Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wisconsin Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wisconsin Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2011

      This was very delicious! I tried not to change anything, but of course I had to throw my own little flavor in. First I added a couple of cloves of garlic- minced. I also added 1 more TBS of butter. Kept the flour and baking powder the same but added 1 more cup of milk and another can of chicken broth. When I was making this it didnt look like it was going to feed my entire family. I also used a bag of sharp cheddar and about 1/2 a bag of jack and colby cheese. I also added smoked sausage to it. Very good thanks for the recipe! I will definately be making this again. It was the best cheese soup I have ever tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I just made this wonderful soup for my family. We all really enjoyed it! I made the recipe pretty much as directed. The only thing I did differently was after I added the milk and broth and it had simmered I blended it in the blender for a really nice and smooth texture. The I added the cheese and red pepper flakes. It also used dry parsley to garnish because I didn't have any fresh and it was just fine this way. I enjoyed this soup so much that I am going to add it to my annual "soup day". Where I make three or four huge batches of soup that I freeze and and use all winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This is really good! Made as written but used dried parsley and crumbled some bacon on top. Went well with our bacon and lettuce sandwiches. Next time I may add sone ham and potatoes to have a complete meal. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Beyond EXCELLENT!!!! And as a die-hard Wisconsin native AND a farmer's daughter, I's knows my cheese soups...and this one takes the cake! Okay, enough gushing. I pretty much followed this as written, except I left out the celery since we're not much for it. I used a brick of cheese, and grated it myself. Also saved some back and sprinkled cheese over the top when we served it. AND added about a cup of chopped ham because I'm a real hamster! This would also handle BACON very nicely, too. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Very good soup, it was quite spicy though so next time I would cut the red pepper in half. Also I would add in some garlic as other chefs have recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I made this using vegetable broth and rice milk and it turned out really good! I halved the recipe just for me. Thanks! Made for Please Review My Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      DH says this soup is "Outstanding" I also increased the butter slightly and added some finely chopped garlic. We had this along with Toasted Ham and Cheese Sandwich With Herb Butter for a delicious lunch. Thanks weekend cooker! Made for 1.2.3 Hits Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      this wonderful, I also added in 5 large cloves chopped garlic with the onion mixture and increased the butter slightly, I also increased the crushed chili flakes for more heat, we enjoyed this soup thanks for sharing cooker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      The two of us ate the entire pot of soup tonight - mmmmm. I changed the recipe a little. I sauteed the onion and carrots, then added the flour, cooked it and then added the broth. I then pureed it with the stick blender, because I decided that we probably would not like the chunks of carrot. I used celery flakes instead of celery. It was not totally smooth, but the smaller pieces of carrot and onion were more appealing to me. Then I added the milk, simmered, and finally added the cheese and maybe half the pepper flakes - did not really measure. I had found a "super sharp" Cheddar cheese at the grocery and it worked really well in this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      We enjoyed this soup for dinner. I would just change a couple of things to make it perfect: I would reduce the amount of flour by about half since the soup was plenty thick, and all the flour muddied the taste a little. And, I would cut the amount of red pepper flakes in half. I loved the spicy flavor, but it was just a little too spicy for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wisconsin Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (342 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.0
     
    Calories from Fat 268
    62%
    Total Fat 29.8 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 91.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 970.7 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes