Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Winter Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Winter Crisp

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2010

      Boomie - you have a wonderfully perfect dessert here. I loved the bled of flavors with the apples (used Gala) and cranberries. I did add a dash of nutmeg with the cinnamon as I love that combo but outside of that followed this exactly as written. I did serve it with a small scoop of frozen vanilla bean yogurt too. Can't wait to warm up the leftovers for dessert tomorrow too! 8 servings is a great measurement as that is exactly how many I'll have when we finish it tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe! Tagged and made for the WTTM tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      very good! I only had 4 cups apples, so I used 2 cups of cranberries. Thanks for a delicious and simple recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I used Splenda instead of regular sugar. Otherwise followed the recipe. I had this with vanilla ice cream on top. Really good. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I ate and ate and ate some more of this last night :) My belly hurt. I used braeburn apples because they were on sale but they were definitely on the tart side so I doubled the sugar. I don't recommend using this variety of apple for that reason. I used lemon juice instead of peel since I didn't have any fresh lemons. I thought this was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Well the DM and the DS thoroughly enjoyed this lovely dessert. I had tried to get frozen cranberries but could not so used a good handful of craisins (dried cranberries) for a 4 person serve (they get the other 2 tomorrow night at room temperature) but tonight it was served warm with custard. I did use a sugar replacement in the filling mix and cut back on the brown sugar (by half) for the topping otherwise made as directed. Definately a great dessert if you wish to serve at room temperature and want to make ahead or I think could be heated up in the microwave. Thank you Boomette, made for Adopt A Tabe 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      This is good but I found it a bit too sweet for my taste. I loved the addition of fresh cranberries. I made ours gluten free by using white rice flour and half the amount of sweet rice flour (a starch), I used Fuji apples and was also skeptical about leaving the skins on but it gave a nice texture. I used brown sugar for both amounts. I followed the rest. The lemon flavour was almost too light. I may make this again decreasing the sugar a tad and if you have an extra hot oven like me do it at 350F as mine was getting too dark. Made for RECIPE SWAP #45 - October 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Wonderfully simple and adaptable recipe! I've used tons of substitutes; my husband likes the blueberry/cranberry crisp the best. I'm trying out a whatever's-in-the-fridge fruit crisp at the moment, containing mango, peach, nectarine and apples, with dried cranberries. We'll see how it turns out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Delicious crisp and one that we all liked a lot! Served with ice cream, we were all in dessert heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      another keeper, boomette. Plan on makng again for thanksgiving. made for everyday's tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Made for Feb., 2008 Bevy Tag. I love apple crisp, and the addition of cranberries in this recipe was a real plus. I peeled the apples because I really don't care for apple skins. I also used dried cranberries. I kept everything else the same. I then topped it with vanilla ice cream. Mmmmmmmmm! Thanks for another great recipe, Boomette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I made this for the "Every Day is a Holiday" game and it was a real treat. Simple to make, the apples only needed to be cored and sliced, no peeling, and very tasty. The addition of the cranberries boosts the flavor and adds pretty color. My only change was to bake it 1 hour to get the filling bubbly. Thanks Boomette1 for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      A really great recipe for a cold winter's night. I was skeptical about leaving the skin on the apples, but it gave the dessert a nice chewy texture while eating....and give it added healthy fiber. I use dried cherry flavored cranberries and added a tablespoon of corn starch to the apple mixture. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I had some canberries and apples that needed to be used up, and this recipe put the fruits to great use! I used part whole wheat flour and splenda sugar to make these a bit more healthier and it still tasted great. These are a def. make again even if I dont have fruits to use up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This one just didn't quite do it for me. I did use dried sweetened cranberries instead of fresh. I found it to have a bit too much lemon flavor, and the topping wasn't moist enough for me. I ended up adding an extra round of butter to the topping midway through the cooking, and it still stayed dry & crumbly rather than moist and coming together. I liked the concept, but would need to adjust this one a bit for it to work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This is TERRIFIC. Made exactly as recipe stated and it was Yummy! Served along side vanilla ice cream. Reminded me of apple pie ala-mode.... Pure comfort food here! Thanks, this was a hit in my house and my friends family. ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      This was a hit at our house. I used 3 granny smith apples and craisins. I wouldn't change a thing. We served it room temperature, but I can see that it would be delicious served hot with some vanilla ice cream! We'll have to try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      EXCELLENT TANGY and YUMMY! I made 2 servings and used 2T Splenda granular, whole wheat flour, frozen lemon zest, 1 granny smith apple peeled and chopped and frozen cranberries. I also used Splenda brown sugar in the topping but only used 1/2T because I just recently read the package and you're supposed to use half the amount of it. I baked mine in two 1-cup rammekins for 40 minutes. Mine was dry but had an excellent flavor and texture. Nuts would probably be good with this. I was going to try it with Cool Whip Lite but it was great as is for a cold fall night. Made for the Went to the market game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      An excellent tasting crisp that is lovely even in August. I used dried cherries in place of cranberries because I prefer them and also added some very coarsely chopped hazelnuts just because I thought they would be good in it . Two things I must mention: A. I found this very sweet and I will cut back on the sweetening next time, granted that it would have been less sweet with the cranberries and I do not fault the recipe for this. I used 2 tbsp of Splenda Brown Sugar in the topping and a scant 1/4 cup of Splenda in the apple mix (I made 4 servings), B. I had to add about 1/2 a cup of water to the dish toward the end of the baking time as it was very dry with no liquid bubbling at all. The water addition made all the difference in the outcome. This is very easy to put together. I think this recipe would be great using frozen fruit of whatever kind you would like at the time in the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Winter Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.9
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    20%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 42.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 30.0 g
    120%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites