Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wolfgang Puck"s Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wolfgang Puck"s Creamy Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2002

      I made this recipe using a mixture of cultivated mushrooms (cremini, shitake, oyster) and regular white button mushrooms. It was wonderful. I think the lemon juice and the bay leaf really add another dimension to the flavor. I am glad that I did not look at the nutritional info before I made it. I might not have even tried it. You could cut down on the fat by substituting half-n-half for the heavy cream, but I think it would compromise the taste. I might try it, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2002

      I will have to at least double this next time I make it. There was none left when we were done. Very simple to prepare and the ingredients are easy to find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Wow - really delicious. I used Portabello mushrooms and used skim milk instead of the cream (trying to loose a few lbs.) and it was still delicious. Will definitely make again & again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      I doubled this recipe after reading the other comments. The lemon juice gives this soup recipe that little bit 'extra'. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      This was the first course of our Christmas dinner and was an absolute hit. Everybody wanted seconds before we moved on to the next course! Followed the recipe exactly, easy to prepare, wonderful flavor. Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      i used half portobello and half button mushrooms. also substituted half and half rather than using heavy cream. the soup was very tasty and simple to make. i would use more cornstarch the next time i make it as we like our soup a little bit thicker

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Excellent delicious delightful recipe. I substitute half and half every time, and it is absolutely divine. I also skip the bay leaf, and add the juice of two small lemons, half with the mushrooms as described, and half at the end. There's a lot more stirring than I like, but I make it anyway because it is soooooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Wow!!! One of the best soups i have ever eaten love the hint of lemon only thing i changed was i used 2 1/4 cups of broth, truly a fantastic recipe. Thanks so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Everyone loved this recipe. I used 1.5 cups light cream and 0.5 cups milk instead of the heavy cream and it was still excellent. I also threw in a cup of cooked chicken for some protein. I will be making this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      This soup is one of my husbands favorites. I add some white wine into the mix and it is soooo good. My friends just rave about this soup. If you don't have fresh parsley then the dry works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      This is an excellent soup I have made this several times now and everyone that has tasted it has asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      i substituted half and half, added a dash of ground celery seed, a minced clove of garlic & processed half the soup & added it back. LOVE THIS SOUP, but think next time i will add 2tbsp sherry or madeira.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Excellent! Just made this today and loved it. My girlfriend who doesnt really like soup loved it. I served with sliced french bread and found myself scraping the bottom with the bread. Kudos to you MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      I modify recipes a lot, and this recipe as written was too rich for my household. Subbed 1T keylime juice for the lemon juice, subbed light cream for the heavy cream, added 1/2 cup chicken broth (total of 2 cups) and increased the corn starch to 1T. It makes a lighter soup that still has the creamy/zesty flavor of the original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I made this last night and it was excellent...even my 18 month old had some spoonfuls of it and loved it! To add some unique flavor I added some crumbled goat cheese and let that melt in the final step, then stirred thoroughly. We had some leftover and I ate some for lunch with crackers...almost better tasting the day after re-heated! Thanks for this great recipe. By the way this recipe makes about 3-4 bowls of soup, so you may need to double it if you have people that like seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used half baby portabellas and half button mushrooms. I also used half-and-half instead of heavy cream. The seasonings as given were tasty but not excessive. We'll definitely make this again (doubled)! Next time, I'll use a food processor instead of hand chopping the mushrooms to save time; I'd prefer a finer chop anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I really enjoyed this recipe but for some reason it seperated alot (the cream and the broth... perhaps because i heated it too high?). Otherwise, the flavor was very rich and delicious. I wasn't sure what the lemon juice would add but you could barely taste it and it gave it that extra 'something'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      I did not really care for this soup and I LOVE cream of mushroom soups. Two cups of cream was way too much, it was all I could taste. I think I might try this again but with only 1/2 cup of cream and substitute the rest with chicken stock. DH liked it though so it wasn't a total bust! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      This was delicious! Next time I might mince half the mushrooms along with coarsely chopping the rest. Be sure to have lots of bread on hand to soak up this yummy soup. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Super. Used Cremini mushrooms, otherwise followed recipe exactly. The lemon juice made it different. Very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wolfgang Puck"s Creamy Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.4
     
    Calories from Fat 430
    89%
    Total Fat 47.8 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 29.4 g
    147%
    Cholesterol 170.6 mg
    56%
    Sodium 939.8 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites