Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Witchy-Poo Fingers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Witchy-Poo Fingers

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2003

      Made these last night for tonight-Halloween! They are great. They look nice and creepy and actually are right tastey. They were simple to make. I did add a little more flour, maybe a 1/4 cup and baked them for about 20 minutes till slightly brown on the bottom. This will most likely be a Halloween tradition in our house. They were spooktacular!!!!!(maniacal laugh)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Sorry Just reviewing now... Big Hit for Halloween. Taste great and very scarey....I added red decorateing gel on the knuckles to look like blood.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      I made a similar recipe for my 8 year old from Taste of Home- she was actually a little nervous to bring to school as they were so realistic- they were a big hit and we enjoyed making them alot! Great for kids!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      A very good tasting cookie which people comment on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      These were great. I didn't have red decorating gel, so I used well-stirred raspberry jam. As the cookies were a bit dry, I served them with a bowl of stirred raspberry jam for dipping as well. They looked truly gnarly! A success all around. I might try dyeing the skinned almonds green next year, or tinting the dough slightly. As I overbaked the first batch, then underbaked the second, we had different multiracial shades of severed fingers. Next time I will try molding the dough around thin cookies or grissini breadsticks to mimic the bone as suggested by another reviewer. I think the contrast of a salted breadstick with the sweet cookie might be tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      These were fun cookies. The market did not have the red gel, so mixed in some red food coloring with confectioners sugar instead. That worked great as it looked very blood-like and also added some nice sweetness to the cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I made these for Halloween and just now realized I hadn't reviewed them yet. They were A LOT of fun for our Halloween party. People were amazed. They were deceptively easy to make, though. I made them vegan and gluten-free by subbing Earth Balance margarine for the butter, Ener-G egg replacer for the egg, and Bob's Red Mill gluten-free all-purpose flour blend for the flour. The recipe held up well to my modifications. Also, I used Allibaba's idea and subbed raspberry jam for the red decorating gel. I applied it before baking and it came out looking dark, just like dried/clotted blood! The fingers do rise during baking, so they ended up larger than I expected when molding them (but that was not a problem at all). Thanks for posting this yummy, fun recipe. I'm sure I will make it again for future Halloweens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      These were a hit with the grandkids, but at first they didn't want to try them because they looked so real. I used the sliced almonds and it really looked like fingernails. The g'children wanted to know what that was before they would eat any. The cookies were very easy to make and everyone one liked the buttery flavor. Thanks for a fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      These were the hit of a Halloween party I went to. Every one thought they were very cool. They were so easy to make also that was a bonus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      These looked pretty cool, but they didn't turn out exactly as I had hoped. Our furnace is out at the moment, so I didn't have to chill the dough after making or rolling it, because it was already cool and easy to work with. I read all the reviews before making these, and I baked mine for 16 minutes. My store was out of red decorator's gel, so I used 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1 tsp. water mixed with red food coloring for the blood "glue", and I just put the almonds on after the cookies were done cooling. They are still pretty crunchy and they spread quite a bit, losing some of the "knuckle effect". This cookie is probably closest to a shortbread, and they are tasty. I'm going to try them again next year, chilling after making the knuckle lines (like one reviewer suggested) and adapting the baking standard for traditional shortbread - baking at 325 for 12-15 min. Oh! How to Blanch, Split, & Sliver Almonds really helped me out with the almonds for this recipe. With a few minor tweaks, I think these will work for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I've made these twice for different school classes and the kids loved them. This year it was really humid out and I had to add more flour... as written the dough was a sticky mess even when well chilled. I like to form the fingers then chill them before making the "knuckle marks"; it makes them stand out more. I used nonstick insulated baking sheets and didn't use parchment... they lifted right off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      these are great! I added thin long cookies to the center (worked dough around it) to give the feeling of bone! My kids' friends were completely grossed out. hehehe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Fantastic! So much fun to make, and I love seeing people's reactions. My sister couldn't stop laughing long enough to actually eat one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These were so fun! I made these for Halloween this year and brought them out after our meal. I hade lined them up on the tray with a plastic knife with gel on it in the center (so gross) but my kids went wild. They thought it was sooooo coool. LoL thank you so much for making our holiday a little crazy and fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Everyone loved these! They were a lot of fun to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I love this recipe! I made it twice. The first time I found the cookies very sweet and crispy, so the second time I put in only a half cup of sugar. This worked very well. Also, I used about half unbleached flour and half whole wheat flour, which gave the "skin" a rather creepy speckled effect. I didn't colour my almonds, either, and used blanched white almonds. This also added to the 'dead' look. Everyone was most impressed. These are actually very easy to do but look like we went to a lot of trouble. BTW, if you made them into round balls rather than lengths, they would be more like witchy-poo severed toes. And yes, the cookie dough was delicious! LOL :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Very cute idea! I think the dough actually tasted better raw though, lol. When baking, I would advise making long narrow fingers (minus shaping for the knuckles). My first batch looked like big toes! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I know it's way past Halloween but I wanted to share my experience with this recipe. I made these, along with "eyeballs" (white buckeye balls with colored centers) and almond bark bones, put them in baggies and labled the bags "Crime Scene Evidence" for victims such as Van Pyre, Frank N. Stein, and Ima Goner. They were a huge hit with my son's class. The teacher thanked me for "the unusual goodies". LOL However, when I handed out baggies to my nieces and nephews, one nephew hurled the bag across the room yelling "I AIN'T EATING THAT! THAT'S GROSS!" LOL These cookies will definately be part of many Halloweens to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      The kids liked the looks of them, but didn't really eat them. I on the other hand loved them, and ended up eating them myself! I will be keeping these for me next year! Thanks Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      These were great, and went over big! The cookies were like a spritz cookie, I received compliments on presentation and taste! Then I was accused of having too much time on my hands! - Oh well! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Witchy-Poo Fingers

    Serving Size: 1 (806 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.3
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    58%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 46.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites