30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this dish twice now, and both times it has been a success. To save time, I didn't cut up the cream cheese, and that worked out fine. My family loved it. I really enjoyed it also. I am not a spaghetti fan, but this was a dish my family and I could agree on.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen1 February 14, 2002

This is a simple tasty recipe that is similiar to traditional spaghetti. The flavor was unique in that the creamy layer had the onion/green pepper (I also added two cloves of garlic) flavor rather than the meat sauce. I did find it a bit of a stretch to spread the meat sauce into two separate layers in a 9x13-inch pan, and would consider using more ground beef and spaghetti sauce the next time around. I recently made a similiar casserole in which the spaghetti noodles were mixed with egg and parmesan cheese to bind them together. My husband started to compare the two, but after a bit of thought, he decided that the other was more like lasagna and this like spaghetti so he took back his comment about using something to bind the spaghetti noodles together. Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper in my house! :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn May 09, 2002

This is similar to a spaghetti casserole that I make, I added some mushrooms to the sauce mixture and a little garlic. Served it with garlic bread and we all enjoyed, thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* June 03, 2002

Nice change from the regular spaghetti. I cut it into 12 pieces and still had leftovers. But no one left the table hungry, very filling! I wonder if you could mix 1 egg and some milk to add to the spaghetti before putting it into the pan? That way after it was baked it would help hold the spaghetti together when you tried to take it out of the pan.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 14, 2002

My husband and I tried this at a potluck and I begged the lady for the recipe!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyce2 February 25, 2002

Thanks for all your kind words about this recipe. I would like to clarify something that seems to be a consistent comment from the reviewers so far. There are many spaghetti pie/lasagna recipes, which may have perhaps led you to anticipate that this recipe would also be something that you would cut and serve. This is different - it is a baked pasta casserole, similar to baked ziti, only using spaghetti and of course a different sauce. It is actually not supposed to hold together into a square - you would serve this using a spoon. All of your suggestions do sound tasty as well, but I wanted any one else who wishes to try this to realize that it is meant to be a casserole. You may also use a large deep oval casserole to bake this in with no alteration in cooking time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather October 31, 2002

My kids didn't like this...and my husband said it would taste better if it didn't have the cream cheese layer which would make it just regular spaghetti...so he's no help..I liked it but I won't make it since they don't...thanks anyway..^-^

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya G. April 01, 2004

excellent flavor. DH really liked this, and he is not a casserole lover. I used red pepper instead of green (personal preference). It is a bit messy to serve, so I think next time I will add raw egg and maybe some parmesean to the needles just to make it a little easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted March 13, 2004

HeatherFeather, Yum,I have never made spaghetti with cream cheese before, but I certainly will again,This was a delicious recipe,and VERY easy.I left out the bell pepper,but otherwise went exactly by your recipe. Great recipe,Thanks, Darlene Summers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers July 06, 2003
Winner's Spaghetti Casserole