74 Reviews

This is the best salad of all time. The dressing is SUPER easy to make and I always have the ingredients on hand. I first had it about a year ago and I've been addicted every since. I like to switch it up and use different types of lettuce. I never use the cheese, but I always add some kind of nut to it (cashews are my favorite). Today I used cashews plus a trail mix that contained sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, raisins, and pepitas. Key for the best flavor: don't use lemon juice from a bottle, use fresh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danakscully64 November 14, 2009

I went to a dinner tonight and brought this salad. Excellent! I substituted the cashews with almond slivers....delicious. Thank you for the easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chasemorgansmom November 14, 2009

I actually got this recipe from another site but, since I am on this one so much, thought I'd found it on Zaar and came up with this exact copy! Awesome flavors, but did make some changes: used half the dressing ingredients; a mix of baby spinach red baby butter lettuce in place of romaine; left out the cheese; used 1 cup slivered almonds in place of cashews; 1 cup strawberries in place of apple (as grandson ate the apple); left out the cranberries entirely; and put the diced pear in with the dressing ingredients to keep it from browning until served. Sliced the strawberries over the greens and served the dressing on the side. There wasn't any left and had taken as a dish for my family. This is a great salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapaklenk September 10, 2009

Oh young grasshoppah, look no further. You have recipe for culinary bliss...sweet, salty, crunchy and healthy all in one one dish. Yes, master, I revere the harmony of a great salad. Made for Summer Salad Snapshots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 19, 2009

Great salad! The dressing is what made this dish. I will use the lemon poppy seed dressing on other salads. Thanks, Heather.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greg: Barrow, Alaska June 09, 2009

Great recipe! A refreshing salad dressing. I used half vegetable oil and half olive oil and next time I make it, I will use only olive oil, as I prefer its thickness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 10, 2009

Okay, so I cheated a bit- first of all, I omitted the leafy greens & cheese- and I used my 'pampered chef' dressing shaker thing to mix it, but it was fabulous! I added walnuts- and the salad was reminiscent of a fruit salad that my DH & I always pay way too much for @ our fav.restaraunt! Personally, I feel the dressing needs all the sugar it calls for- it was too sour when I only did 1/4 as some reviewers suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx April 03, 2009

Made for a potluck lunch and didn't get one bite of it. At least 3 people asked me for the recipe. Had to come home & make another half recipe so we could taste it. It was well worth it. Maybe the dressing was just a little too sweet. I might reduce the sugar a bit next time. Overall a great salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT January 26, 2009

What a great salad!! Made it for a dinner party and it received rave reviews. Based on other comments, I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. This is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpneubs November 22, 2008

I really liked this, but my dh thought it was a little weird. Whatever! Make sure the pear isn't too mushy-it made the salad extra watery as a result, and the leftovers didn't keep well. That is purely on the person picking out the pear, though, not the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinajoebob November 14, 2008
Winter Fruit Salad With Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing