Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wisconsin Broccoli-Cheddar Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wisconsin Broccoli-Cheddar Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2001

      Outstanding! I was searching for a "cozy" soup and this was it. Thanx for sharing such a great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made this according to the directions, but after a bowlful, I agree with Savvy Selwal. This soup needs about 1/4 to 1/2 C of finely chopped onion. Otherwise, this is a very satisfying soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      My bf LOVED this soup and he hates broccoli. I can't tell you how many times he told me how good it was while he was eating it. I did add a little to it. Sauteed about 1/2 cup of diced onion before adding the flour. Used cayenne, garlic powder, and hot paprika. Added a small can of hot green chilis and used Cabot's seriously sharp white cheddar (about 4 oz), 4 oz of reg sharp cheddar and about 6 oz of Velveeta. As well as added a chicken bullion cube. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      Generally delicious. I have made this recipe several times now, and like a lot of chefs, I think it needs onion. About 1/2 - 3/4 cups, minced. I sauté them with the butter right at the beginning. I also do 1/2 milk, 1/2 chicken broth. I use an immersion blender (not utterly pureed, just chunky) just before I add the cheese. And yes, up to 8oz of cheese is just fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      We really liked this! Made it basically as written and it was creamy and easy and yum! Thanks for the great recipe Chris....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Very good and very easy to make. I made a couple substitutions, I used 2 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups milk rather then 4 cups milk. I also used red onion instead of peppers (just used what was on hand). My husband and son loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I also used the advice of other reviewers and used chicken buillon granules instead of salt and added chopped garlic. I didn't have any green onion so I used chopped yellow onion. I also added cracked black pepper, which made it pretty spicy with the cayenne but very tasty. I also used a blend of cheddar cheese and velveeta, which made it rich and creamy. Very delicious soup! I will make it again for sure :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      this was awful.. timing was way off. It was not good at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I followed Dr. Paul's suggestions for this and it's been the best broccoli cheese soup I have tried yet. However, I still found it a bit lacking in flavor. I loved the kick the cayenne gave, but otherwise could not really taste the mustard or chicken bouillon/garlic that I added. Next time, I would try doubling the mustard and maybe adding some black pepper. I also liked the bell pepper in this, will maybe add some carrots next time too. In my opinion, fresh broccoli is a must for this, and I simmered the veggies for 20 min using fresh. Thanks for a great base recipe that allows for playing around with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      This was a tasty soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Great soup with a few modifications. The thickener is a bit easier to handle if you use a more traditional 1:1 ratio. I used 2 tablespoon each of butter and flour and got a lovely consistency in the end. A minced garlic clove added depth to the flavor. I'm not sure why the cook chose to use frozen broccoli when fresh is now available at a reasonable price all year. I used fresh and it came out superbly, with just a bit of crunch left in the vegetable. I also skipped the salt and used chicken bullion instead. I'll do this one again on a cold winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      We loved it! Definitely I will make this again. Thank you for the super easy, tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      We loved it. It's easy to make and very rich. I usually use a chicken broth base, but didn't have any, so thought I'd try it this way instead. I did put a couple of shakes of garlic powder in. Yummy! This is my new go-to recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This was really good. It didn't survive my 3 boys...husband included. I have learned to take mine first...lol. It had just a little background kick/tingle from the cayenne...but wonderfully offet by the sharp cheddar...A definate WILL make again. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This was most excellent. I used Manda's suggestions to add the chicken boullion, onions, and garlic, but not celery. I also added a little pepper-jack cheese to the cheddar to give it some kick. I used one head of fresh broccoli steamed instead of the frozen.Served it to the staff at my restaurant and they all agreed it was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      delicious! super easy to make! one member of my family thought it was spicy (the other three thought it was just right), but that would be easy to modify for anyone who is sensitive to that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Thank you for posting an easy and delicious soup recipe. Made the soup as directed and it turned out great - wouldn't change a thing next time. Made & enjoyed on a cold evening in Michigan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      YUM! I just made a pot, a couple of minor changes: added a bit of chicken stock, some extra broccoli, omitted the red pepper because I didn't have any, and pureed the broccoli before adding the cheese. The cayenne pepper really makes it. And it's SO quick and simple to make. Great comfort food. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

    • on November 01, 2009

      Excellent recipe! My kids loved it! I used fresh broccoli (steamed and chopped) adding more than the recipe called for. It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wisconsin Broccoli-Cheddar Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.4
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    60%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 83.9 mg
    27%
    Sodium 854.7 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites