back. I added some cream at the end to offset the heat. I really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      This is definitely a winner of a recipe! The flavor is wonderful, spicy countered by the natural sweetness in the sweet potatoes. I used Curry Powder Femmes' Revenge Caribbean Curry Mix and made into a paste as I am unable to find the recommended brand. I also liked how easy this was to make. It is definitely going into my favorite soup cookbook and I will be making this often. Thank you for sharing your creation & congratulations on winning RSC #8. It was well deserved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      What a fabulous soup! I used Pataks Korma paste and didn't have any white rum so used Malibu and I figured it would go with the paste which has coconut in it too! However, the second time I made I forgot to add the rum at the end and it was still just as delicious as the first time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      Just made this because I have been looking for a sweet potato soup recipe like the one from a nearby restaurant. This one was completely different and still delicious. I didn't add the rum but may do that with the leftovers I froze. I added sides of chopped red pepper and red onion (which I used in the recipe). I couldn't believe how creamy it was, without cream! I thought that it might be called "Red Pepper Soup" because it tasted more like red pepper than sweet potato probably due to the curry. That may help get "buy-in" from fans of red peppers who aren't fans of sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

    • on March 26, 2006

      I find it hard not to like soup, and this one is spectacular. Used Patak's "Mild" curry paste and that worked just fine for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I loved this easy to make recipe, my husband found it too spicy the rum really was the defining difference and I served it with the sour cream in a dollop and paprika sprinkled made a nice presentation

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This was a diffrent soup. I dont usually make sweet potatoes but my kids really like them. I didnt add much curry paste cause the kids dont do hot that well and I wasn't sure how mild the mild would actually be! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Exactly Chef! This is wonderful, indeed. Your use of fresh ingredients was the inducement to prepare this very simple and nutritious soup. I appreciate your no muss, no fuss style... appeals to the busy working family... (here are the ingredients, put them together, serve it up)...Bravo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This was pretty good soup...easy to make and pretty flavorful. Do be careful of the type of chili paste you buy, as some have more heat than others. And I do recommend the rum if you have it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This is great. I enjoyed it with very little sour cream and my DH loaded it on. Healthy, Quick,Easy, Flavorful and most of all comorting! I did use Patiks mild curry paste and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      I made this last night. I really loved it, the flavor was just sweet enough and nothing was too strong or overpowering for me, i used 2 T dark rum. The texture was also very velvetey. It was really comforting on a rainy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Very nice soup indeed - hot and spicy. The addition of the sour cream at the end really 'rounds' out the flaovurs and brings everything together. I agree that the rum is a nice addition. I also gave a squeeze of citrus (lemon) at the table, as DH and I were eating and enjoying this. I have a feeling this soup will also be lovely served chilled, in summer, with the sour cream blended directly in. Good luck, chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I love sweet potatoes and red peppers, so this recipe really appealed to me. I used homemade chicken stock. This soup is superbly flavoursome: everyone loved it and said that they'd like it again whenever I care to make it, so I can certainly see why your friends loved it! I made mine with quite a bit less curry paste and slightly less ginger and I increased the garlic to 4 cloves (personal taste preferences) but otherwise made this exactly to the recipe. The rum certainly added a wonderful dimension. Thank you for this wonderful creation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      I agree--this is a wonderful soup! I did use Carribbean curry mix to make the paste (Femmes' Revenge Caribbean Curry Mix) and homemade chicken stock. I think the cool dollop of sour cream (I used light sour cream) is critical -- and it looks pretty sprinkled with a bit of sweet paprika. And this soup freezes beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      This is a stellar recipe. So simple, so easy, sooooo yummy!!! Perfect. Thank you for this submission to RSC#8!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      Wonderful indeed! This beautifully coloured soup is rich tasting and warming; just the thing for cold winter nights. I used a caribbean curry paste (simply because I'd never used it before) and it worked very well with the other flavours; the rum added extra depth. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.8
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    27%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 12.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 386.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites