12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG!! We so loved this. One of the best marinades I have ever tried. We used this on both steaks and chicken. I really liked the french dressing. Easy, flavorful. Doesn't get any better. Thanks Florida Girl. A real winner here.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' August 05, 2002

The other night I made this marinade and put the chicken in a ziploc bag and when I came home for work I put them on the grill and was very impressed..This is a great marinade...Thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W November 25, 2002

This was great! Had it on BBQ london broil that marinated overnight and . . WOW! Will try this on chicken next time. Thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Tess November 14, 2002

Yum! This is delicious! I used it to marinate chicken breasts and my kids devoured them! I did make a few changes in order to use what I had on hand. 1) I only had apple cider vinegar so I used that and 2) I didn't have French dressing, so I used Catalina dressing instead. 3) I never have meat tenderizer around so I omitted that and 4) instead of garlic and onion salt, I used garlic and onion powder because I don't like overly salty food and knew with all of the other ingredients there would already be enough salt. This was just delicious and my kids were so crazy about it that I'll be making this frequently during grilling season. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 June 29, 2009

I made this the other day as a marinade for pork, and I saved a little in a dish to serve over the pork after it was cooked. This is a fantastic recipe -- the french dressing adds a nice and tangy taste to the sauce, and sets it apart from the usual barbecue sauce. I had no problem with the pork chops burning on the grill, as other reviewers mentioned might happen, but I brushed them with only a little bit of the sauce I had set aside before marinating the pork. The rest I heated up in a pan and served it over the pork and mashed potatoes. A great recipe we'll definitely use again -- thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester February 23, 2009

I saw this recipe and thought, this would be good, and I couldn't have been more right! I made this to go on our chicken when we were having a barbecue in the back yard, and everyone took some, then raved and raved how good it was. Home run out of the park for this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickyferland63 September 30, 2008

Wonderful! Made this as a dump recipe and am so glad I made double! The meat turned out so tender and everyone loved it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn August 02, 2008

This is the most amazing marinade recipe. It makes a lot though, which also makes it perfect for OAMC and freezing with meat. I ended up spliting it into thirds. In one bag was two boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and two bags had 2 boneless pork chops each (I could have easily quartered this though since I only had a small amount of meat in each bag). I then froze all three. I did leave out the meat tenderizer, simply because I didn't have any. I also used 1 t each of garlic salt and onion powder (again all I had). I cooked the chicken for dinner tonight and it was amazing. I took the meat out this morning to thaw in the marinade (thawed in the fridge). My husband remarked on how nicely the meat was coated when he grilled it. The meat is perfectly sweet, not hurt your teeth, dessert sweet, but a nice sweetness with a hint of tange, almost like a really good barbeque sauce. The only warning I would give is because of the high sugar content from the dressing, ketchup and sugar itself watch the meat closly when you grill to prevent burning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity September 23, 2007

I made this as a "dump recipe" to freeze for later. I made a half recipe of this for about 1 pound of top sirloin steak. I did not add meat tenderizer because I wasn't sure what the result would be with frozen meat. After defrosting, we grilled the steak, then boiled the remaining marinade to serve as a sauce over the steak. Great flavor; makes a nice steak sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue February 24, 2007

This turned out excellent. It didnt specify how much garlic salt or onion salt. I used about 1 teaspoon each. I followed exactly except I had onion powder instead of o salt. I marinated 4 pounds boneless chicken breasts for 3 hours. I then grilled them on an electric griddle until they were well browned and even black. I admit I was worried but there was no burnt taste. It was so tender and full of flavor. I will use this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith July 17, 2006
Witches Brew Marinade