Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Winter Fruit Salad With Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Winter Fruit Salad With Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2009

      I went to a dinner tonight and brought this salad. Excellent! I substituted the cashews with almond slivers....delicious. Thank you for the easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I actually got this recipe from another site but, since I am on this one so much, thought I'd found it on Zaar and came up with this exact copy! Awesome flavors, but did make some changes: used half the dressing ingredients; a mix of baby spinach red baby butter lettuce in place of romaine; left out the cheese; used 1 cup slivered almonds in place of cashews; 1 cup strawberries in place of apple (as grandson ate the apple); left out the cranberries entirely; and put the diced pear in with the dressing ingredients to keep it from browning until served. Sliced the strawberries over the greens and served the dressing on the side. There wasn't any left and had taken as a dish for my family. This is a great salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Oh young grasshoppah, look no further. You have recipe for culinary bliss...sweet, salty, crunchy and healthy all in one one dish. Yes, master, I revere the harmony of a great salad. Made for Summer Salad Snapshots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Great salad! The dressing is what made this dish. I will use the lemon poppy seed dressing on other salads. Thanks, Heather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Great recipe! A refreshing salad dressing. I used half vegetable oil and half olive oil and next time I make it, I will use only olive oil, as I prefer its thickness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Okay, so I cheated a bit- first of all, I omitted the leafy greens & cheese- and I used my 'pampered chef' dressing shaker thing to mix it, but it was fabulous! I added walnuts- and the salad was reminiscent of a fruit salad that my DH & I always pay way too much for @ our fav.restaraunt! Personally, I feel the dressing needs all the sugar it calls for- it was too sour when I only did 1/4 as some reviewers suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Made for a potluck lunch and didn't get one bite of it. At least 3 people asked me for the recipe. Had to come home & make another half recipe so we could taste it. It was well worth it. Maybe the dressing was just a little too sweet. I might reduce the sugar a bit next time. Overall a great salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      What a great salad!! Made it for a dinner party and it received rave reviews. Based on other comments, I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I really liked this, but my dh thought it was a little weird. Whatever! Make sure the pear isn't too mushy-it made the salad extra watery as a result, and the leftovers didn't keep well. That is purely on the person picking out the pear, though, not the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Great dressing (I haven't actually tried the salad recipe :-) But I would reduce the lemon juice a bit. I thought it was a bit tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I LOVE this recipe. I discovered it just before Christmas and made it, as written, for my coworkers. I made it again for my family at Christmas and through the winter. I was asked to bring a salad to a fourth of July party and I used this recipe and switched out the fruits. I used white peaches, raspberries and blueberries. Another mega hit! Thank you Ivy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I've made this salad several times, and every time, I wish I'd doubled the recipe! I took it to a salad luncheon, I've served it to my family, I've made it for myself, and it is now a staple for me. I do place the apples and pears in the dressing to prevent browning -- great suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This salad was great and I especially liked the addition of swiss cheese. The only thing I altered was to add chopped pecans instead of cashews (personally preference). Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This dressing was so excellent! Like another reviewer, I used only 1/4 cup of sugar and found that it was the perfect amount of sweet. Everyone liked this dressing so much that they requested bread to soak up the extra. :o) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This was a really great recipe! I used a baby salad mix so I thinly sliced the fruit since i didn't want the fruit to be too heavy for the delicate lettuce. I only used about 1/4 cup sugar which I thought was the perfect sweetness. I also only used about 1/2 the amount of dressing and thought that was plenty. This is good because I'll have more of this great salad tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This salad is incredible! I've been making it for a few years, and always get asked for the recipe. One tip: if you want to make the salad ahead of time, don't put the apples and pears in, but add them to the dressing and keep in a separate container. Then, just before serving, add the dressing and fruit. The fruit won't discolor and the salad will be crisp and fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Incredible!! Didnt change a thing and it was outta sight!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      What a great salad. Went out to get poppy seeds just for this and am glad I did. Made the dressing the night before to meld flavors. Will have this again (to use up more of those poppy seeds). Thanks for posting Ivy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I used the lemon juice that comes in a bottle and the dressing was great, but I think buying lemons and squeezing the juice would be a better idea. Everyone loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      After making this last Easter, it has become a favorite among our family and friends. The salad is great w/walnuts or pecans in place of the cashews if cashews are unavailable at the time. I've even packed the salad along on a picnic, w/the fruit and dressing in a ziploc together (to prevent the fruit from turning colors.) The salad was not soggy, and all I had to do was toss w/dressing and fruit combo and the nuts. Mmmm. ~Jeff's Girl Way Out West

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Winter Fruit Salad With Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.2
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    67%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 8.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 197.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites