Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2010

      This is one of the best soups I've ever made. Friends raved. Made a few changes - I quadrupled the ginger and garlic, because we love the stuff; used coconut rum - highly recommended! - and 2% low fat Greek-style yogurt instead of sour cream. Worked great. Will make this soup again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Another review.... I made this and increased the spices slightly. However, another reviewer suggested serving this cold with the sour cream mixed in. This sounds like a wonderful idea, but I wonder if it would best be made specifically for serving cold, with the spices increased SIGNIFICANTLY for serving that way? I used spiced rum, which I think added much to the finished dish, although I may take several other reviewers' suggestions and use coconut rum the next time. One departure I made from the recipe was to use coconut oil in place of the recommended oil, both for the extra nutritional value the coconut adds, as well as for the added depth of flavour. One caveat I have for this and any other sweet potato recipe: I made this twice, and it didn't come out very good at all the second time. I believe the difference was that the first time the sweet potatoes I used were quite ripe and sweet; the second time they were pale and not as rich or sweet -perhaps not quite as ripe. I ended up adding some raw sugar to the end product, which helped, but it didn't help completely, as it didn't add the real, rich "sweet potato-ness" that the first batch had. All things considered, I would highly recommend this soup and have added it to my (considerable!) soup repertoire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Tried the soup before adding the rum, it was very good. Added the rum, it was extremely good. Then added the dairy and it was EXCELLENT! I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! Without rum and diary it would still have been a 4.5 star recipe. I used half orange and half white sweet potatoes, panang curry paste, and plain goat milk yogurt in place of the sour cream. Next time I will try this with red curry paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Excellent soup -- absolutely fabulous. The perfect balance of sweet and spicy, with the full flavors of the sweet potatoes. Easy Easy EASY to make too. I use a little less broth to make it a little thicker, and we've found that a night in the 'fridge before reheating makes it even better in terms of flavors balancing.

      This is the fine wine of soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I love this soup! It was really easy to make. I used curry powder instead of curry paste because I didn't have any in the house. I probably used two and a half tablespooons; it was a little spicy, but not too overwhelming. I also pureed only about 1/2 of it to leave some sweet potato & pepper chunks. I WILL be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Excellent soup! I can't really add much to the other rave reviews except to say that the consistancy was just what I like and the flavour was an outstanding mixture of sweet and savoury. As I was cooking for people with conservative tastes, I used a mild curry paste - I'd double it next time if it was just for us! Lovely recipe, thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      I'm not a sweet potato fan but this was a good soup. DH absolutely loved it and had it for dinner 3 nights in a row! I followed the recipe exactly and will do so next time too! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Although it's hard to go too wrong with sweet potato soup, this is an excellent variation on the theme. I couldn't find Indian curry paste at my supermarket, so I used Thai red curry paste, which worked great. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      MY NEW FAVORITE SOUP!!!!! i love it! and so healthy! i didn't have curry paste and used regular curry instead, and it still came out AMAZING! served it at a dinner party and everyone complimented it. I baked the potatoes ahead of time to make step 3 go faster. i HIGHLY recommend this soup!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This was terrific!! I followed the recipe exact, but didn't add the rum and used my vegan sour cream (Quick Tofu and Cashew Sour Cream (Vegan)). I wanted to keep the meal completely vegan, but still follow the recommendations that sour cream is a must. Tasted a lot like an Indian dhall except with sweet potatos instead of lentils. We will make this again, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      This was too spicy for my 7 year old, but the rest of us really liked it. I had a feeling that would be the case, but followed the recipe exactly any way (less the rum). It was rich, and the depth of flavor was nice. Served it with some homemade bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

    • on March 10, 2014

      This soup is a definite keeper! Was well enjoyed by all in the family. So warming and tasty to the soul, especially on a blustery winters day. Thank you tigerduck for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      The local grocery store didn't have any curry paste so I used DIY Red Curry paste (Do It Yourself Red Curry Paste) which wasn't hot enough. I put about a tablespoon of Madras curry powder in at the end. Also the rum is essential.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

    • on November 26, 2012

      I made this recipe today and was truly disappointed. Based on the reviews I believed it was going to be a great recipe but sometimes I wonder if many of the people who review recipes have any sense of taste. First, the good parts. The texture of the soup is pretty much perfect based on the quantities. It's not as thick as it looks in the picture but it's not runny or liquidy either. The color is great.
      The bad news. I used newly purchased sweet potatoes since older ones can get woody and lose flavor. I used a new jar of Patak madras curry paste and included all of the rest of the ingredients as per the recipe. The result was a soup that kind of tasted like sweet potato soup, with virtually no curry taste. There was some heat in the soup but very little taste. My better half actually asked if there was curry in it. The dollop of sour cream really picks up the soup. I included the rum so I can't say what it would be like without it. For those people who are wondering if I have any sense of taste I can usually taste any dish and pretty much tell you every ingredient and herb and spice in it. That's it. Won't make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

    • on May 05, 2012

      This one's a keeper. Easy to make, tastes great. Used Madras curry paste. Followed directions exactly (but without the rum), and it was excellent. Will try with rum next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This was a very good soup, but I hadn't counted on my curry paste being so hot! I doubled the amount as my paste had dried out a good bit, leading me to think I needed more. I won't make that mistake again. Otherwise, the soup was delicious! I also added much more garlic and ginger and loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wonderful Curried Sweet Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.8
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    27%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 12.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 386.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites