54 Reviews

I've made this a few times now with excellent results every time. It's easy, and tastes great! I decorated a cheesecake with it, and everything I piped on held up beautifully for days. I love that this will last and hold itself for a few days without compromising taste and texture! This will be my go-to whipped cream recipe! Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRD-SK November 23, 2006

I had a little trouble with the process, but the end result was terrific! Since my cream was well chilled the gelatin mixture hardened almost instantly when it hit it, so letting it cool first didn't work too well. I fished out the chunks of gelatin, melted them again, then immediately poured it in a thin stream into the beater in the cream. Worked perfectly! 5 stars for taste and texture, but it's a little difficult to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 February 21, 2006

This is probably best for a whipped cream cake decoration. To top desserts, I'd probably leave out the sugar next time but otherwise the cream stayed fluffy on my trifle for 3 days before it was ate up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Sullivan January 06, 2005

This makes good whipped cream! I tried this recipe because I wanted to make the whipped cream a day ahead and wanted it to still be fluffy...well, with this recipe it sure did and it tastes great too!! I had never made "stabilized" whipped cream before, and found it very easy. I let the gelatin cool to long and it became stiff, but I just warmed it a little over a low flame, it turned liquid again. Still worked out perfectly!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
applee March 19, 2004

Thank you for posting this recipe! I needed a good cover-up for a cracked cheesecake and I couldn't find the ratios for stabilized cream. This was the perfect recipe!!! It stayed firm at least overnight, and I'll wait to see if it'll last until tomorrow! Like another poster, I bloom my gelatin in a little microwaveable bowl and then heat it for about 12 seconds, stirring twice in between. For anyone who may be having trouble with strands of gelatin in your cream: let the gelatin cool just a bit and stir in some of the cold cream a little at a time. Add enough cream to cool it to just warm. Whip your cream and sugar to soft peaks, then whip in the gelatin mixture and whip to stiff peaks. I hope that's helpful! Thanks again, kittencal, for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Q November 21, 2012

Great - recipe and easy as long as the instructions are followed. I whipped the cream to medium peaks, let the gelatin bloom and then heated for 30 seconds in the microwave before incorporating with the cream. DO NOT follow the tip to use half and half- it will not work because it does not whip to right consistency.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansas_pickle October 31, 2011

Excellent filling and frosting. I've used this several times now to decorate cakes, flans and pavlovas. Not too sweet, like buttercream frosting. And its so simple to make, highly recommend this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaJing November 21, 2010

Fabulous! This method makes perfect whipped cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive* August 13, 2010

I feel lucky finding this recipe as I have used it in the past with great results. The source of this recipe has a different version posted and I did want that. Your comments are accurate and the advice on the gelatin is great. I needed this recipe for my Holiday baking. Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThePIeGuy April 03, 2010

This worked perfectly and held up forever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW March 27, 2010
Wilton Stabilized Whipped Cream