Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wilted spinach salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wilted spinach salad

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2004

      This is it. The real McCoy. If you are looking for the traditional recipe, here it is. This is delicious. I don't bother with measuring out the drippings from the bacon. I use it all. It also works well if the spinach is at room temp when you pour on the hot dressing. Some recipes indicate that you should heat the dressing in a large pan, then with the heat on stir in the spinach. Don't do it. The spinach will turn into something that looks like it came out of a can. Follow the recipe. It works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Funny how our taste buds change as we 'grow up.' When I was young, I remember my mom making this, and I couldn't stand it! I came across the recipe and thought it actually sounded like it might be good, so we made it tonight and the whole family really enjoyed it! Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I always loved this when I used to eat it alot back in the '70's. Now my family likes it too! I make it with Splenda to save on calories and keep extra dressing so I can take it to work for lunch. Thanx for posting, it's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      I made this for my Valentine's Day Dinner, and everyone loved it! Instead of green onions, I sauteed some shallots with the bacon. My girlfriend loved it! Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      this was totally off the hook really good my wife and i loved it i will be making this again soon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      Perfect balance of sweet & sour. Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      great taste. next time, i will mix the dressing and spinach together first and then add the eggs and bacon on top. by the time i got done mixing, it looked messy. this is great for bacon lovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      My husband thinks this is the best thing he's ever ate!!! I've made it twice and we love...love...love it!!! I put the little skillet from heating the dressing over the top of the bowl while I put everything on the table and it wilts great. The only thing I do different is I add the onion to the boiling dressing to make the onion sweeter. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      This was a fantastic salad. It was so easy to make. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Very simple to make and a big hit. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Very good. I had 3 helpings. Toni in Colorado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Great and easy recipe. I used Splenda instead of sugar to make it even more figure friendly. A double portion makes a perfect lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      really tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      LOVED this salad and so did the family! I used fresh spinach from the garden and this took no time at all to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I loved loved this salad. It was so easy to throw together. Just prefect. I don't know why I didn't take a photo, "well I was in a hurry to get eating cuz daughter had just gotten home from work as I was finishing the salad"but I like taking a photo when possible. But i am making this again soon and I will take a photo :) Thank you for posting this recipe and I will make again very soon :) I just can't get enough of this salad, I made it again today and here is a photo like I promised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Very nice salad. I have always liked spinach salads of all kinds so knew I would like this one to, but was pleasantly surprised with the dressing in this one. Its very good as its not so full of different ingredients that it comprimises the flavor of the dressing. Very yummy, thank you for sharing this recipe with us that we will use every spring from now on when the spinach is ready in the garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Delicious! Just the way Grandma used to make it. The hot dressing is also excellent for wilted lettuce and spring greens. My partner went back for seconds, so it's a hit with us. Thanks for sharing a perfect Spring recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Wow. This is truely a delicious recipe and very easy to make. I used Red Wine vinegar because i didn't have white but the flavor was fabulous. i can't wait to try it with white vinegar. I also added walnuts and feta as someone else suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      My husband said this was the best spinach salad he's ever had. And he's really picky, by the way. This will definitely go into our regular rotation. It was perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      We just love this salad. The bacon drippings simply add a wonderful flavor. Will definitly make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wilted spinach salad

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.1
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    53%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 86.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 301.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites