19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful recipe! I used what I had in the fridge and bought some blueberries to add as well. I had pears, 3 kinds of apples, nectarine, orange slices, the pineapple and bananas. I didn't add the bananas until right before serving, but made the dish the day before our brunch. Not too sweet (which is what I was afraid of), and even my husband ate the leftovers . Husband works out in the heat and said he wanted me to keep in the fridge this summer when it is too hot for him to eat a heavy lunch......that probably in itself makes it a 10 star recipe!

Can't wait to try with kiwi & strawberries....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKBeard December 21, 2011

I made this to go with our biscuits and gravy the other night and itwas a nice compliment. I didn't have much for fruit, so this was a nice recipe to stumble on. We loved it. DH kept sneaking more out of the fridge....lol. Thankyou for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 20, 2011

Absolutely wonderful and delicious! I first made this for a dinner at our church and it was gone in a flash & I never got a taste so I made it again for our family. This is so fantastic. I love the unpeeled apples (used Red & Golden Delicious combo) - it just gives this a nice crunch. The sauce is divine and not overly sweet so it does not take away from the fresh fruit at all!! I could see adding a bit of coconut and sliced almonds to this too and use as a dessert. Thanks so much for sharing this fantastic recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 18, 2010

This was super easy and very good. Made this for a side dish at my daughter's 1st Birthday Party. Even my dad liked it, and he is not a fruit eatter. Only change I made was I used apple juice instead of orange juice because that's what I had on hand. Turned out great still. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinzScissors September 03, 2011

Love this fruit salad! The sauce dresses it up without overpowering the fruit. I've made this a few times, once for church potluck and there were no leftovers. I also used fresh clementines instead of the canned mandarins. I had a lot on hand, so used 7 clems, 3 Gala apples, and 2 bananas... plus the 20 oz pineapple, of course. This salad keeps really well. I would make it the night before for a breakfast/brunch, or morning of for a dinner. The bananas start to brown after awhile, but not too fast, not before 12 hours at least.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyoSal February 14, 2010

This was really, really good. This was made for a church event. We brought none of it back home. The mix of fruit was really nice. One change we actually did not use the orange juice. The mandarin oranges were in pear juice and we used the pear juice over the orange juice. Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!!! Will most certainly make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tv_reality_junkie_98 January 01, 2014

I found this exceedingly sweet and I am basically a sugar addict. I would suggest adding the sauce sparingly until the fruit is just lightly dressed with it. You may not need all of the sauce. I sent this with my husband to a friend's house. There were 6 adults there for lunch and he said only about 1/4th of it was eaten. I made it the night before and I was amazed that by morning, the fruit had not turn brown at all. It still looked very fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon October 16, 2011

Made this tonight for the family and to take to a friend who just had surgery. It was really quite good although a tad on the sweet side. Did swap out some of the fruit for what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denise October 06, 2011

This was well received at our Christmas family get together. We all really liked the glaze. I subbed lime juice for the lemon and I will probably do that again. Thanks for posting this quick and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta December 25, 2010

I really thought I had reviewed this before, but when I tried to find it to make again, I realized I had forgot (again!). I made this for last Thanksgiving and it is a wonderful fruit salad. Not too sweet and not too heavy. This is a definite keeper. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiMadre' April 10, 2010
Winter Fruit Salad