37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Outstanding! I was searching for a "cozy" soup and this was it. Thanx for sharing such a great soup.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steven L. November 25, 2001

I made this according to the directions, but after a bowlful, I agree with Savvy Selwal. This soup needs about 1/4 to 1/2 C of finely chopped onion. Otherwise, this is a very satisfying soup. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds January 21, 2008

My bf LOVED this soup and he hates broccoli. I can't tell you how many times he told me how good it was while he was eating it. I did add a little to it. Sauteed about 1/2 cup of diced onion before adding the flour. Used cayenne, garlic powder, and hot paprika. Added a small can of hot green chilis and used Cabot's seriously sharp white cheddar (about 4 oz), 4 oz of reg sharp cheddar and about 6 oz of Velveeta. As well as added a chicken bullion cube. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 August 16, 2012

Generally delicious. I have made this recipe several times now, and like a lot of chefs, I think it needs onion. About 1/2 - 3/4 cups, minced. I sauté them with the butter right at the beginning. I also do 1/2 milk, 1/2 chicken broth. I use an immersion blender (not utterly pureed, just chunky) just before I add the cheese. And yes, up to 8oz of cheese is just fine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 August 10, 2013

We really liked this! Made it basically as written and it was creamy and easy and yum! Thanks for the great recipe Chris....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 11, 2012

Very good and very easy to make. I made a couple substitutions, I used 2 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups milk rather then 4 cups milk. I also used red onion instead of peppers (just used what was on hand). My husband and son loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lenabenas21 June 05, 2011

I also used the advice of other reviewers and used chicken buillon granules instead of salt and added chopped garlic. I didn't have any green onion so I used chopped yellow onion. I also added cracked black pepper, which made it pretty spicy with the cayenne but very tasty. I also used a blend of cheddar cheese and velveeta, which made it rich and creamy. Very delicious soup! I will make it again for sure :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimboleyanne February 14, 2011

this was awful.. timing was way off. It was not good at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou January 21, 2011

I followed Dr. Paul's suggestions for this and it's been the best broccoli cheese soup I have tried yet. However, I still found it a bit lacking in flavor. I loved the kick the cayenne gave, but otherwise could not really taste the mustard or chicken bouillon/garlic that I added. Next time, I would try doubling the mustard and maybe adding some black pepper. I also liked the bell pepper in this, will maybe add some carrots next time too. In my opinion, fresh broccoli is a must for this, and I simmered the veggies for 20 min using fresh. Thanks for a great base recipe that allows for playing around with!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway September 19, 2010

This was a tasty soup. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkaloidqueen June 23, 2010
Wisconsin Broccoli-Cheddar Cheese Soup