91 Reviews

This is one of the best soups I've ever made. Friends raved. Made a few changes - I quadrupled the ginger and garlic, because we love the stuff; used coconut rum - highly recommended! - and 2% low fat Greek-style yogurt instead of sour cream. Worked great. Will make this soup again and again!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moira March 13, 2010

Excellent soup -- absolutely fabulous. The perfect balance of sweet and spicy, with the full flavors of the sweet potatoes. Easy Easy EASY to make too. I use a little less broth to make it a little thicker, and we've found that a night in the 'fridge before reheating makes it even better in terms of flavors balancing.

This is the fine wine of soups.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbb January 21, 2011

Another review.... I made this and increased the spices slightly. However, another reviewer suggested serving this cold with the sour cream mixed in. This sounds like a wonderful idea, but I wonder if it would best be made specifically for serving cold, with the spices increased SIGNIFICANTLY for serving that way? I used spiced rum, which I think added much to the finished dish, although I may take several other reviewers' suggestions and use coconut rum the next time. One departure I made from the recipe was to use coconut oil in place of the recommended oil, both for the extra nutritional value the coconut adds, as well as for the added depth of flavour. One caveat I have for this and any other sweet potato recipe: I made this twice, and it didn't come out very good at all the second time. I believe the difference was that the first time the sweet potatoes I used were quite ripe and sweet; the second time they were pale and not as rich or sweet -perhaps not quite as ripe. I ended up adding some raw sugar to the end product, which helped, but it didn't help completely, as it didn't add the real, rich "sweet potato-ness" that the first batch had. All things considered, I would highly recommend this soup and have added it to my (considerable!) soup repertoire!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyhorvat February 11, 2010

Tried the soup before adding the rum, it was very good. Added the rum, it was extremely good. Then added the dairy and it was EXCELLENT! I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! Without rum and diary it would still have been a 4.5 star recipe. I used half orange and half white sweet potatoes, panang curry paste, and plain goat milk yogurt in place of the sour cream. Next time I will try this with red curry paste.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni December 10, 2009

I love this soup! It was really easy to make. I used curry powder instead of curry paste because I didn't have any in the house. I probably used two and a half tablespooons; it was a little spicy, but not too overwhelming. I also pureed only about 1/2 of it to leave some sweet potato & pepper chunks. I WILL be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah.hope.lorimer December 30, 2010

Excellent soup! I can't really add much to the other rave reviews except to say that the consistancy was just what I like and the flavour was an outstanding mixture of sweet and savoury. As I was cooking for people with conservative tastes, I used a mild curry paste - I'd double it next time if it was just for us! Lovely recipe, thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny December 27, 2007

I'm not a sweet potato fan but this was a good soup. DH absolutely loved it and had it for dinner 3 nights in a row! I followed the recipe exactly and will do so next time too! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 March 12, 2010

Although it's hard to go too wrong with sweet potato soup, this is an excellent variation on the theme. I couldn't find Indian curry paste at my supermarket, so I used Thai red curry paste, which worked great. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bearwacket December 19, 2009

MY NEW FAVORITE SOUP!!!!! i love it! and so healthy! i didn't have curry paste and used regular curry instead, and it still came out AMAZING! served it at a dinner party and everyone complimented it. I baked the potatoes ahead of time to make step 3 go faster. i HIGHLY recommend this soup!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates December 15, 2009

This was terrific!! I followed the recipe exact, but didn't add the rum and used my vegan sour cream (Quick Tofu and Cashew Sour Cream (Vegan)). I wanted to keep the meal completely vegan, but still follow the recommendations that sour cream is a must. Tasted a lot like an Indian dhall except with sweet potatos instead of lentils. We will make this again, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam August 22, 2007
Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup