74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so very yumpy! I took this to a small birthday party this weekend, and it was a huge hit! The dressing is awsome, to say the very least! I used a combintion of romaine and spinach. I will be making this again, that is for sure! Thanks for the great recipe Ivy!!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Sandra September 02, 2002

I made this for a birthday party and then for a barbeque and everyone loved it. The salad has a wonderful crunch to it and the dressing is amazing. When you make this be prepared to be asked for the recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemooner July 25, 2002

I have NEVER had such a response to a salad as I did to this one! Everyone I have ever made it for has asked for the recipe. Not only is it easy AND good...it is so pretty! I added fancy, curly lettuce and spinach to the sald (in addition to the romaine), which just made it even better--and there was still plenty of dressing to coat the additional amount of greens. This salad is one of the reasons I just love this site.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueg7 March 20, 2003

This was just delicious -- and I say that as someone who isn't a huge fan of fruit salads. I made it with apple only and think I will stick to one fruit because there are so many flavors going on. We usually prefer savory to sweet, so I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup as a lot of people recommended, but ended up adding 2 more tablespoons before it tasted very 'balanced'. Thanks for sharing this delightful dish! (Edited to add the well-deserved stars that I forgot.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton October 28, 2011

Awesome recipe ! We really only need 1/2 of the dressing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nowie January 23, 2010

Wowszers this was good. I made this to go along with another dish and I couldn't stop eating this. I plan on making this all the time, so good and easy. thank you for sharing your recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 08, 2009

This is so yummy. Loved the mix of flavors from all the ingredients. Great anytime but served with Best ham sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 01, 2014

Fantastic! Served with Christmas dinner and wish I could have eaten only this delicious salad. The perfect combination of fresh flavors and textures. Pear was a wonderful addition. Only pear I could find was nonorganic so I peeled it, but left the left the peel on the apple. Will make again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 25, 2012

Fantastic salad! Thanks so much for the recipe! We're making it all the time now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MattMattBoBatt November 30, 2012

I took this to a family get-together last night, sort of a Thanksgiving-in-March type deal. I substituted almonds for the cashews and needed to add a little more sugar and salt to round out the flavor of the dressing, but this was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht March 20, 2011
Winter Fruit Salad With Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing