20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These green beans really hit the spot! I chose not to thicken the sauce and found it wonderful as is..will perhaps use the cornstarch next go round. I also added slivered almonds and was really pleased with the result. AmandaMcG's suggested adding ginger--great idea (for next time). Overall, Kittencal's recipes never disappoint, and as usual, my family loved it! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud May 23, 2010

Very tasty way to use fresh green beans - tons of flavor! I served them asian style lettuce chicken wraps and they were perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
policygirl May 08, 2010

We've made these several times now and somehow forgot to review them, absolutely fabulous, my hubby's favorite Asian veggie side! The only difference is that we double the sauce for more flavor. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway March 07, 2010

Delicious! I will definitely make these again soon. I used fresh green beans and sesame seeds, and I used the cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The recipe is excellent as is, but next time I may try adding some ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG January 06, 2010

This is just delicious! I made this tonight for my DM and I, along with teriyaki chicken. Perfect!!! The only change I made was to add about 1 T of mirin -- Japanese cooking wine. Why? My Mom said to! lol! It was a delicious dish! Thank Kitt!!!! I'll be making these often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom November 30, 2009

Amazing! This is the first recipe I have made that my two male housemates didn't destroy by slathering on the hot sauce! Point for me!!! I used Red Pepper flakes instead of Chili flakes and these guys destroyed it! A little two warm for me...lips still sizzling, but honestly this was a wonderful dish. I wasn't sure of the sugar, but it was the perfect complement to the salty soy and spicey peppers. So easy to make too. I served this with sauteed shrimp tossed in the sauce in the bottom of the wok! 15 minutes start to finish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie-N-Cali November 16, 2009

These are amazing!! Everyone loved them - even people who don't like spicy food! I forgot the sesame seeds so I toasted slivered almonds instead. A VERY good addition! :) I served them with grilled tuna steaks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katharina.swan October 22, 2009

Awesome! I was at a friend's and we were making dinner together and she asked me to find a recipe for green beans. I searched Asian green beans, and when Kittencal's name popped up, I knew the recipe would be stellar. And, of course, it was :) This is a no-fail Asian-style recipe that is simple but doesn't taste simple! Thank you for making our evening extra delicious, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz September 24, 2009

I'd like to give a 4 1/2 instead of a 4, but can't on zaar. This was good, but not great. I used almonds and fresh green beans for the recipe. Next time I will definitely thicken the sauce with cornstarch to see if that helps the recipe. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 03, 2009

What would I do/cook without you, Kittencal?? I couldn't wait to try this recipe. I have small children and didn't want the spice, but I did double the sauce as suggested ~ and am I glad that I did!! This is SO delicious. My husband had to rush over and put some aside for work the next day so he would have some left to take! I made this with Bourbon Chicken and it was a hit!! Thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrEva March 11, 2009
Wok or Skillet Asian-Style Fresh Green Beans