Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wilted Spinach Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wilted Spinach Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2011

      I love wilted spinach salad, and this recipe sure delivers. In fact, it's very similar to my usual recipe. I used about 200 grams of baby spinach, cider vinegar and a little extra dry mustard. My mushrooms looked a bit sorry, so I subbed with 8 largish cherry tomatoes that I cut in half. My photos show the salad on its own and with Salmon Mornay. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Enjoyed this as part of a light dinner! I used apple cider vinegar and turkey bacon. This was good, but I felt that it was missing a little something and needed more flavor. I would probably add some pepper next time. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Hubby and I really enjoyed it and we grated the egg as someone else mentioned, and I recommend that as well! Thanks for the great recipe, brought me back to childhood, my mom use to make this a lot. Made for ZWT6 asia region.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I love wilted spinach salads so I was excited to try this one. It did not disappoint. I think it could use a little more seasoning, i.e. salt and pepper. I particularly enjoyed the dry mustard. I used a red wine vinegar and red onion vs. green. I used baby spinach so really tender. I used a microplane to grate the egg so had egg in every bite which I liked. Good salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Nice salad. After reading other reviews I decided to go with cider vinegar and I am so glad that I did. The dressing was sweet and tart and wonderful. I also used turkey bacon rather than pork- personal preference. We enjoyed every bite of this great salad. Thanks for sharing! *Made for Bevy Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I reduced this down to one serving and wanted more. I substituted regular onion for the green onion as I was out. This is a very good salad with lots of different textures and a great taste that makes your mouth go wow! The only thing I would do different is to add a tad more spinach next time (and make 2 servings for myself). ;) ~Buddha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is pretty good and is similar to something I remember having at my Grandmother's too. I made it with the spinach and white vinegar. I think it was just missing a little something. I know I would increase the mustard powder next time. Made for the Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I liked this salad made with romaine lettuce. I'd never had a wilted lettuce salad before, but hubby's family talks about one his grandma used to make, so I was curious to try it. I think next time I'll try it with cider vinegar rather than plain vinegar. Thanks for posting such a nostalgic recipe Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      This is such a treat, and such a wonderful spinach salad. There is not one thing that doesn't taste absolutely terrific. I love how the wonderful drippings melded together perfectly with the vinegar, dry mustard, and sugar. I used sliced thinly red onion instead of the green onion, and added fresh tomato, but then that, absolutely stupendous! I am just in awe of this wonderful recipe and appreciate it's history. I could of eaten at least the whole bowl ~ but I shared it with Dennis. Thanks so much for posting this, Lavender Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Fabulous simple spinach salad. The dressing has a nice sweet and sour balance and the hard boiled egg and bacon are perfect with the mushroom and green onion. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wilted Spinach Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.2
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    55%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 50.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 105.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes