Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2003

      Great tasting soup. Hubby didn't care for the almonds (he just doesn't like too much crunch in his meals - something to do with no teeth!) Froze well

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Yum! Rich, smooth and delicious. Even my picky eater enjoyed this one. I enjoyed having it come together so quickly as well. I used frozen chopped onion, but next time I'd mince up some fresh onion, as the onions in mine were too big. I used vegetable broth and left out the ham in the vegetarian servings, but added it at the end to the others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Oh my. I made this for our very cold and snowy Christmas Eve in Wisconsin. Served along side ham & swiss and mushroom and swiss sandwiches. It was sooo easy and sooo delicious. I couldn't believe that such simple ingredients came together to make an absolutely delicious soup. I did not serve with the slivered almonds but with chives at the table. It was a wonderul, warm and a perfect "star meal" for our Christmas Eve Dinner. Thank you for making my Christmas Eve so memorable. We can't wait to eat the left overs because I decided not to pack this soup with the usual leftover bags for my guests. Ho-Ho

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I make this elegant soup at least once every winter and then freeze it. It makes about 5 1/2 cups. The only thing I have done differently is to decrease the salt because of DH's HBP. It is also inside the Byerly cookbook-from the grocery store chain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      This soup was EXCELLENT! Perhaps even the best soup I've ever had. We used Uncle Ben's Original Recipe Wild Rice when we made the soup and I think that made all the difference. It added the flavor the other people seems to think it was lacking. I shall certainly be making this soup over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      This recipe wasn't that great for me. Although the ingredients sounded great, it was bland tasting and very thick and mushy; not at all the soup consistency I was hoping for. On the other hand, it froze and defrosted VERY well! I filled single serving containers with soup, froze them, and then let it defrost all morning before eating for lunch. I will not be using this recipe again, but it was very easy to freeze for OAMC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      Made this Friday night for dinner. It was simple to prepare and seemed like it would taste really good with all the yummy ingredients. When we ate it, however, we both thought there was something missing. I would make this again but increase the amount of onion and perhaps add a minced garlic clove as well, and maybe some diced celery. It was a good base to work from.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      This was delicious! I Used diced cooked chicken breast instead of ham and I used diced carrots and celery and I sauted them with the onions. I also added another cup of chicken broth. I will be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      I made this for a New Year's Eve get-to-gether. After I made it, I put it in a crockpot to keep warm for munching guests! Very fast to make - if you have the wild rice already made - which I had! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.2
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    40%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 49.4 mg
    16%
    Sodium 936.5 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes