53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another winner, Kitten. I may have done something wrong, but my cream wouldn't whip past the very soft peak stage. I was hoping for something a teeny bit firmer. In the end, it tasted wonderful and frosted my patriotic red, white and blue cake just fine and I'm so happy to have the cake finished and in the refrigerator so that I can concentrate on the rest of our Memorial Day feast. Thank you once again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia May 31, 2010

Used on a chocolate cream pie and the whipped cream held up without a problem for several days. Only problem I had was my fault. Not sure it I allowed the gelatin to cool and firm up too much, but I had chunks of gelatin in the finished product. Will use this recipe again, and do a better job incorporating the gelatin next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama November 28, 2009

This worked like a charm. I wish I would have read the other reviewer tips about reheating the gelatin or adding the cream to the heated gelatin. I did have some clumps, but I'm sure I'll get it right next time. I did add some vanilla and it was delicious and not the least bit runny. Thanks so much for posting this recipe, I'll be using it again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 21, 2009

Wonderful! I made two versions...one with powdered sugar and one with Splenda...both worked perfectly. I used to frost chocolate cupcakes. I will use this recipe often. Thank you KITTENCAL.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms April 25, 2009

Easy to make. I will never buy the whipped topping from the store. I added a dash of vanilla while cream was being whipped.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STK FD WIFE, A.TITUS February 01, 2009

This worked perfectly. Because of the experience of lumps a of a couple of reviewers mentioned, I added a little cream to the melted gelatin and combined well to dilute it before adding this mixture to the whipped cream. I used Equal to sweeten the cream, and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla...great on our Thanksgiving pumpkin pie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo October 13, 2008

PERFECT! This is the most delicious whipped cream I've ever had! I've always whipped with granulated sugar, and the powdered sugar makes a HUGE difference! I did add about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract for personal preference. The gelatin was easy to work with, and really did it's job. It is still perched on top of the banana cream pie this morning exactly as it was yesterday when I made it. Thank you for posting the PERFECT topping!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom October 11, 2007

This made the perfect topping for my chocolate cream pie! I doubled all of the ingredients and it turned out perfectly. I was thrilled to have whipped cream that was still fluffy in the morning. My husband loves to have pie for breakfast with his coffee but the cream is usually runny. Not this time! It was still perfectly fluffy! I'm so glad to have this recipe on file :) Thanks for sharing it!-HK

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sKitchen March 16, 2007

This worked out great. It went on a cake that was not going to be eaten the same day, and even three or four days later the cream was whipped cream consistency. Thanks Kittencal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef February 12, 2007

I've made this a few times now with excellent results every time. It's easy, and tastes great! I decorated a cheesecake with it, and everything I piped on held up beautifully for days. I love that this will last and hold itself for a few days without compromising taste and texture! This will be my go-to whipped cream recipe! Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRD-SK November 23, 2006
Wilton Stabilized Whipped Cream