Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Winter Squash, Chickpea & Red Lentil Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Winter Squash, Chickpea & Red Lentil Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2008

      Unbelievable, this was divine! The saffron and cinnamon filled the house with a wonderful tagine aroma. The flavours were phenomenal, I am in love with this dish! But I have a confession - I had to use canned chick peas! And I did not have 5 hours to spare, the cupboard was bare, husband due home in 1 hour, but I had all the ingredients to make this so I gambled and cheated. I rinsed the lentils, brought them to the boil in water for 10 mins, scooped off the foam, drained the water away, set lentils aside in a bowl, rinsed the pot, then put the 4 cups of broth in (I used chicken broth as it was all I had), brought it to the boil and placed the lentils back in with all the other ingredients, then let it boil/simmer on low heat for 30-40 mins - husband steps through the door, basmati rice was cooked just in time for serving. This was unbelievable, my husband loved it so much, it reminded him of trips in Morocco! Next time I plan to do this properly, but it was good to know that it would work with canned chickpeas and a shorter time provided the lentils were partially cooked in advance. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      This was pretty good for something different. I definitely think the peanuts help to give a different consistency and the fresh cilantro adds a nice touch. I did forget to put in the lime. Thanks for helping me try something different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Wonderful recipe - but next time I'll definitely leave out the lime. I was totally in love with the dish when I tasted it for salt before adding the lime. Then after adding the lime I was disappointed because I felt like the acidity overwhelmed the delicate flavors of saffron and squash. It was so lovely before the lime, and that's probably just me. I used shortcuts because I only had an hour - frozen butternut squash, Indian garlic-ginger paste and canned chickpeas, minute brown rice. Sauteed the onions, carrots then the garlic-ginger paste and spices, then added the rest and simmered for about 35 min. Will definitely make again thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      My family was doing a Vegan for a month challenge. This is, unfortunately, the recipe that ended that challenge two weeks shy of a month. It was nice, but it's definitely not something I could serve my family of 'white bread' tastes. Personally I loved it, especially with some hot sauce, that seemed to really make this dish stand out for me, and it did smell very good throughout the house while cooking, but I will have to reduce the recipe down to one serving the next time I make it I guess. I also used canned chickpeas with no problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Yum! Delicious and something different! I was out of saffron and substituted turmeric.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I enjoyed it, though no one else in the family would eat it. Some thought the flavors were weird and didn't go well together. It is definitely better with the cilantro and lime juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Delicious! We forgot about adding the peanuts & cilantro before eating, but it great anyway. Interesting mix of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      oooh this was so good. i made it on the stove and let it simmer for about an hour. the squash cubes turned all buttery soft and melted into the broth. didn't have any peanuts on hand, so i just added about a tsp of peanut butter to each bowl. loved the lime juice at the end!! much a cilantro fan as i am, next time i'll use a little less. didn't need rice because the stew was hearty enough! thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Excellent! i will make it again, but next time add a tad more ginger or something to give it more kick - the lime and cinnamon were strong, and i felt it needed more balance on the other end. I used canned chickpeas, but hope to do it with dried next time! Took 3.5 hours on the high setting in the crock pot. I was out of rice and couscous, so I whipped up some risotto and served it over that. Decadent! Jasmine rice though next time. :) I have a feeling this will be great leftover tomorrow when the flavors have really melded. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      I really enjoyed this! My crock pot didn't seem too cook it very well on the low setting for the time suggested here so I put it on high for a couple of hours at the end and it came out beautifully. I served it with Moroccan style bread on the side for dipping instead of over rice. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Delish! This meal is tasty, healthy and easy- what else can a girl ask for? It has my all time favorite legumes- chickpeas and lentils- and I have a ton of butternut squash from my csa box, so this recipe was perfect. I did the prep the night before and dumped it all in the morning of. I set the timer for five hours on low and it was perfect. I served over whole wheat couscous. The lime, peanuts and cilantro finish it off nicely. I love all the spicesd and that the chickpeas are not from a can. Thanks for posting, this is a keeper! It makes a ton.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      This was soooo good!!! Didn't have saffron or tomato paste on hand, and I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, but everything came out very well. I set it in the crockpot, went out shopping and came back to a wonderful aroma. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      We *really* enjoyed this! I forgot to presoak my beans so I quick-soaked them and then made this on the stove top. I sauteed the onions, garlic, and ginger before throwing everything else in. It cooked in about 2 hours. If I had soaked the beans longer, it might've taken less. At first I forgot the lime, it was great without it but even better when I added it! I froze the leftovers and will update you when I use them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Winter Squash, Chickpea & Red Lentil Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.2
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    14%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes