23 Reviews

My grandmother taught me to decorate cakes years ago and this is the recipe she gave. Tastes great- highly recommend!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meri Beth October 05, 2009

Dannygirl's right - the recipe from the Wilton cake decorating classes also calls for (1 tbsp) Wilton Meringue Powder. Adding that was the only change I made to this. The order of the steps was slightly different too - the directions I have call for creaming the shortening, flavoring, and milk/water together prior to adding the confectioner's sugar and meringue powder, instead of adding the milk/water as the last step. After getting everything mixed together I just went back and added the extra milk to get the various consistencies (thin and medium) that I needed for my particular cake. It has a good flavor and works great for covering cakes as well as piping decorations. I used it to decorate a My Little Pony themed cake for my 3 year old's birthday. She loved it! Thanks for posting and reminding me to dig out this recipe from class! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts January 16, 2009

I change it but it worked for what I wanted. I wanted a thinner icing. I used just sweet butter (unsalted) because that is all I had, rose water in place of vanilla & milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 23, 2012

I must say, the only reason I chose this recipe was because the picture was of the Georgia G! However, I'm so glad I did, because it's a great recipe & works wonderfully for decorating. Thanks to Shandibear for posting and Meri Beth for the bulldog pride!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef amfox September 19, 2010

perfect recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
animal lover May 12, 2009

This IS a great recipe - it is Wilton's original, published decades ago. Still the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genie In A Bottle February 14, 2009

I have used this recipe for over 25 years. I also took the Wilton cake decrating classes. Like another reviewer said, the original recipe called for 2 egg whites, but since they have changed it to meringue powder. I add the meringue powder to mine, it gives it stability. For those that are looking for a recipe that has a nice crust on the outside, but soft when you bite in, this is the one for you. today I made over 80 flag cookies for my son's first grade class in celebration of Tuesday's innaguration.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right January 18, 2009

Excellent frosting. I've made it twice so far to ice a: jumbo choc. chip cookie and to decorate Quick Yellow Cake , using almond extract to flavor it. This is really easy to pipe in the bag. Thanks Shandibear, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado September 21, 2008

You also need a tablespoon of the Wilton Meringue Powder which isn't listed in this recipe. I like making this recipe half shortening/half butter to improve the taste. I also add different flavourings, lemon is really nice. I find you actually need to double the flavouring to actually taste it. Great for decorating though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dannygirl August 03, 2008

i have used this recipe for years after i took my wilton class. i can't stand the feeling in my mouth that shortening gives so i replace the shortening in its entirety with butter. so unhealthy but much better than just butter flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenny_grant28 August 02, 2008
Wilton Buttercream Icing