Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Winklers Moravian Sugar Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Winklers Moravian Sugar Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2014

      My sister leads a group of church members at our Moravian Church in the mixing and baking of Moravian Sugar Cakes as a church fundraiser and for eating during our Lovefeast services. So, I have grown up in Pennsylvania eating Moravian Sugar Cake. Last year, we visited Winklers during a trip to Winston-Salem, and I bought one of their Moravian Sugar Cakes. It was moist and delicious, so I was excited to find this recipe online. I've made it a few times and found that I like it better than the recipe that our church uses. (Even my sister raved about it!) I followed the directions exactly... including only using 3 CUPS OF FLOUR. That is all that is needed! The 1/4 cup of instant mashed potato flakes is an important part of Moravian Sugar Cake. I look forward to making this again and sharing it with our local Moravian congregation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I grew up in Winston-Salem and going to Deweys for their sugar cake. It was amazing. A few years ago, the jacked up the price and changed the ingredients. Unfortunately, Dewey's isn't quite the same as in the past. I hate to say, I don't think I've ever tried Winklers. That said, on a whim, I tried this recipe. I didn't have powdered milk or instant potatoes. I used 1/4 cup 2% milk in place of some water and ignored the potatoes. My bread mix was wet (very thick pancake batter) but otherwise turned out fine. I probably should have used an extra cup of flour. Overall, the recipe is nearly a match for the Moravian Sugar Cake I know. Next time, I'll use the instant potatoes and powdered milk. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      I made a few adjustments and made the batter in my bread machine. It worked great and makes it possible to do more than once a year. Every get together I am asked to bring my Sugar Cake and it's do-able.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      My husband and I went to Winston Salem, and I just had to find the recipe for their sugar-cake. This recipe is supposed to be theirs but I don't think it is, theirs if very moist and tender...this is a bit more airy and drier. I've made it twice and neither time did it turn out exactly like Winklers, but it is still very tasty. One note on this recipe. You should be adding at least a total of 4 cups of flour...the 1 cup of flour that you mix in the 7 ingredients does not deduct from the other 3. I used about 4 1/2 and it worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This is the almost just like the Moravian Sugar Cake that my mother made every Christmas Season. Her's was made with real mashed potatoes. This recipe cuts the time in half and taste almost the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Awesome. I grew up eating this and although it didn't taste exactly like the ones I used to get from the bakery, it was close enough that I practically swooned at the first bite! Definitely worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Heavenly!! This is THEE best thing you will EVER put in your mouth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe. I am Moravian, born and raised, and love these traditional Advent treats. Unfortunately, most people don’t know how to do sugar cake as well as Winkler’s. I tried this recipe and it came out perfect! I even adapted it so that I could prepare the dough in my bread maker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Thanks much for posting this. I've been Moravian all my adult life but since Dewey's in Winston-Salem jacked up the price on their sugar cake this year, I decided to try to make it myself. This is a great recipe! The first time I made it, I put the butter on before brown sugar/cinnamon. The second time, I put the topping on in the correct order and it made a big difference. This recipe cuts into nice-sized quarters for giving. And in case anyone is thinking of doing something stupid like using FoodSaver vacuum bags to freeze or preserve sugar cake, DON'T, unless you want sugar cake jerky. I'm hoping it will at least make fabulous French toast.... it seemed like a good idea at the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Because we have Moravians in our history, my mother tried to teach me how to make the family sugar cake. I was young and, of course, not interested. She stressed how important it was to use only enough flour until one gets the right "feel" in the dough. Don't add too much!! When she died, we thought that the family recipe was lost forever. Thank goodness for other families and the internet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      Saw this cake for sale at a craft fair & thought I should try it for myself. I followed the recipe as instructed. Yes, the dough was very soft, a little thicker than cake batter but don't worry the final product is great. It is like a very light & fluffy coffee cake. Try it, I bet you'll like it. I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      The 3 cups flour became about 7 to make it a workable dough. Must be an error in the recipe. I probably should toss it at this point (dough rising now) but I will continue with recipe and post with end results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      Oh Steve! It is such a delight to see that you posted this recipe. I was raised in Winston and this sugar cake is served at any Moravian function you go to. I hope alot of people will try it because they will be hooked! You can order it online, but it is very easy to make. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Winklers Moravian Sugar Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 751.4
     
    Calories from Fat 297
    39%
    Total Fat 33.1 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 152.3 mg
    50%
    Sodium 468.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.6 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 53.9 g
    215%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites